Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Music

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Kristen (Kris) Kern

Fine and Performing Arts Librarian
(503) 725-5218
kernk@pdx.edu

Researching in Music

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Printed Music & Scores
 Sound Recordings (CDs & LPs)
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or online article databases. The online databases are especially useful for searching by title, by author, by subject, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. Some of the databases access books, essays, performance reviews, dissertations and other formats as well as journal articles. When full text for a document is not provided by the database, one can usually click on the PSU Links button to find out whether the Portland State Library offers full text access in a print volume or through an electronic link. The online databases that are generally most useful for research in the music are:

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
International Index to Music Periodicals
Citations and abstracts of articles from 400 international music journals; coverage from 1996 - present.  More Info...

Music Index
Citations to articles on classical and popular music in over 700 periodicals.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007