Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Chicano/Latino Studies

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu

Researching in Chicano/Latino Studies

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Book Reviews
 Books/Book Chapters
 Data
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Newspapers
 Primary Sources
 Statistics
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Chicano Database
bibliographic citations for books, articles, videos, goverment documents on topics related to the Mexican-American and broader Latino experience.   More Info...

HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Citations to articles in Latin American and Hispanic American magazines and journals.   More Info...


Related Resources
America: History and Life
Principal resource for articles on American and Canadian history.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...



Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources; it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Bibliography of Mexican American History
Z1361 .M4 M414 1984 | 2nd Floor

BiblioNoticas Series
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/bibnot/bibnot.html
A series of bibliographies related to Latin American studies compiled by the staff of the Beson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Chicano Bibiography
Z1361 .M4 U78 1973 | 5th Floor

The New American Immigration: Evolving Patterns of Legal and Illegal Emigration: A Bibliography of Selected References
Z7164 .I3 C58 1987 | 5th Floor

A Selected and Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Studies
Z1361 .M4 T36 | 2nd Floor

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007