Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Applied Linguistics

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Linda Absher

Humanities Librarian, Associate Professor
(503) 725-4713
absherl@pdx.edu

Researching in Applied Linguistics

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Evidence Based Practice
 Organizations
 Other Sources
 Statistics
 Tests/Measures
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Education
ESL/Bilingual Education

Articles

Print View

Applied Linguistics is an interdisciplinary field that examines questions about language systems and their relationship to practical, real-world problems such as language teaching and learning, language assessment, language program evaluation, language planning and policy, and literacy.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Comprehensive resource in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Provides citations to publications.  More Info...

ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

Education Full Text
Research in peer reviewed education journals -- citations, abstracts and some full text.  More Info...


Related Resources
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Professional Development Collection
Full text of educator magazines and journals from dates in the mid 1990s to the present.  More Info...

MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  More Info...

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

Communications Abstracts
Citations to communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of information sources.
Please note that this resource sometimes requires the use of the DjVu Browser Plug-In, which can be downloaded here.
  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents  More Info...

Annual Reviews Online
Full text extensive research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines: biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete
Humanities, social sciences, news and events, sciences, policy -- mutli-disciplinary coverage of journals. Includes many full text articles.  More Info...

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...

Web of Science
Citation searching across thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

ProjectMuse
Full text articles from scholarly humanities and social science journals.  More Info...



Print Resources:

Education Index, 1929-1982
Z5813 .E23 | Reference

Linguistics Abstracts, 1985-2003
Ref P1 .A1 L5123 | Reference
Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.

Linguistic Bibliography for the Year ...and Supplement for Previous Years, 1939-1995
Z7001 .P4 | Reference
Valuable for its worldwide coverage of the field of linguistics.

Language Teaching, 1982-2003
P51 .L33 | Fourth Floor

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007