Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Criminology & Criminal Justice

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Rose Jackson

Urban and Public Affairs Librarian, Associate Professor
(503) 725-3689
rosej@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Criminology & Criminal Justice

Find
 Articles
 Book Reviews
 Data
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Evidence Based Practice
 Legal Resources
 Statistics
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Government Documents
Sociology

Articles

Print View

Reading and reviewing journal articles is an excellent way to improve your knowledge about a particular aspect of a field or the discipline.  Criminology is a interdisciplinary field of research, therefore, you may need to consult other research guides. 

In general, databases provide indexes to journals and give an abstract of each article within the journal.  Some databases provide the full-text of the article.  Additionally, databases contain:

  • peer-reviewed journals
  • non-peer-reviewed journals and magazines
  • government reports and documents
  • conference proceedings
  • dissertations
  • newspaper articles

For guidance, review you course syllabus for the type and quantity of material required for your research. 

Most databases provide several access points, such as:

  • Author: (Dershowitz, Alan) --last name, first name
  • Keywords: (juvenile AND death penalty)
  • Subject terms: (Capital punishment)
  • Date ranges: (01/01/2000-10/31/2008)
  • Title: The age of death: Appraising public opinion of juvenile capital punishment
  • Journal: Journal of Criminal Justice

Using any combinations of these elements allows the researcher to narrow the results.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Child Abuse, Child Welfare and Adoption
Citations to the research literature (primarily of U.S. origin) on child abuse, child welfare & adoption.  More Info...

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Citations to articles in scholarly journals. Topics: crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts, sentencing.  More Info...

Criminology Full Text
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.  More Info...

Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.  More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...


Related Resources
Annual Reviews Online
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines: biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...

Annual Review: Sociology
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics within sociology.  More Info...

CQ Library
Full text of CQ Weekly (bills, legislative action) and CQ Researcher (research reports on current issues).  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citations to articles discussing tests and instruments used in social science research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Legal Collection
Full-text scholarly articles covering all areas of law.  More Info...

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Controversial contemporary topic summaries providing overviews of the issues, description of aspects of the issue, and providing pro and con arguments for each side. Each title explores a specific issue by placing opinions in a pro/con format.  More Info...

Security Management Practices
An online intelligence resource for critical IT, legal, financial and physical security information.   More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

ProjectMuse
Full text articles from scholarly humanities and social science journals.  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007