Skip over navigation

Library Website Only All PSU

Research Guide for Sociology

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Robin Paynter

Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-4501
paynter@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Sociology

Find
 APA Style - Quick Guide
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Conference Proceedings
 Data
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Graduate Students - Success Tips!
 Grant Resources
 Methodologies
 New Sociology Library Materials
 Newspapers
 Sociology in the News (RSS)
 Statistics
 Theories/Theoretical Models
 Videos
 Workshops
 Writing, & Citing
 ** View All **

Data

Print View

Social Sciences Data Search Engine

The Social Sciences Data search engine is programmed to search selected data rich websites and then the entire Internet. It automatically searches the terms 'data' and 'codebook' to zero in on datasets (most datasets have an accompanying codebook AND searching 'data' or 'dataset' alone typically does not yield actual datasets).

Alert: you are searching text on websites containing the data, usually not the data/codebook itself, so searching terms like |'education' 'hispanic' 'high school'| and then another search on |'education' 'population' 'high school'| will improve results. Websites often describe datasets in general terms without referencing all of the available variables.

FYI: most freely available datasets are created by some level of government (from local to international), so using official 'jargon' typically improves results.

Below please find additional dataset resources!



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
Archive of data on American religious institutions and membership.  More Info...

China Data Online
provides extensive economic and social data on China at the national, provincial, county and city levels.
Internet Explorer Required
  More Info...

DataLab
DataLab, a new website from the Institute of Education Sciences' National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), puts a wide range of survey data collected by NCES at your fingertips.   More Info...

Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition
U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to present.   More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

Quick Health Data Online
access United States' county, state, regional and national health statistical data divided into eleven main categories.   More Info...

SourceOECD
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.  More Info...

US Department of Agriculture. Economic Research Service
The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture... ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decisionmaking on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.  More Info...

US Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistical Service (NASS)
NASS publishes U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series.  More Info...

US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...

US Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.  More Info...

US Department of the Interior. Geodata.gov (Geospatial One-Stop)
Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative.   More Info...

US Department of Justice. Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets
The Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets is an online resource for researchers that is intended as an aid to investigations of juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. It both publicizes data sources that users may find valuable and provides information intended to help with the practical aspects of obtaining and analyzing data.  More Info...

US Department of Health and Human Services. Office of Applied Studies
SAMHSA's Office of Applied Statistics (OAS) provides the latest national data on (1) alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and other drug abuse, (2) drug related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases, and (3) the nation's substance abuse treatment system.  More Info...

US Department of Health and Human Services. National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Rich source of information about America’s health. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, [NCHS] compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of [US Citizens].  More Info...

US Department of Health and Human Services. Health Resources and Services Administration Geospatial Datawarehouse.
HRSA focuses on uninsured, underserved, and special needs populations in its goals and program activities. The HRSA Geospatial Data Warehouse (HGDW) provides a single point of access to HRSA programmatic information, related health resources, and demographic data for reporting on HRSA activities.  More Info...

US Department of Housing and Urban Development. HUD User.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.  More Info...

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
time series data on 700 development indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups since 1960.   More Info...


Related Resources
Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Find publications based on ICPSR data via the Bibliography of Data-Related Literature, a searchable database that contains over 41,000 citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007