Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Political Science

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Rose Jackson

Urban and Public Affairs Librarian, Associate Professor
(503) 725-3689
rosej@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Political Science

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Data
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Government Information
 Newspapers
 Organizations
 Special Collections
 Think Tanks
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Government Documents
Public Administration
Sociology

Articles

Print View

Reading and reviewing journal articles is an excellent way to improve your knowledge about a particular aspect of a field or the discipline.  Political Science is a interdisciplinary field of research, therefore, you may need to consult other research guides. 

In general, databases provide indexes to journals and give an abstract of each article within the journal.  Some databases provide the full-text of the article.  Additionally, databases contain:

  • peer-reviewed journals
  • non-peer-reviewed journals and magazines
  • government reports and documents
  • conference proceedings
  • dissertations
  • newspaper articles

For guidance, review you course syllabus for the type and quantity of material required for your research. 

Most databases provide several access points, such as:

  • Author: (Friedman, Thomas) --last name, first name
  • Keywords: (politics AND gender)
  • Subject terms: (Capital punishment)
  • Date ranges: (01/01/2000-10/31/2008)
  • Title: Are women really the “fairer” sex? Corruption and women in government
  • Journal: Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization

Using any combinations of these elements allows the researcher to narrow the results.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Annual Reviews Online
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines: biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...

Congressional Universe
Citations and full text to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, Congressional Record, public laws, etc.  More Info...

CQ Library
Full text of CQ Weekly (bills, legislative action) and CQ Researcher (research reports on current issues).  More Info...

CQ Researcher
Full text of research reports on issues of behind legislation in the US Congress.  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...

Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the World
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.  More Info...

Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.  More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Controversial contemporary topic summaries providing overviews of the issues, description of aspects of the issue, and providing pro and con arguments for each side. Each title explores a specific issue by placing opinions in a pro/con format.  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

Public Affairs Index
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy.   More Info...

SourceOECD
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.  More Info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Searchable database of literature on world politics and public administration.  More Info...

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Text of primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.  More Info...

Military & Government Collection
Full-text magazine and newspaper articles on national/international policy and politics, public administration, political science, international relationships, national and global security, law enforcement, and all branches of the military.   More Info...


Related Resources
America's Historical Newspapers
Early American newspapers are a major primary source for American history. 1-3 provide unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690-1876. Series 1 covers 1690-1876, series 2 and 3 cover 1821-1876.  More Info...

America: History and Life
Principal resource for articles on American and Canadian history.  More Info...

ArticleFirst
Listing of items from the table of contents pages of over 13,000 journals. Subjects range from business, humanities, and popular culture to sciences, medicine, and technology.  More Info...

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Citations to articles in scholarly journals. Topics: crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts, sentencing.  More Info...

Criminology Full Text
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.  More Info...

Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003
Full text from of the Economist, the British weekly newspaper focusing on business, international events and opinion.  More Info...

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries.  More Info...

EIU ViewsWire
Daily briefings on economic, political and market developments in over 200 countries.  More Info...

Ethnic Newswatch
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals by ethnic, minority and native presses. Full Text. English and Spanish.  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...

Plowshares: Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Provides primary documents – including minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals – ranging in date from the 1700s to the present. The archive chronicles the social justice efforts of the students and faculty of these colleges as well as the members of their affiliated historic peace-churches – Quakers, Mennonites and the Church of the Brethren.  More Info...

Security Management Practices
An online intelligence resource for critical IT, legal, financial and physical security information.   More Info...

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
time series data on 700 development indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups since 1960.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
eHRAF World Cultures
Full-text ethnographic sources searchable by culture or topic.  More Info...

Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI)
Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) is now titled Dissertation and Masters Theses.  More Info...

Dissertations and Masters Theses
Full text of dissertations from 1997- present; citations and abstracts for dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations from 1861 - present; selected thesis from 1962 - present   More Info...

Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Citations and abstracts of the environmental, ecology, and water resources literature.  More Info...

Historical Abstracts
Principal resource for articles on world history from 1450-present.  More Info...

JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes worldwide literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual and transgender issues. Contains full-text for about one quarter of the indexed titles.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2001)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2001 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...

ProjectMuse
Full text articles from scholarly humanities and social science journals.  More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

Times Digital Archive
Full text of The Times of London 1785-1985.   More Info...

Australasian Digital Theses Program
Full text digitized Australian and New Zealand doctorate and masters theses from 1998.   More Info...




Electronic Journals
A list of Portland State University's Electronic Journals covering the subjects of Law, Politics and Government can be found by following this link: Electronic Journals


Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007