PSU Library logo

 

Nonprofit Management

 

Introduction | Reference Works | Indexes and Databases | Electronic Journals | Finding Books | Electronic Books | Organizations | Statistics | Web Resources | Writing and Citation Guides | Ask A Librarian

See also subject guides for: Economics | Legal Resources | Organizational Behavior | Public Administration

 

 

Introduction

Nonprofit Management incorporates the same activities as for-profit organizations: planning, organizing, leading, managing, and coordinating of resources. A nonprofit corporation is formed for the purpose of serving a public or societal benefit other than the accumulation of wealth. Typically a nonprofit organization is engaged in service, philanthropic or voluntarism activities.

In order develop professional leadership in the nonprofit sector, a student will acquire knowledge and skills in nonprofit governance, general management, fund raising, program development, strategic planning, finance, human resources management, policy analysis and problem solving, ethics, mission-building and marketing. Also the student of Nonprofit Management must develop a comprehensive understanding of the complex community, political, legal and competitive environments within which nonprofit organizations must function to accomplish their missions.

For a nutshell description, see What is a Nonprofit Corporation? (Nonprofit Resource Center).

Return to top

Reference Works

  100 Best Nonprofits To Work For. Arco. [August 2000 on order]
book Almanac of American Politics JK8 .A45 2000
book Almanac of the 50 States HA203 .A5 2001
book Annual Register of Grant Support
AS911 .A2 A67 2001
book

Handbook of Budgeting for Nonprofit Organizations
HG4027.65 .S54 1996 Includes Computer Disc

book The Harvard Business School guide to careers in the nonprofit sector HD2769.2 .U6 L68 2000
book In search of America's best nonprofits / Richard Steckel, Jennifer Lehman. Jossey-Bass.
HV91 .S648 1997
book The insider's guide to grantmaking : how foundations find, fund, and manage effective programs. Joel J. Orosz. Josssey-Bass.
HV41 .O76 2000
book International encyclopedia of public policy and administration H97 .I574 1998 / Reference
book The Jossey-Bass guide to strategic communications for nonprofits: a step-by-step guide to working with the media to generate publicity, enhance fundraising, build membership, change public policy, handle crises, and more. Kathy Bonk, Henry Griggs, Emily Tynes. Jossey-Bass, c1999. HD62.6 .B66 1999
bookwww source

Literature of the Nonprofit Sector
Z7164 .C4 L57 1989-95
Electronic Version (Foundation Center)

www source Mission Statements: a guide to the corporate and nonprofit sectors / John W. Graham and Wendy C. Havlick. Garland, 1994
book National Directory of Corporate Giving
HV89 .N26 1997
book National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations AS29.5 N38 2001 / Reference
book National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States HD2425 .D53 2001
book Nonprofit Almanac HD62.6 .D54 1996/97
book Nonprofit boards : what to do and how to do it. John E. Tropman and Elmer J. Tropman. Washington, D.C. : CWLA Press
HD2745 .T79 1999
book Nonprofit Compensation and Benefits Practices. Carol L. Barbeito. Wiley, 1998
HD4965.3 .N652 U63 1998
book Nonprofit Handbook: Fund Raising
HD62.6 .N662 1997
book Nonprofit Handbook: Management 2001
HD62.6 .N662 2001b / Reference
  Nonprofit Mergers and Alliances : A Strategic Planning Guide.
[1996 on order]
bookwww source Oregon Blue Book JK9031 Annual / Reference
Electronic Version
book Public Interest Profiles. Foundation for Public Affairs JK1118 .P79 2002
book Public Policy Dictionary H97 .K78 1987
book State Nonprofit Almanac HV85 .S73 1997
book State of Working America
HD8051 .S73 2000/2001
  Think Tank Directory: A Guide to Nonprofit Policy Research Organizations (on order)
bookwww source The United States Government Manual JK421 .A3
Electronic Version (1995-2001)
book World Almanac AY67 .N5 W7 / Latest in Reference
bookwww source
World Factbook HC59 .N248 / Latest in Reference
Electronic Version

Return to top

 

Indexes and Databases

CQ Library Includes: CQ Researcher 1991- ; CQ Weekly 1983- CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government Full-Text
Dissertation Abstracts International 1861-
PSU Theses 1997- are Full Text (slow).
Abstracts
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection (1990- ; coverage varies) Full-Text
Econlit 1969- (Economics journals, collective volumes, books, dissertations, and working papers.) Abstracts

Impact/ACCESS GDOCS 1976- (U.S. Government Publications)

Citations
Index to Current Urban Documents Abstracts
JAKE (Find out which databases index a journal title.)  
JSTOR Multidisciplinary academic journal backfiles - articles in PDF files. (Coverage varies) Full-Text
Lexis-Nexis Acadmic Universe Contains: Congressional Universe, Statistical Universe, journals and newspapers Mostly full text
Newspaper Source Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers. Full-Text
Oregon Index 1995- (Varying coverage of Oregon Newspapers.) Citations
Oregonian Oregonian 1995- (Does not cover news wire stories.) Full-Text
PAIS 1972- (Public Affairs Information Service) Abstracts
PsycINFO 1889- Good source for literature on group dynamics. Abstracts
Social Science Citation Index CD-ROM (Earlier years - paper) Citations
Social Science Index Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts Abstracts
STAT-USA Business, trade and economic information. Full-Text
Wall Street Journal Online 1984- Eastern Edition Full-Text
World News Connection Foreign Broadcast Information Service Full-Text
WORLDCAT WORLDCAT includes over 35 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Citations only

Return to top

Electronic Journals

Comprehensive List | Selected Electronic Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest to Nonprofit Management are available online. Below is a selected list of full text
journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

Comprehensive listing of PSU Electronic Journals
by title  | by subject

Selected Electronic Journals

psu-only access via the webbook Association Management
Current Periodicals HF5001 .A723
bookpsu-only access via the web Chronicle of Philanthropy
Current Periodicals HV85 .C525
Chronicle of Philanthropy [username: psulibrary; password: 6stewar4]
www source Foundation News and Commentary
psu-only access via the web Fund Raising Management Available in Business Source Elite
psu-only access via the web Journal of Voluntary Action Research
Although the Library does not own this earlier title of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly, contents may be searched in
Social Services Abstracts

psu-only access via the webbook

Nonprofit & Voluntary Sector Quarterly (SwetsWise--be sure to click on login via IP authentication) 1999-present
Also in Current Periodicals HV1 .J63
 
psu-only access via the web Nonprofit Management and Leadership
Available in Business Source Elite
www source Nonprofit Times
www source Philanthropy News Network Online
Best viewed with Internet Explorer.
psu-only access via the web

Voluntas
2002-present (not yet available)

www source Philanthropy News Network Online
Best viewed with Internet Explorer.

Return to top

Finding Books

Subject Headings | Keywords | Call Numbers

Use these catalogs to search for your monographic materials and documents. Selected Subjects and Keywords are provided below.
WORLDCAT
Includes over 35 million records in libraries in U.S. and elsewhere.

For materials not found at PSU, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan Request (PSU only).

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in public administration. A complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings is available at the Reference Desk.

Using the "Complex" search you may combine any Subject Heading with Keywords by using the pull-down menus to the left of each search frame. Choose "subject" for subjects, and "words or phrases" for key words.

Administrative law
Administrative theory
Affirmative action programs
Associations - Management
Benchmarking (Management)
Charitable uses, trusts and foundations
Charities
Collective bargaining
Communication in organizations
Conflict resolution
Endowments
Fund raising
Intercultural communication
Knowledge management
Non-governmental organizations
Nonprofit management
Nonprofit organizations - Accounting
Nonprofit organizations - Marketing
Nonprofit organizations - Management
Operations research
Organizational change
Organizational learning
Personnel management
Policy analysis
Program evaluation
Proposal writing for grants
Public administration - United States (or other country)
Public contracts
Public-private sector cooperation - (country)
Social sciences - Research - Methodology
Strategic planning
Trusts and trustees

Keywords
Sometimes a subject heading does not exist for a particular area of focus, or perhaps the keyword approach allows the use of more contemporary terminology. Here are a few suggestions for keywords related to areas of public administration.

Administrative process
Benefit-cost analysis
Best practices
Collaborative communities
Communities of practice
Cross-cultural communication
Human resource management
Leadership development
Management theory
Nonprofit accounting
Nonprofit boards
Nonprofit marketing
Performance auditing
Philanthropy
Qualitative research
Service learning
Service organizations

Call Numbers
Public Administration does not have distinct ranges of numbers in the Library of Congress Classification system. Instead, the literature of Public Administration is dispersed among the areas of social sciences dealing with management, government, social institutions, and behavioral science. The best approach to finding materials is to use a Subject or Keyword search in the Online Catalog.

Return to top

Electronic Books
The PSU Library belongs to NetLibrary, a collection of electronic texts on the web. If the Library owns a particular title in NetLibrary, you may access the item through our On-Line Catalog (Vikat). You may do a Keyword Search combining "Netlibrary" and other key words, title words, or subjects (see bottom of search page for specific instructins.
Or, you may search the NetLibrary site and obtain access to titles we own. Instructions for Opening a Netlibrary Account. Here are some sample selections:
Action tools for effective managers: a guide for solving day-to-day problems on the job. Margaret Mary Gootnick & David Gootnick.
AMACOM, c2000.
Affirmative Action Plan Workbook. John C. Fox. CCH Inc., c1997
AMA Management Handbook. 1994
Applying psychology in business: the handbook for managers and human resource professionals. Ed by John W. Jones, Brian D. Steffy, Douglas W. Bray. Lexington Books, c1991
The complete human resources writing guide. Diane Arthur.
American Management Association, c1997.
The handbook of conflict resolution: theory and practice. Morton Deutsch, Peter T. Coleman, editors. Edition: 1st ed. Jossey-Bass, c2000.
Handbook of organization theory and management. Thomas D. Lynch, Todd J. Dicker. M. Dekker, 1998
Handbook of Organizational Behavior. Robert T. Golembiewski, ed.
M. Dekker, 1993
How to Develop a Personnel Policy Manual. Joseph W.R. Lawson II. AMACOM, c1998
Human Resources Management & Development Handbook. 2nd ed. William R. Tracey, editor. Amacom, 1994
Institutions And Organizations. W. Richard Scott. Sage, c1995
Leadership in times of change: a handbook for communication and media administrators. Ed by William G. Christ.
National Communication Association, c1999.
The leader's change handbook: an essential guide to setting direction and taking action. Jay A. Conger, Gretchen M. Spreitzer, Edward E. Lawler III, editors. Jossey-Bass, c1999.
The Manager's Desk Reference. Cynthia Berryman-Fink and Charles B. Fink. AMACOM, 1996
Mind-set management: the heart of leadership. Samuel A. Culbert.
Oxford University Press, 1996.
Mission Statements: a guide to the corporate and nonprofit sectors.
John W. Graham and Wendy C. Havlick. Garland, 1994
The psychology of managerial incompetence: a sceptic's dictionary of modern organizational issues. Adrian Furnham.
Whurr Publishers Ltd, c1998.
Redefining diversity. R. Roosevelt Thomas, Jr. American Management Association, c1996.
Treasurer's and controller's desk book. Daniel L. Gotthilf. AMACOM/American Management Assoc., c1997.

Return to top

Organizations

Academy of Management Online
An academic organization devoted to research, learning, teaching and practice in the field of management.

Alliance for Nonprofit Management
Formed in 1998 by the merger of the Support Centers of America and the Nonprofit Management Association.
The purpose "...is to challenge and strengthen those who deliver management and government support services to nonprofit organizations." Includes FAQ's on board development. financial management, fundraising, risk management and strategic planning.

American Society for Public Administration
Information professional activities and publications, with access to free electronic newsletters.

Center for the Study of Philanthropy

Council on Foundations
A nonprofit membership association of grantmaking foundations and corporations.

The Foundation Center
Mission:to support and improve institutional philanthropy by promoting public understanding of the field and helping grantseekers succeed.

Institute for Nonprofit Organization Management. Nonprofit links
College of Professional Studies, University of San Francisco

The Institute of Management and Administration
Professional information, publications and ezines.

InterAction
American Council for Voluntary International Action
A coalition of over 165 nonprofit U.S.-based organizations working overseas.

International Institute of Administrative Sciences
The purpose of IIAS, together with its two Specialised Associations, the International Association of Schools and Institutes of Administration (IASIA) and the European Group of Public Administration (EGPA), is to promote the development of the administrative sciences and the better operation of public administrative agencies at all levels.

International Personnel Management Association
Membership required for access to full resources.

National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA)
The National Academy of Public Administration is an independent, nonpartisan organization chartered by Congress to assist federal, state,
and local governments in improving their effectiveness, efficiency, and accountability.

Return to top

Statistics

By the Numbers: Nonprofit Organizations
Gale Research, 1998 [on order]

Nonprofit Almanac
Independent Sector (Firm)
HD62.6 .D54 1996/97

Independent Sector: Facts and Figures

Return to top

 

Web Resources

Center for the Study of Philanthropy
Information on world wide philanthropy, including some resources for research.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy: Resosurces for Nonprofit Boards

COMFILE! Your link to Communication Sources on the Internet

Free Management Library
Complete, highly integrated web library for nonprofits and for-profits.

Geneva International and Non Governmental Organizations

Give.org
Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance

GuideStar
National database containing information on the activities and finances of more than 650,000 nonprofit organizations, the latest news on philanthropy and resources for donors and nonprofits.

Idealist.org
"Action Without Borders" An extensive, searchable site about and for nonprofits. International in scope.

IS: Independent Sector
Mission: to promote, strengthen, and advance the nonprofit and philanthropic community to foster private initiative for the public good.

Internet Nonprofit Center
A project of the The Evergreen State Society of Seattle.

IRS Form 990 (Demystifying the 990 PF)
Foundation Center
(foundation tax returns summarizing finances, board members with salaries of top officers, other information)

Literature of the Nonprofit Sector
Foundation Center

Jay's Leftist and 'Progressive' Internet Resources Directory
"A Web Portal for all Good People around Planet Earth who are anti-War, anti-Imperialist, anti-Racist, anti-Sexist, and anti-Homophobic and who want to Resist Oppression and build together a Better World."

The Management Center
A leading resource for nonprofit management support in Northern California.

Meta-Index for Non-Profit Organizations
Copyright: Ellen Spertus

National Center for Charitable Statistics

National Center for Nonprofit Boards
NCNB is dedicated to increasing the effectiveness of nonprofit organizations by strengthening their boards of directors.

The National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy
A 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting philanthropy that addresses the unmet needs of disadvantaged populations, including very low-income communities, people of color, gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender populations, and other groups facing discrimination or marginalization. NCRP conducts action research, provides technical assistance to nonprofits, and engages in policy advocacy. NCRP's reform activism targets foundations, corporations, individual donors, and workplace fund-raising.

National Council of Nonprofit Associations

The NGO Cafe
The Global Development Research Center

Nonprofit Gateway - "A network of links to Federal government information and services"

Nonprofit Career Network

The Nonprofit Resource Center
For the past few years the Nonprofit Resource Center has been the Internet's premier information source for nonprofit organizations.

OpportunityNOCS
Network Services & Consulting Corporation
Job site for nonprofit opportunities.

Peacework - International Volunteer Programs
Peacework arranges international volunteer service projects around the world for colleges, universities, and service organizations.

Peter Drucker's Nonprofit Innovation Discovery Site

Research on Philanthropy
Alliance for Justice Foundation Advocacy Initiative
A national association of public interest organizations,the Alliance seeks to increase foundation support to organizations that seek to influence policy and public opinion.

Resources for Nonprofit Organizations
University of Wisconsin Grants Information Center

Tax Information for Charities & Other Non-Profits (IRS)

Tax information: Information for Tax-Exempt Organizations (Oregon)

Volunteer Match - A Quick Index of Organizations in Oregon

WebActive
Large directory (WebActive Directory) of links to activists on the Web. Contains over 2,100 links, organized alphabetically, with good annotations and helpful search engine. Site also features a site-of-the-week, real-audio broadcast sites from around the Web, and job opportunities.

WorkIndex.com
"Gateway to Human Resource Solutions"

 

Return to top

Writing and Citation Guides

Citation Styles Online!
Copyright © 2000 by Bedford / St. Martin's

Internet Citation Guides
University of Wisconsin Library

Writing, Citing and Evaluating Guides on the Internet
University of British Columbia

 

Library Home | Business Home | Subject Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Page developed by: Daphne Allen
Maintained by:
webmaster
Send comments to:
webmaster

 
Last updated: