Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Architecture

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Kristen (Kris) Kern

Fine and Performing Arts Librarian
(503) 725-5218
kernk@pdx.edu

Researching in Architecture

Find
 Articles
 Bibliographies
 Biographies
 Books/Book Chapters
 Building Standards
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Exhibitions
 Organizations
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage: early 1900's to present.  More Info...

Art Index
Citations from 400 art journals, 1984 - present. Selected full-text coverage, 1997 - present.  More Info...

Art Index Retrospective
Citations to articles and reproductions from 420 art journals.  More Info...


Related Resources
Bibliography of the History of Art
Provides abstracts for articles, books, etc., on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.  More Info...

ARTbibliographies Modern
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, etc., on all forms of modern and contemporary art.  More Info...

Compendex
Citations and abstracts of the engineering and applied science literature.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

Academic Search Complete
Humanities, social sciences, news and events, sciences, policy -- mutli-disciplinary coverage of journals. Includes many full text articles.  More Info...

Humanities Index
Citations to articles in core humanities journals from 1984-present  More Info...



Selected Print Resources

The Burnham Index to Architectural Literature, 10 vols. Based on the holding of the Burnham Library of Architecture at the Art Institute of Chicago, this index covers the field of architecture going back to 1919. Overlap with the Avery Index is less than 3% before 1934 and 30% after that date.
Z5944 .U5 B87 1989 | 2nd floor

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Includes articles on architecture from major U.S. popular and general magazines.
AI3 .R4 | Latest edition kept on 2nd floor

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007