Skip over navigation

Research Guide for Art

Home » Research Help » Research Guides

Kristen (Kris) Kern

Fine and Performing Arts Librarian
(503) 725-5218
kernk@pdx.edu

Researching in Art

Find
 Articles
 Books/Book Chapters
 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
 Finding Images Online
 Web Resources
 ** View All **

Articles

Print View

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or online article databases. The online databases are especially useful for searching by title, by author, by subject, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. Some of the databases access books, exhibition catalogs, essays, and other formats as well as journal articles. When full text for a document is not provided by the database, one can click on the PSU Links button to find out whether the Portland State Library offers full text access in a print volume or through an electronic link. The online databases that are generally most useful for research in the visual arts (including architecture) are:

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
ARTbibliographies Modern
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, etc., on all forms of modern and contemporary art.  More Info...

Bibliography of the History of Art
Provides abstracts for articles, books, etc., on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.  More Info...

Art Index Retrospective
Citations to articles and reproductions from 420 art journals.  More Info...

Art Index
Citations from 400 art journals, 1984 - present. Selected full-text coverage, 1997 - present.  More Info...


Related Resources
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage: early 1900's to present.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete
Humanities, social sciences, news and events, sciences, policy -- mutli-disciplinary coverage of journals. Includes many full text articles.  More Info...

International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from 400-1500.  More Info...

Humanities Index
Citations to articles in core humanities journals from 1984-present  More Info...

JSTOR
Historical backfiles of full text articles from a selected number of major research journals.  More Info...

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).  More Info...



Give to PSU | PSU FAQs | Contact PSU | Find People | Maps/Directions | PSU Sitemap | © 2007