Skip over navigation

Research Guide for English and American Literature

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Sharon Elteto

Instruction Librarian, Instruction Coordinator
(503) 725-4190
eltetos@pdx.edu

Researching in English and American Literature

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Book Reviews
 Books/Book Chapters
 Chronologies
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Literary Prizes & Awards
 Newspapers
 Online Books
 Organizations
 Primary Sources
 Related Research Guides
 Tutorials
 Your Literature Wiki
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic.

Note: the electronic databases are listed first and the print indexes below.


For your information:

The current articles from Literature Compass via RSS Feed are:

Literature Compass
Accounting for the Unaccountable: Lesbianism and the History of Sexuality in Eighteenth-Century Britain
'Outlandish Love': Marriage and Immigration in City Comedies
> View the Full RSS Feed!

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  More Info...

Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...

Literature Resource Center
Provides information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.  More Info...

Romantic Era Redefined
The Romantic Era Redefined provides a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. It includes poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries-along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works.  More Info...

Literature Compass
Literature Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.  More Info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text of more than 150,000 important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.   More Info...

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The /World Shakespeare Bibliography Online/ is a searchable database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2008. Includes nearly 117,500 annotated entries.  More Info...


Related Resources
Inter-Play
Indexes plays that appear in collections, anthologies, and periodicals held by the PSU Library.  More Info...

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact arts and humanities journals.  More Info...

L'année Philologique
Indexes journal articles and conference papers about all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Covers Greek and Latin linguistics, ancient archaeology, history, mythology, and religion.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete
Humanities, social sciences, news and events, sciences, policy -- mutli-disciplinary coverage of journals. Includes many full text articles.  More Info...

Essay & General Literature Index
Citations to chapters in humanties and social science books  More Info...

JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

ProjectMuse
Full text articles from scholarly humanities and social science journals.  More Info...

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles in general and popular magazines. Coverage of popular magazine publishing from 1890-1982.  More Info...



Print Indexes

The print indexes most useful for research in literature are:

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.  Z2011. M69 1923-1999. (2000- available through LION .

British Humanities Index.  1962 - 2005: AI3.A27

Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing 1900-1922. PSU Reference: A1 .R4 1996.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1892-1896. AI3 .P7.
Description: A comprehensive index of articles in American and English periodicals. It covers the period 1802-1906, focusing on cultural and intellectual life.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900: AI3 .W45.
Description: Invaluable bibliographic reference work of major 19th century British periodicals, supplying citations only (i.e. no full-text links). The thousands of journal articles written in the 19th century provide current researchers with a unique record of contemporary opinion across a wide range of subjects, including: literature, religion, politics, social science, women's studies, science and the arts.

 

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007