Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Black Studies

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu

Researching in Black Studies

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Book Reviews
 Data
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Maps
 Newspapers
 Organizations
 Primary Sources
 Statistics
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Caribbean Abstracts
Abstracts of books and articles in the humanities and social sciences written about the Caribbean region since 1989.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...



Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Bibliography on People of African Ancestry in Latin America
http://www.thedialogue.org/iac/eng/pubs/documents/IDBBibliographyonAfro-Latins.pdf

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007