Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Middle East Studies

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Kristen (Kris) Kern

Fine and Performing Arts Librarian
(503) 725-5218
kernk@pdx.edu

Researching in Middle East Studies

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Book Reviews
 Books/Book Chapters
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Newspapers
 Organizations
 Statistics
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Index Islamicus is the most important and exhaustive index to the field. Includes citations for articles published in European languages and Turkish from 1906 to the present. Also includes listings of monographs beginning in 1981 and book reviews beginning 1993.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Index Islamicus
Index Islamicus is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.

Rightly described as 'an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike', it provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published since 1906 on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.

Index Islamicus includes extensive indices of names and subjects carefully geared to this rapidly expanding field of study.
  More Info...

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
An index of scholarly literature on the MiddleEast, Central Asia and North Africa.  More Info...



Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Introduction to the history of the Muslim East: A bibliographical guide
Z3013 .S314 | 2nd Floor

Middle East and Islam: A bibliographical introduction
Z3013 .M48 1979 | 2nd Floor

Introduction to the history of the Muslim East: A bibliographical guide
Z3013 .S314 | 2nd Floor

Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa
http://www.ascleiden.nl/Publications/Bibliographies/IslamInAfrica/
The bibliography contains over 4,300 references from European language sources about Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, from around 1960 to 2005.

U.S. foreign relations with the Middle East and North Africa: A bibliography. Supplement, 1998
Z7835 .M6 H24 1997 | 2nd Floor

Women in Islamic Societies: A selected review of the social scientific literature
http://www.loc.gov/rr/frd/pdf-files/Women_Islamic_Societies.pdf
A literature review prepared by the Federal Research Division at the Library of Congress that includes recent empirical social science scholarship addressing women's lives in Muslim societies. Along with bibliographic citations of the major works and representative studies related to various aspects of Muslim women's lives, the study presents "analyses of empirical findings that emerge from these bodies of literature."

World Bibliographical Series
Volumes covers history, geography, economics, politics, religion, sociology, anthropology, and culture of an individual country. The latest editions are listed here.

Afghanistan Z3016 .J66 1992 2nd Floor
Algeria Z3681 .L378 1995 2nd Floor
Bahrain Z3028 .B34 U58 1984 2nd Floor
Egypt Z3651 .M34 1988 2nd Floor
Iran Z3366 .N37 1988 2nd Floor
Iraq Z3036 .B58 1995 2nd Floor
Israel: and the West Bank and Gaza Strip Z3476 .B55 1994 2nd Floor
Jordan Z3471 .A55 1999 NetLibrary
Kuwait Z3028 .K87 C46 1985 2nd Floor
Lebanon Z3483 .L4 K48 1991 2nd Floor
Libya Z3971 .L39 1987 2nd Floor
The Maghreb
NetLibrary
Morocco Z3836 .F56 1984 2nd Floor
Oman Z3028 .O5 C57 1981 2nd Floor
Qatar Z3028 .Q3 U58 1982 2nd Floor
Saudi Arabia Z3026 .C57 1988 2nd Floor
Syria DS93 .Q85 1999 NetLibrary
Tunisia Z3685.2 .F55 1982 2nd Floor
Turkey Z2831 .G83 2nd Floor
Tunisia Z3685.2 .F55 1982 2nd Floor
United Arab Emirates ZZ3028.U54 C57 1998 NetLibrary
Yemen Z3028.Y39 A93 1998 NetLibrary
Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007