Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Social Work

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Robin Paynter

Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-4501
paynter@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Social Work

Find
 Alumni/Non-PSU
 APA Style - Quick Guide
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Conference Proceedings
 Data
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Ethics
 Evidence Based Practice
 Government Information
 Graduate Students - Success Tips!
 Grant Resources
 Legal Resources
 Methodologies
 New Social Work Library Materials!
 Newspapers
 Policy
 Social Work in the News (RSS)
 Tests/Measures
 Theories/Theoretical Models
 Videos
 Workshops
 Writing & Citing
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Child and Family Studies
Community Health
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Gerontology
Government Documents
Legal Resources
Medicine
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Special Education

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  More Info...


Related Resources
Ageline
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and other materials covering issues related to aging.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Child Abuse, Child Welfare and Adoption
Citations to the research literature (primarily of U.S. origin) on child abuse, child welfare & adoption.  More Info...


  More Info...

Cochrane Library
Full text of evidence-based reviews of clinical trials and healthcare/medical interventions.  More Info...

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Citations to articles in scholarly journals. Topics: crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts, sentencing.  More Info...

Criminology Full Text
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.  More Info...

Education Full Text
Research in peer reviewed education journals -- citations, abstracts and some full text.  More Info...

ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition
Article citations and many full text articles from health and medicine journals  More Info...

LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes worldwide literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual and transgender issues. Contains full-text for about one quarter of the indexed titles.  More Info...

MEDLINE (Ovid Interface)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Left Index
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.  More Info...

PILOTS
Citations to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

SourceOECD
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.  More Info...

Urban Studies, Sage Full Text
Full text articles from Sage Press journals in urban studies and public policy topics  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google. It allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from publishers, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is currently in beta version, meaning it is undergoing continual improvements and revisions. More details...  More Info...

Fuente Academica
Searchable multidisciplinary database of Spanish-language academic journals.  More Info...

SocINDEX
SocINDEX, with more than 1.3 million records, covers an array of social science disciplines - from anthropology to social work.  More Info...

Web of Science
Citation searching across thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007