Skip over navigation

Research Guide for ESL/Bilingual Education

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Linda Absher

Humanities Librarian, Associate Professor
(503) 725-4713
absherl@pdx.edu

Researching in ESL/Bilingual Education

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Dissertations/Theses
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Organizations
 Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Applied Linguistics
Education

Articles

Print View

Magazine, periodical, and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments, and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Databases and Articles pages.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
ERIC (EBSCO Interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

Education Full Text
Research in peer reviewed education journals -- citations, abstracts and some full text.  More Info...

ERIC (FirstSearch interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents.Locating material found in ERIC.  More Info...

ERIC (US government interface)
Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents. Most current database updates appear on this platform first.  More Info...

Professional Development Collection
Full text of educator magazines and journals from dates in the mid 1990s to the present.  More Info...

ComAbstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles from primary research journals in communication.  More Info...

Communications Abstracts
Citations to communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of information sources.
Please note that this resource sometimes requires the use of the DjVu Browser Plug-In, which can be downloaded here.
  More Info...


Related Resources
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Comprehensive resource in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Provides citations to publications.  More Info...

MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended)
  More Info...

Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Humanities Index
Citations to articles in core humanities journals from 1984-present  More Info...

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...



Additional Resources

Language teaching
Emphasis on second-language and foreign-language education.
Shelves P51 .L33

Linguistics Abstracts
Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.
Ref P1 .A1 L5123

TESL-EJ: a web journal with about 2 issues per year. A good source for book reviews, 1994-

Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007