Skip over navigation

Research Guide for African Studies

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu

Researching in African Studies

Find
 Articles
 Biographies
 Book Reviews
 Books/Book Chapters
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Government Information
 Organizations
 Statistics
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Quarterly index of African periodical literature
A searchable database of the indexed entries of over 300 journals and magazines from African countries.  More Info...


Related Resources
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Searchable database of literature on world politics and public administration.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...



Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

African International Relations: An Annotated Bibliography
Z6465 .A36 A36 1997 | 2nd Floor

AfricaBib
http://www.africabib.org/
This site includes multiple bibliographies, including the "African Women's Bibliographic Database" and the "Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database."

Apartheid: A Selective Annotated bibliography, 1979-1987
Z3608 .R3 P93 1990 | 2nd Floor

Contemporary African Politics and Development: A Comprehensive Bibliography, 1981-1990
Z7165 .A4 C66 1994 | 2nd Floor

A Current Bibliography on African Affairs (1967- )
Z3503 .C8 | 2nd Floor

Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography
http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/ejab/

International African Bibliography (1979-1994)
Z3503 .I5 | 2nd Floor

Northern Africa: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Z3515 .S57 2000 | 2nd Floor

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007