HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Online
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.
Using Bibliographies
A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.
The BiblioNoticias Series
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/bibnot/bibnot.html
A series of bibliographies related to Latin American studies compiled by the staff of the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
Human Rights in Latin America, 1964-1980: A Selective Annotated Bibliography
Z7164 .L6 H85 1983 | 2nd Floor |