|
MAP COLLECTION FINDING AID Location: The Map Collection is located in the SE corner on the 4th floor of the PSU Library.
Atlases Ready Reference atlases (4th floor) are located in the map cases labeled:
Other atlases are located on shelves in the Map Collection. These include a variety of atlases and the atlases are arranged by call number on the shelves.
U.S.G.S. Topographic Maps / Located in Map Cases 1-12 Topographic maps show the shape and elevation of the terrain. Most of the topographic maps in the Map Collection are 7.5 minute, 1:24,000 scale. These maps are produced by the U.S. Geological Survey (U.S.G.S.) Topographic maps are identified by state and then by the quadrangle name. The index maps for each state are located in the first drawer of maps for each respective state. The Library also keeps index maps for the topographic series at Ready Reference (2nd floor). After a quadrangle has been located on the index map, the quadrangle can then be located in the appropriate drawer. The quadrangle maps are arranged in alphabetical order in the drawers. Bureau of Land Management (B.L.M.) Maps / Located in Map Cases 12-13 B.L.M. maps are topographic maps used primarily as cadastral maps (or maps that show land property-ownership lines). These maps show some surface features, but are used primarily to identify land ownership boundaries and property descriptions. These maps are also identified or referred to as surface management status maps. The B.L.M. also produces mineral management status maps. Mineral management status maps identify the federal agency that owns the minerals in a given quadrangle. Sometimes the surface management status data and the mineral management status data are included on the same map. The B.L.M. maps are arranged by state and alphabetical quadrangle name. Nautical Charts / Located in Map Cases 15-16 Nautical charts are special maps used for navigation at sea. These charts are produced by the U.S. National Ocean Service, a component of NOAA. The charts are un-cataloged and are arranged by stock number. The National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA) Nautical Charts are catalogs that indicate which region is attached to which stock number. The NIMA catalogs are on the Index Table adjacent to the Nautical Maps & Charts. Additionally, the map drawers in Map Cases 15-16 are labeled by region. U.S.G.S. Geologic Maps / Located in Map Cases F1-F9 Geologic maps provide information on the structure of the Earth, such as types of rocks exposed on the Earth's surface and types of bedrock that underlie the surface materials. Geologic maps are produced by the United States Geological Survey (U.S.G.S.). Several different series are produced by the U.S.G.S. Examples include the Geologic Map Series (GMS) and the Geological Quadrangle Map Series (GQ). These maps are identified by a series name such as GQ or GMS, and then a number. The Guide to USGS Publications (Andriot, 1997, & located on the top of map cases F1-F9 in the Map Collection) and the Guide to USGS Publications (Andriot, 1998, & located in Ready Reference on the 2nd floor) are particularly useful for identifying geologic maps by area or subject. Additionally, it's possible to search for recent geologic maps and publications via the U.S.G.S. Library at http://library.usgs.gov. Thematic Maps / Located in Map Cases 17-18 Thematic maps provide information on special topics or themes. Examples of topics or themes covered are politics, economics, hydrology, population statistics and demographics. Thematic maps are often statistical in nature. These maps have call numbers and are in the Library's catalog (Vikat). Central Intelligence Agency Maps / Located in the Map Collection (4th floor) & Ready Reference (2nd floor) CIA maps are primarily political maps produced by the CIA. These maps occasionally include thematic insets providing information on economic and social topics as well as features of the physical environment. CIA maps are located in 4 binders in Ready Reference on the 2nd floor and in a drawer in the Map Collection on the 4th floor labeled SUDOCS PREX CIA, located in the center of the map room. Additionally, the CIA reference maps are available at https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/docs/refmaps.html. Aeronautical Maps / Located in the Blue Plastic Boxes in the Center of the Map Collection Aeronautical maps are produced and distributed by the Aeronautical Charts Service of the Department of Transportation and are received in the Library on a regular basis via the depository program. These maps serve the needs of aircraft at low and intermediate altitudes. Maps in this series include the Sectional Aeronautical charts and the VFR Terminal area charts (these maps provide greater detail for several terminal areas). These are cataloged and searchable in Vikat. Aeronautical maps are located in the blue plastic boxes in the center of the Map Collection. | ||||||||||||||||||||
|