Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Community Health

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Rose Jackson

Urban and Public Affairs Librarian, Associate Professor
(503) 725-3689
rosej@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Community Health

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Data
 Dissertations/Theses
 Evidence Based Practice
 Government Information
 Internet Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources

  More Info...

MEDLINE (FirstSearch interface)
Comprehensive database covering research literature in all areas of medicine from 1953-present. Published by the National Library of Medicine includes links to open access full text articles.  More Info...

MEDLINE (Ovid Interface)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

MEDLINE (PubMed interface)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research  More Info...

Alt Healthwatch
Full text articles and other documents and publications covering topics in complementary and alternative medicine.  More Info...

Medica Latina
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.  More Info...

PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research  More Info...

SUMSearch
SUMSearch is a unique method of searching for medical evidence by using the Internet. NOTE: search PSYCINFO for more behavioral interventions.   More Info...

Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition
Article citations and many full text articles from health and medicine journals  More Info...

Annual Reviews Online
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines: biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...

Ageline
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and other materials covering issues related to aging.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

UK PubMed Central (UKPMC)
UK PubMed Central (UKPMC) provides a stable, permanent, and free-to-access online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed research publications.  More Info...

Cochrane Library
Full text of evidence-based reviews of clinical trials and healthcare/medical interventions.  More Info...

Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
Full text of popular reference books, journals, magazines and pamphlets for consumers and health care professionals. Includes popular information about alternative health therapies.  More Info...

Health Reference Center Academic
Full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes full text and images selected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.  More Info...


Related Resources
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Citations and abstracts of the environmental, ecology, and water resources literature.  More Info...


  More Info...

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citations to articles discussing tests and instruments used in social science research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.  More Info...

BioOne
BioOne is an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences; mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.  More Info...

BIOSIS Previews (Ovid Interface)
Citations and abstracts of the biological and biomedical literature.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information on commercially published tests and instruments; includes full text of research reviews of tests.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Public Affairs Index
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy.   More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

SourceOECD
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.  More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

Dissertations and Masters Theses
Full text of dissertations from 1997- present; citations and abstracts for dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations from 1861 - present; selected thesis from 1962 - present   More Info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Searchable database of literature on world politics and public administration.  More Info...




Electronic Journals
A list of Portland State University's Electronic Journals covering the subjects of Health and Biological Sciences can be found by following this link: PSU Electronic Journals for Health and Biological Sciences


Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007