Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Government Documents

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Claudia Weston

Government Information Librarian
(503) 725-4542
westonc@pdx.edu

Researching in Government Documents

Find
 Agency Publications Full-Text
 Bills, Laws, & Legislation
 Census
 Citing Government Documents
 Climatic Conditions
 Elections
 Executive Branch (Federal)
 Federal Information Portals
 Judicial Branch (Federal)
 Legislative Branch (Federal)
 Oregon, State and Local
 Patents & Trademarks
 Profiles of Nations or Countries
 Reference & Statistical Sources
 Statistics
 UN & Canadian Documents
 ** View All **

Agency Publications Full-Text

Print View

Full-text databases via selected federal agencies.

DOE Information Bridge (U.S. Department of Energy)
Full-text of DOE documents in biology, chemistry, computer & information science, energy technologies, engineering, environmental sciences, materials, physics, & renewable energy.

FRASER - Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research - Access to research information and data on the US economy.

FS INFO (U.S.D.A. Forest Service)
Full-text of 55,000 documents on all areas of forests and forestry. Coverage from 1904. Keyword options.

Federal Citizen Information Center Database (U.S. General Services Administration)
Access to full-text of consumer-oriented publications. Ordering information is also provided. Keyword options.

GAO Reports & Testimony (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
Full-text of the reports compiled by the GAO. Keyword options.

MedlinePlus
Gateway to authoritative medical and health-related information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

NASA Technical Reports (NASA)
Includes NACA, NASA, & NIX technical reports. Keyword options.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (Environmental Protection Agency)
Full-text of nearly 25,000 documents in all areas of the environmental sciences. Keyword options.

National Technical Information Service (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Full-text access to approximately 240,000 government-sponsored technical reports from 1964 to 2000. Keyword options. Access restricted. Ask at Reference Desk for details on access.

Office of Scientific & Technical Information (U.S. Department of Energy)
Portal to science information including research summaries and data. Keyword options.

Scientific & Technical Aerospace Reports (NASA)
Citations and abstracts of NASA and worldwide aerospace-related research.

Treesearch (U.S.D.A. Forest Service)
Full-text of the documents produced by the scientists in the U.S.D.A. Forest Service. Keyword options.

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (Agency for International Development)
Full-text of nearly 50,000 documents. Keyword options.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Full-text access to approximately 240,000 government-sponsored technical reports from 1964 to 2000. Access restricted. Ask at Reference Desk for details on Web-based access at http://www.ntis.gov/FDLP/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2ffdlp%2fDefault.aspx  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...


Related Resources
TRIS (Transport Research Information Services)
Citations in the transportation literature.  More Info...

ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007