Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Archaeology

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu

Researching in Archaeology

Find
 Articles
 Book Reviews
 Books/Book Chapters
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Maps
 Style Manuals
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Anthropology Plus
Extensive searchable database of articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.  More Info...

Anthropological Index
Searchable database of articles from international anthropology and archaeology journals.  More Info...

L'année Philologique
Indexes journal articles and conference papers about all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Covers Greek and Latin linguistics, ancient archaeology, history, mythology, and religion.  More Info...

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage: early 1900's to present.  More Info...


Related Resources
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
Searchable database of citations related to conservation and restoration of cultural property.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...



A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Archaeology, a Bibliographical Guide to the Basic Literature
Z5131 .H44 | 2nd floor

Bookman's guide to Archaeology: A Compilation of Over 7,000 Books Pertaining to the Study of Prehistoric and Jistoric People
Z5131 .H36 1994 | 5th floor
Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007