|
Nonprofit Research and Resources Guide Tips and Helpful Hints for Students and Community Members Doing Research in the Nonprofit Sector
This guide was originally published as a print guide titled Nonprofit Research and Resources Guide: Tips and Helpful Hints for Students and Community Members Doing Research in the Nonprofit Sector. It was written by Carrie Munn, a graduate of PSU's Institute for Nonprofit Managment in June of 2001. It has been updated and revised from its original form, and serves the purpose of guiding students at PSU's Institute for Nonprofit Management in doing library research. The following librarians will be helpful for most nonprofit research projects:
The Institute of Nonprofit Management (INPM) has resided at Portland State University since 1996. Many of the resources that INPM/Masters of Public Administration (MPA) students need are not directly available at the library. However, with a little effort, much of the research in existence can be accessed. When in doubt about where to look or frustrated about dead ends, contact the librarians. |
|||
| |
|||
| |
|||
|
|
|||
| |
|||
| |
Nonprofit Management & Governance General
Management Volunteer Management
|
Community Programs Community
Organizing & Fundraising General
Fundraising |
Work Skills & Professional Development Office
Management Communications Media
Relations
|
The Foundation Center provides the most valuable collection of nonprofit resources of any single source identified to date. The Center's website, the primary source for this section, presents volumes of well-organized resources and links to other nonprofit information. Among the most useful tools for students, is the Foundation Center's online catalog with abstracts called the Literature of the Nonprofit Sector (LNPS). The LNPS contains more than 19,000 full bibliographic citations and of these over 12,000 include descriptive abstracts. Recently updated to include the library of residence for sited materials, a student can conduct highly specialized searches of the catalog and use interlibrary loan services to obtain copies of articles or borrow materials. An Online Librarian is available by email to answer questions about conducting research and using the full potential of the site.
Searches of LNPS can be conducted according to author, title, subject, journal title, record type (article, book, CD-rom, pamphlet, sound or video recording), year of publication, keyword, or library location (Atlanta, Cleveland, New York, San Francisco, or Washington, D.C.). A list of periodicals indexed in the LNPS can be found at: http://fdncenter.org/research/lnps/list.html. For further help or introductory information select from the following options in the drop down menu bar on the LNPS homepage: Contents and Scope; New Acquisitions; How to Search; Locate the Sources Cited In Your Search Results; Periodicals; and Guided Tour.
In addition to the LNPS the Foundation Center website has valuable information on researching philanthropy such as funding trends, the classification of grants, and statistics. The Virtual Classroom, found under the Learning Lab title bar, contains the following tutorials: Orientation to Grantseeking; Guide to Funding Research; Proposal Writing Short Course, Demystifying the 990-PF; FC Search Guided Tour; Foundation Grants to Individuals Guided Tour.
Searching for documents can be tricky for those not familiar with the variety of terms used by indexes to categorize information. The nonprofit sector itself is known by many different names (voluntary sector, third sector, etc.) and this profusion of terms continues within nonprofit subject areas. The following categories of search terms offers alternatives that may expand your document search results. For detailed searches, use the bolded, general headings in combination with particular subcategories.
Nonprofit Managementaccountability
|
Nonprofitcharities Advocacy lobbying Related Subject Areasarts
organizations |
Fundraising (also:
fund raising |
Understanding Nonprofit Organizations: Governance, Leadership, and Management (2001) Ott, J. Steven. Boulder, CO: Westview Press. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N65 2001 PSU Reference
The State of Nonprofit America (2003) Salamon, Lester M. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institutions Press.
Mission-Based
Management : Leading Your Not-For-Profit in the 21st Century
(2000) Brinckerhoff, Peter C. Nonprofit Law, Finance and Management Series.
New York: Wiley. Location: HD62.6 .B74 2000 PSU Shelves
The Resilient Sector: The State of Nonprofit America (2003)
Salamon, Lester M. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institutions Press.
The Nature of the Nonprofit Sector (2001) Ott, J. Steven ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N37 2001 PSU Reference
Inventing the Nonprofit Sector and Other Essays on Philanthropy, Voluntarism, and Nonprofit Organizations (1992) Hall, Peter Dobkin. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press. Location: HV91 .H263 1992 PSU Reserve
Charity, Philanthropy, and Civility in American History (2003) Friedman, Lawrence J. and McGarvie, Mark D. eds. New York: Cambridge University Press. Location: HV41 .C48 2003 PSU Reference
American
Philanthropy, 2nd Edition (2004). Bremner, Robert H. The Chicago
History of American Civilization, Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Managing the Non-Profit
Organization: Practices
and Principles (1992) Drucker, Peter F.
New York, NY: HarperBusiness. Location: HD62.6 .D78 1990 PSU Reference
On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer (2002). Frumkin, Peter. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press. Location: HD2769.15 .F78 2002 PSU Reference
The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: The Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers (2002) Weitzman,Murray S. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N47 2002 PSU Reference
Human
Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations
(1997) Pynes, Joan E. Jossey Bass Nonprofit & Public Management Series,
San Francisco, Jossey-Bass Publishers. Location: HF5549.2 .U5 P96
1997 PSU Reference
Starting and Managing
a Nonprofit Organization : A Legal Guide (2001) Hopkins,
Bruce R. Wiley Nonprofit Law, Finance and Management Series Location:
KF1388 .H66 2001 PSU Shelves
General Nonprofit Resources | Boards | Fundraising | Government Information and Statistics | Jobs | News and Information | Program Evaluation | Technology and Communications | Volunteerism
Alliance Resource Center - www.allianceonline.org/arc.html The website of The Alliance for Nonprofit Management, is dedicated to building and transferring knowledge related to nonprofit management and governance. The Alliance Resource Center's database is searchable in terms of 23 distinct nonprofit areas of management and results can be sorted in terms of websites and organizations, books, videos, newsletters, and educational programs. In addition to the resource, the site contains a Provider database enables searches for management support resources by topic and location, and an online newsletter, PULSE!, with archives.
The Foundation Center - www.fdncenter.org The center of the online universe for information about funding and foundations. Includes the Literature of the Nonprofit Sector and many other resources.
The
Center for Excellence in Nonprofits - www.cen.org
CEN focuses on developing best practices and knowledge management among
nonprofit organizations. The site contains publication and articles, suggested
readings, archives of newsletters, and information on the organization's
programs.
Charity Village - www.charityvillage.ca Canada's supersite for nonprofits provides helpful resources and news for nonprofits in general, those in the US and internationally based NGOs. Useful sections to be found under Resources include: library, research, online discussions, online resources, online publications, book reviews, venture philanthropy and FAQs.
DMOZ
Open Directory Project - http://dmoz.org/Society/Organizations/Nonprofit_Resources
The Open Directory Project's goal is to produce the most comprehensive
directory of the web, by relying on a vast army of volunteer editors who
help the site grow as internet resources expand. Nonprofit resources are
listed by categories. Most are annotated links by issue area. The limited
content is more diverse than many similar sites.
Free
Management Library - www.mapnp.org/library/
The Free Management Library is a complete library of resources for nonprofit
and for-profit organizations. The goal of the library is to provide leaders
and managers (especially those with very limited resources) basic and
practical information about business, management and organizations. Information
is broken down into 72 popular categories and further subdivides into
657 topics. Information is highly integrated, easily searchable, and very
practical.
Internet
Nonprofit Center - www.nonprofits.org/
Contains the Nonprofit FAQ, a compilation of hundreds of real-life Frequently
Asked Questions asked over the years by people visiting the soc.org.nonprofit
newsgroup. The FAQ is divided into five main resource sections: Organization,
Management, Regulation, Resources, and Development. The site also contains
INC bulletins and a nonprofit library. A project of the Evergreen State
Society of Seattle, the three principals, Putnam Barber, Cliff Landesman
and Michael Gilbert are well known in the nonprofit internet information
world.
Independent Sector - www.independentsector.org The site gives an overview of IS programs and includes sections on the basics of lobbying by charitable organizations, the executive summary of the IS 1999 survey on giving and volunteering a starter kit to help nonprofits with public relations efforts, a searchable publications catalog, news, and public policy resources.
Interactive
Knowledge for Nonprofits Worldwide - www.iknow.org
Developed and maintained by Raffa & Associates, P.C., Interactive
Knowledge for Nonprofits Worldwide (Iknow) is a collection of online resource
links in the areas of business services, education, fringe benefits, fund-raising,
governance, human resources, internet resources and technology, legal
issues, legislation, strategic planning, and volunteerism.
Joseph
and Matthew Payton Philanthropic Studies Library - http://www.ulib.iupui.edu/special/ppsl.html
This is the online library site for the Indiana University-Purdue University
Indianapolis (IUPUI) campus. The site offers a philanthropic studies index
searchable by keywords, extensive nonprofit links organized by subject
area, and a very useful reference self-help section. Except for the manuscripts
and archives, the IUPUI collections are available to students through
interlibrary loan.
The
Learning Institute for Nonprofit Organizations - www.uwex.edu/li/learner/library.htm
A comprehensive educational program for nonprofit managers, boards and
volunteers delivered
through satellite conferences, online learning or videotapes. Included
on this website are the extensive library of free materials including
articles, classroom items, tools and great links. Eight basic subject
areas are covered in depth. These include: Strategic Planning, Resource
Development, Board Governance, Marketing, Financial Management, Social
Entrepreneurship, Volunteer Management, and Strategic Alliances.
National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy - www.ncrp.org NCRP is dedicated to promoting philanthropy that addresses the unmet needs of disadvantaged populations, including very low-income communities, people of color, gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender populations, and other groups facing discrimination or marginalization. The site contains a catalog of the Committee's numerous publications, the majority of articles from their newsletter, Responsive Philanthropy, and offers information about NCRP's advocacy and projects.
The
Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York - www.npccny.org/
The databank section of the site includes information on advocacy; lobbying;
government/tax issues; financial matters; fundraising; governance and
organizational issues; health; disability insurance; workers' compensation;
organizational insurance; personnel management; postal issues; resources
and NPCC events, projects & editorials.
Nonprofit
Genie - www.genie.org
A resource of CompassPoint Nonprofit Services, this site, Global Electronic
Nonprofit Information Express, includes weekly news, feature articles,
the board café newsletter, FAQs, links and publications. list of
answers to frequently asked questions developed by the staff and sorted
by management area. Also available: reviews of publications, extensive
links, and free bi-weekly newsletter.
Nonprofit
Nuts & Bolts - www.nutsbolts.com
Site contains reports, articles, free resources, and an extensive nonprofit
resource center that includes links to online publications, directories
of nonprofits, listservs and discussion groups, and service providers.
Nonprofit
Risk Management Center - www.nonprofitrisk.org
Information and resources to help nonprofit staff and volunteers control
risks. Site includes accessible newsletter archives, information about
available publications, trainings, and consulting, and risk management
links.
Web Resources by Category
Board
Cafe - www.boardcafe.org
A free electronic newsletter for members of nonprofit boards of directors
published by CompassPoint in San Francisco. Back issues and instructions
for subscribing to the newsletter can be found on the web site.
Carver
Governance.com - www.carvergovernance.com
John Carver's site on the Policy Governance Model for nonprofit boards.
Includes explanations of the model, reprints of articles, publications,
discussion forums, and services.
Free
Toolkit for Boards of Directors
- www.mapnp.org/library/strt_org/strt_bus/ad_prmot/ad_prmot/boards/boards.htm
A large collection of helpful tools maintained by Dr. Carter McNamara
at the Management Assistance Program for Nonprofits, St. Paul, MN.
National
Center for Nonprofit Boards - www.ncnb.org
NCNB provides resources, programs, and services to the nonprofit community
to help them strengthen their boards. Site contains information on NCNB's
publications, membership, training, education, and board resources, including
NCNB's large archived of FAQs on board roles and responsibilities.
Association
for Fundraising Professionals - www.nsfre.org
Formerly the National Association for Fund Raising Executives, the AFP's
website contains sections on public policy, ethics, and publications as
well as an extensive resource center. (In the future the domain name may
change to reflect the organization's name change effective on 1/1/01.)
Fund-Raising.com
- www.fundraising.com
This site provides nonprofits with information about creative ways to
generate contributions. Resources include links to products and service,
innovative fundraising ideas, and suggested books.
Resources for Fundraising Online - www.nonprofits.org/npofaq/misc/990804olfr.html Compiled by Putnam Barber, of the Internet Nonprofit Center, this comprehensive list includes links to discussions and annotated links to numerous online fundraising sites.
Catalog
of Federal Domestic Assistance - www.cfda.gov
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium
of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide
assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and
non-financial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments
of the Federal government. The site features catalog highlights, types
of assistance, application information, proposal writing guidance, and
a list of programs as well as a searchable database of assistance programs.
Federal
Government Resources on the Web - http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html
Housed by the University of Michigan Documents Center, this site is a
major portal for government information. Over 100 topics are listed in
the main index and related resources links.
Federal
Register - http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/index.html
The no-frills Federal Register site provides access to federal regulations,
public laws, and presidential documents. Visitors to the site can search
the web pages and databases within the site and search help and tools
are available.
IRS
Tax Statistics - http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/taxstats/index.html
Users can download information on exempt organizations, foundations, charitable
trusts, and products and services including statistics of income for organizations.
Nonprofit
Gateway - http://www.nonprofit.gov
Links to government agency homepages for information on grants and non-financial
support. Sections include: Department/Agency gateways, Directory of Federal
Government, Information services and links, and nonprofit resources.
OMB
Watch - http://www.ombwatch.org
As the name implies, OMB Watch monitors governmental processes at the
Office of Management and Budget. The organization focuses on five main
areas: Budget and government performance issues; Regulatory and government
accountability; Information for democracy and community; Nonprofit advocacy
and other cross-cutting nonprofit issues; and Nonprofit policy and technology.
The comprehensive Nonprofit Issues section presents news and analysis
on issues affecting nonprofits. An online newsletter, OMBWatcher is available.
GuideStar
- http://www.guidestar.org
GuideStar's mission is to promote philanthropy by helping donors, institutional
funders, and charities become more informed, effective, and efficient.
Site contains GuideStar's searchable database of more than 700,000 U.S.
nonprofit organizations, donor resources, news and information.
The
National Center for Charitable Statistics - http://nccs.urban.org
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) is the national repository
of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to
develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and
their activities for use in research on the relationships between the
nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil
society. The site provides access to information derived primarily from
data supplied by tax-exempt nonprofit organizations to the Internal Revenue
Service.
The Progressive Directory - http://www.igc.apc.org A project of the Institute for Global Communications, this annotated directory offers nearly 1900 links to organizations and nonprofits involved in social justice issues. The site also provides information on advocacy and discussion forums and news by topic.
Idealist
- http://www.idealist.org
Searchable database of nonprofit organizations, jobs, volunteer opportunities,
programs, and internships around the world. Visitors can review career
resources, news, and subscribe to a free job e-mail list, and nonprofits
can register and post job openings at no charge.
Opportunity
NOCs - http://www.opportunitynocs.org
The Web's leading source of nonprofit job listings for administrative,
staff and professional positions, with an estimated half million hits
per month. Search for a nonprofit sector job, post a job, find career
resources in the library, or subscribe to a monthly e-mail newsletter.
Chronicle
of Philanthropy - http://www.philanthropy.com
The Chronicle is a widely-read resource for all sectors of the nonprofit
arena. The site contains much more than news, although access to the majority
of content is restricted to subscribers. Check with the library for electronic
access.
NonProfit
Times - http://www.nptimes.com
NPT is a monthly newspaper dedicated to current issues in the nonprofit
sector. The site includes searchable archives, access to special reports,
and a well developed resource directory. NPTimes has two alternative versions:
Direct Marketing Edition and Financial Management Edition.
Nonportal
- http://www.nonportal.org
Beta site for commercial-free information and links for nonprofits. A
project of The Gilbert Center, this site uses a specialized and extensive
search engine and tools to provide A 'Deep News Search' that draws upon
an index of over 2000 web pages referred to by Nonprofit Online News.
Nonprofit
Online News - http://news.gilbert.org
Daily news for the nonprofit online community. Weekly news available free
by email subscription. Current news with links for more in depth information.
Index of news features.
Philanthropy
News Digest - http://www.fdncenter.org/pnd/current/index.html
PND contains abstracts of news, surveys and reports, and other items related
the world of philanthropy. offers a comprehensive weekly update on philanthropic
news that is also available for free via email. The site contains searchable
archives.
Philanthropy
News Network - http://pnnonline.org
The online version of the Philanthropy Journal of North Carolina is a
comprehensive source of nonprofit news. Articles are divided into sections
on corporate giving, education, foundations, fundraising, giving, innovations,
law taxes & money, people, technology, and volunteers. The site also
includes general information, job listings and links.
InnoNet
- http://www.innonet.org
Innovation Network, Inc. (InnoNet) is dedicated to building evaluation
knowledge and skills, enhancing capacity to improve and learn through
the use of participatory evaluation, and helping organizations embrace,
celebrate, and implement change. The site features an evaluation resources,
a glossary, downloadable publications, a bibliography, and links.
United
Way Outcome Measurement Resources- http://national.unitedway.org/outcomes/
The Outcome Measurement Resource Network's purpose is to provide outcome
measurement resources and instruction. Sections include: United Way Resources,
publications, current initiatives and activities, an outcome measurement
resource library, and links.
CompuMentor
- http://www.compumentor.org
CompuMentor provides person-to-person services, low-cost software and
online resources to nonprofits and schools. The site provides information
on CompuMentor's affordable software redistribution program and consulting
services. The site contains information on computer basics, databases,
networks, hardware recycling, volunteers and websites.
Coyote
Communications - http://www.coyotecom.com
Coyote Communications is a consulting service for nonprofit and public
sector organizations that specializes in online and offline communications
services. The site provides a number of Technology Tip Sheets on databases
& software, internet outreach, community relations, and web development
and maintenance.
Helping.org
- http://www.helping.org/nonprofit
Site provides tools and resources for helping your nonprofit make the
most of the internet. Primary sections include: day to day operations,
getting the help you need, working the web, learning from others, and
links. The site also provides online resource to help people find volunteer
and giving opportunities in their local communities and beyond.
LINC
Project - http://www.lincproject.org
The LINC (Low Income Networking and Communications) Project is a site
dedicated to fostering connections, cooperation, and information exchange
between grassroots organizations working for the benefit of low-income
people. The site includes a directory of low-income organizations in the
U.S., an organizers' online toolkit, events calendar, links to online
newsletters and news. Could also be in advocacy.
Npower
- http://www.npower.org
NPower's mission is helping other non-profits use technology to better
serve their communities
The site features an extensive resource library including technology tools,
tech planning, tech training, how to's, fundraising for technology, technology
volunteers. The NpowerLine newsletter is archived and available for download.
Newly added, the Tech Surveyor, is an extensive online technology assessment
for nonprofit organizations.
MediaNet
- www.internetnewsbureau.com/medianet/
An online tutorial to help nonprofits manage the traditional and online
media campaigns. Sections include Ways to woo the media, Promoting your
website, and great links to online media resources.
Techsoup
- www.techsoup.org
TechSoup.org offers nonprofits a one-stop, ultra- comprehensive portal
to learn and obtain help with technology issues. Categories include: nonprofit
discounts on technology, tech planning, using the web, software reviews,
a community networking center, and tools for technical support. A free,
monthly publication, By the Cup offers links and stories related to nonprofit
technology, feature articles written by specialists, answers to frequently
asked questions, and links to recommended resources.
The
Nonprofit Matrix
- http://www.nonprofitmatrix.com/
The Nonprofit Matrix is an online directory and guide to selecting and
integrating dot-coms (commercial service providers of components such
as online donation processing, charity auctions, affinity shopping and
more) into a nonprofit organization's web and internet strategies. Includes
some user reviews of services.
Service
Leader's Virtual Volunteering Project - http://www.serviceleader.org/vv/
The Virtual Volunteering Project works to encourage and assist in the
development of volunteer activities that can be completed via the Internet.
The site provides resources and information on virtual volunteerism and
a monthly electronic newsletter on virtual volunteering called Virtual
Verve.
Veritas
Information Services - http://www.veritasinfo.com/
Veritas Information Services provides sophisticated research services
to non-profit organizations to assist in fundraising. Information and
links provided on corporate giving programs, demographics, donor listings,
foundations, government funding, and prospect research sites.
Volunteer
Match - http://www.volunteermatch.org
Created by Impact Online, this site utilizes the power of the Internet
to help individuals nationwide find in person and "virtual"
volunteer opportunities posted by local nonprofit and public sector organizations.
Visitors can search the opportunities database according to distance from
home, time of event, duration of commitment, and category of organization.
Page
developed by:
Lauren Ray
Please send comments to:
Lauren Ray
Last Updated: