Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Government Documents

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Claudia Weston

Government Information Librarian
(503) 725-4542
westonc@pdx.edu

Researching in Government Documents

Find
 Agency Publications Full-Text
 Bills, Laws, & Legislation
 Census
 Citing Government Documents
 Climatic Conditions
 Elections
 Executive Branch (Federal)
 Federal Information Portals
 Judicial Branch (Federal)
 Legislative Branch (Federal)
 Oregon, State and Local
 Patents & Trademarks
 Profiles of Nations or Countries
 Reference & Statistical Sources
 Statistics
 UN & Canadian Documents
 ** View All **

Oregon, State and Local

Print View

General information.

Pacific Northwest State and Local Resources
A gateway to state and local information for Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Montana.

OREGON.gov
The official State of Oregon website.

Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and fact book about all levels of government in Oregon. Published since 1911, it is produced and updated by the Oregon State Archives.

Oregon Explorer : Natural resources digital library
A collection of information resources intended to help local citizens and policymakers make better decisions about Oregon's natural resources.

The Oregon Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture.

CascadeLink
Multnomah County Library's site for information on Vancouver, WA and Portland, OR.

Metro
The official website for Metro, the elected regional government for the Portland metropolitan area.

Clackamas County, Oregon
The official website for Clackamas County.

Multnomah County, Oregon
The official website for Multnomah County.

Washington County, Oregon
The official website for Washington County.

PortlandOnline
The official website for the City of Portland, Oregon.

PortlandMaps
A compilation of publicly accessible data retrievable by street address.

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
A central online repository for key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area.

Bills, laws, and regulations.

Oregon Administrative Rules
A rule is defined as any agency directive, standard, regulation, or statement of general applicability that implements, interprets, or prescribes law or policy, or describes the procedure or practice requirements of any agency.

Oregon Bills & Laws
Access to Oregon bills & laws.

Oregon Revised Statutes (Latest Edition)
Revised statutes of Oregon. Keyword options.

Oregon Legistlative History - A document created by the Paul L. Boley LIbrary of the Lewis & Clark Law School describing how to track Oregon legislation.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oregon Index
Citations to the Oregonian and other Oregon newspapers, 1988-present (various, per title).  More Info...

Oregonian Newspaper Index Search (1851-1987)
Oregonian citations to articles published between 1851-1987.  More Info...

Oregonian
Full text of Oregonian from 1987 - present.

*The full text of The Oregonian (1907-1922), is available in America's Historical Newspapers.
  More Info...



Other related databases:

Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD)
The ICUD is the only regularly published guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada.

Latest federal legislative events for Oregon's members of Congress:

Jul 16, 2009 - House Debate
Rep. Walden [R-OR2]: "It is kind of ironic for someone who is so passionate about achieving voting rights in this city that we would be denied voting rights on this floor on amendments that we sought to be considered. And that is really the issue I want to speak about at this time, and that is that we brought an amendment fully vetted within our rules to be..."
Jul 16, 2009 - Senate Debate
Sen. Merkley [D-OR]: "Madam President, I rise because of a document our forefathers signed 233 years ago, the Declaration of Independence. Specifically, the Declaration stated: We hold these Truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and..."
Jul 15, 2009 - Senate Debate
Sen. Wyden [D-OR]: "Mr. President, these days the country's attention has rightly been focused on turning its financial fortunes around and getting people back to work. The President, his advisers, folks in the agencies, and in Congress have been working night and day to find the solutions that will help the nation climb out of the financial hole it is in. I..."
Jul 14, 2009 - Video
A new video was posted on the Member's official YouTube channel.
Jul 14, 2009 - House Debate
Rep. Blumenauer [D-OR3]: "One issue that is too often out of sight and out of mind is the quality and the condition of our drinking water and wastewater pipes under the ground. Just 6 months ago, we all watched in shock as rescue workers airlifted people from vehicles caught in a massive rush of water caused by a water main rupture on River Road just outside of..."
Jul 14, 2009 - Bill Action
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR3] introduced this bill.
Jul 14, 2009 - Bill Action
Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR] introduced S. 1448: A bill to amend the Act of August 9, 1955, to authorize the Coquille Indian Tribe, the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Siuslaw, the Klamath Tribes, and the Burns Paiute Tribe to obtain 99-year lease authority for trust land.
Jul 10, 2009 - Bill Action
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR3] introduced this bill.
Jul 10, 2009 - Bill Action
Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR] introduced this bill.
Jul 10, 2009 - Bill Action
Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR] introduced S. 1440: A bill to establish requirements applicable across the military departments for the retention in the Armed Forces of members who seek to remain in the Armed Forces following injury or disability incurred in the line of duty in the Armed Forces.
(Powered by GovTrack.us)
Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007