Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Education

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Sarah Beasley

Education & Social Science Librarian; Information Resources Management Coordinator
(503) 725-3688
beasleys@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Education

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Books/Book Chapters
 Citation/Style Guides
 Curricula and Lesson Plans
 Data Sets/Statistics
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Journals, Newspapers and Magazines
 People/Organizations
 Tests/Measures
 Websites
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Applied Linguistics
Psychology
Special Education

Articles

Print View

An efficient way to find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers is to search discipline-specific databases to identify articles. A database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. The database's job is to provide citation information about the article. In some cases the database will allow you to link to the full text of the article; in other cases, you will need to find the article by searching for the journal's title the Library's catalog Vikat. Watch a video of this process.

ERIC
The ERIC database (available from the providers below) provides citations to journal articles and citations (and in many cases links to full text) to thousands of documents related to all aspects of education.

ERIC Thesaurus
Look up descriptors and explore alternative terms to improve your search results.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Education Full Text
Research in peer reviewed education journals -- citations, abstracts and some full text.  More Info...

ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

ERIC (US government interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Most current database updates appear on this platform first.  More Info...

Professional Development Collection
Full text of educator magazines and journals from dates in the mid 1990s to the present.  More Info...


Related Resources
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citations to articles discussing tests and instruments used in social science research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Comprehensive resource in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Provides citations to publications.  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

Vocational and Career Collection
Industry specific information from magazines, journals, and trade publications. Full text available from 1985.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete
Humanities, social sciences, news and events, sciences, policy -- mutli-disciplinary coverage of journals. Includes many full text articles.  More Info...

JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...

Annual Reviews Online
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines: biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...



Note! A demo of a Social Science Citation Index cited reference search

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007