Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Child and Family Studies

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Robin Paynter

Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-4501
paynter@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Child and Family Studies

Find
 APA Style - Quick Guide
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Evidence Based Practice
 Government Information
 Grant Resources
 Organizations
 Policy
 Statistics
 Theories / Theoretical Models
 Workshops
 Writing, & Citing
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Education
Psychology
Social Work
Sociology

Articles

Print View

Disciplines across the social sciences study children and families from a variety of perspectives - psychological, sociological, or educational to name a few. The following databases represent only some possible approaches to studying children and families, click here to find links to other social science disciplines' databases or scroll down to SOCIndex (below) which covers multiple social science disciplines (caveat: it only covers a small number of journals in any given discipline as compared to the discipline specific databases).

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Education Full Text
Research in peer reviewed education journals -- citations, abstracts and some full text.  More Info...

ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...


Related Resources
CQ Researcher
Full text of research reports on issues of behind legislation in the US Congress.  More Info...

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Controversial contemporary topic summaries providing overviews of the issues, description of aspects of the issue, and providing pro and con arguments for each side. Each title explores a specific issue by placing opinions in a pro/con format.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google. It allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from publishers, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is currently in beta version, meaning it is undergoing continual improvements and revisions. More details...  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

Ulrichs International Periodicals Directory
(Summary coming soon...)  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007