|
William Shakespeare, 1564-1616
|
| |
|
The canon of Shakepearean criticism is vast and prolific. Several important
articles are published each month, and the new book list generated by
scholarly and popular publishers grows each year. The critical reader
will tread cautiously through this plethora of publications in order to
discover a scholarly perspective about William Shakespeare.
See also
related guides Theater| Literature
in English
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias
Provide
background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research.
Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes
indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which
a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Reference
Works
Dictionaries,
concordances, glossaries, quotations, and bibliographies; detailed procedural
information specific to the subject areas addressed.
 |
English
theatrical literature, 1559-1900: a bibliography
James F. Arnott
Z2014 .D7 A74 1970 (Reference)
Annotated
list of theatrical literature (vs dramatic literature--does not
include plays and critical accounts of them). Subject arrangement.
|
 |
New
Cambridge bibliography of English literature
Vol. 1, 1600-1660
George Watson, ed.
Z2011 .N45 1969 v. 1 (Reference) |
 |
Shakespearean
criticism: excerpts from the criticism of William Shakespeare's
plays and poetry, from the first public appraisals to current evaluations
vols 1-57 - to present
PR2965 .S43 (Reference)
This
series is part of the Gale Literary Group. An overview of several
plays and their literary histories are covered in each volume. The
more current volumes evaluate the plays from these perspectives:
an introduction, gender issues, history and philosophy, representation
and identity, language, character studies, structure, sources, influences,
and ideology. Includes bibliographies, indexes, and illustrations.
|
 |
Dictionary
of Shakespeare
Stanley Wells.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1998
PR2892 .W43 1998 (Reference)
Includes
a "selective finding list" and a "conjectural chronology
of Shakespeare's work."
|
 |
Shakespeare
glossary
C.T. Onions
Enlarged and revised throughout by Robert D. Eaglesohn
Oxford: Oxford at the Clarendon Press, 1986
PR2892 .O6 1986 (Reference) |
 |
Columbia
dictionary of quotations from Shakespeare
Mary & Reginald Foakes
PR2892 .F48 1998 (Reference)
Includes
play, poem, character, and keyword indexes.
|
 |
Essential
Shakespeare: an annotated bibliography of major modern studies
2 vols., 2nd edition
Larry S. Champion
Z8811 .C53 1993 (Reference) |
 |
Shakespeare
Poetry Search
http://quarles.unbc.edu/shakescan/
Promotes concordance-like search capabilities using single words,
words in a sequence, or combinations of two words for Shakespeare's
poetry; The Sonnets, Venus and Adonis, A Lover's Complaint,
The Passionate Pilgrim, and The Rape of Lucrece.
|
 |
Oxford
companion to Shakespeare
Michael
Dobson & Stanley Wells, eds.
PR2892
.O94 2001 (Reference) |
 |
Harvard
concordance to Shakespeare
Spevack, Marvin
PR2892 .S62 |
 |
Shakespeare
on screen: an international filmography and videography
Kenneth S. Rothwell and Annabelle Henkin Melze
PR3093 .R68 1990 (Reference)
Includes a bibliography and several indexes; i.e. entries, series
and genres, films and videos by year produced and/or released, and
various name indices that include entries for actors and speakers,
production team, and authors, critics, and editors.
|
Go
to top of page
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
 |
Arts
& humanities citation index (1974-present)
AI3 .A75 (Reference)
Allows searching of references cited in books and journal articles
as well as author, title and subject searching. |
|


|
Columbia
Granger's world of poetry
PN1022 .C628 1997 (Reference)
Columbia
Granger's world of poetry
Retrieves 422 complete poems and indexes 684 poems with the search
statement, "Shakespeare, William."
|
 |
EBSCOhost
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for nearly 1,380 journals covering the social sciences,
humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education. |
|


|
Essay
and general literature index (1900-1996)
AI3 .E752 (Reference)
Essay
and general literature index online(1985-present)
Provides an author and subject index to essays in collections. Emphasizes
the humanities and social sciences.
|
|


|
Humanities
index - 1975 - Present
AI3 .H8 (Reference)
A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields
indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies,
folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy,
religion and theology, and related subjects.
Humanities
index online - 1984 - Present
Journals
in Humanities Index held by PSU.
|
 |
Inter-Play:
an on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals.
http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay
An index to the complete texts of plays in collections, anthologies
and periodicals in the PSU Library. |
|

|
JSTOR
-
Holds the full text of 117 scholarly journals with complete back
file access in the Arts & Sciences I Collection. The literature
and history journal selections will retrieve relevant results. Contains
the Shakespeare
Quarterly (1950-1995).
|
|


|
MLA
international bibliography (1921-present)
Z7006 .M64
MLA
international bibliography (1963-present)
MLA Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore
from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Licensed
from the Modern Language Association. |
 |
Project
Muse:
Scholarly journals online
Holds over 100 full text scholarly journals online in the arts &
humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for
the journals are scant. Important inclusions for this subject are
the Yale
Journal of Criticism (1996- to present), Studies
in English Literature, 1500-1900 (1999-to present), and
Shakespeare Quarterly (2001-to present). |
 |
WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer
Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by
the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most
academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books,
serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings,
videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations
for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject,
year, language, material type. |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Subject
Headings
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest
for research about William Shakespeare. Copies of the complete
set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference
desks throughout the library.
| |
Shakespeare,
William, 1564-1616
|
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Appreciation |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Bibliography |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Biography |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Characters |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Chronology |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Concordances |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Contemporary England |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Criticism, Interpretation |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Criticism, Textual |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Dramatic Production |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Film, Video adaptations |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Political, Social views |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Quotations |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Stage History |
| |
Shakespeare,
William -- Study and Teaching |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
| PR2199-3195 |
English
Renaissance (1500-1640) |
| PR2750-3112 |
Shakespeare,
William |
| PR2775-2800.5 |
Shakespeare,
William - Translations |
| PR2801-2840 |
Shakespeare,
William - Separate Works |
| PR2841-2849 |
Shakespeare,
William - Poems |
| PR2885-2935 |
Shakespeare,
William - Criticism, biography |
| PR2892 |
Shakespeare,
William - Concordances, dictionaries, indexes, and quotations |
| PR2937-2961 |
Shakespeare,
William - Authorship |
| PR2965-3088 |
Shakespeare,
William - Criticism & interpretation |
| PR3091-3112 |
Shakespeare,
William - Dramatic representation of Shakespeare's plays |
| DA20-690 |
England
(670 Local history and description, 675-689 London) |
| Z8811 |
Shakespeare,
William - General |
| Z8812 |
Shakespeare,
William - A-Z Individual works |
| Z8813 |
Shakespeare,
William - Other topics |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Important
Resources
These
sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Web Resources
 |
Complete
Works of William Shakespeare
Created by Jeremy Hylton
http://tech-two.mit.edu/Shakespeare
The Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.
This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet
community since 1993. Operated by The Tech, MIT's oldest and
largest newspaper. |
 |
Folger
Shakespeare Library
Washington, D.C.
http://www.folger.edu/Home_02b.html
"The Folger is home to the world’s largest collection of Shakespeare’s
printed works, as well as magnificent collections of other rare Renaissance
books and manuscripts on all disciplines—history and politics, theology
and exploration, law and the arts. Included in the collections are
over 280,000 books and manuscripts; 27,000 paintings, drawings, engravings,
and prints; and musical instruments, costumes, and films." |
 |
Mr.
William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
An annotated guide to Shakespeare resources on the Internent, with
links to texts of his works and materials on his life, Elizabethan
England and the theater of his time. Includes a guide to specifically-Shakespeare
search tools. |
 |
Oregon
Shakespeare Festival
Ashland, Oregon
Open February 16 through October 28
http://www.orshakes.org
"The mission of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival is to create
fresh and bold interpretations of classic and contemporary plays
in repertory, shaped by the diversity of our American culture, using
Shakespeare as our standard and inspiration." Presents classic
and contemporary drama in three theaters.
|
 |
Renaissance,
the Elizabethan World
Life in Elizabethan England: A Compendium of Common Knowledge,
1558-1603
http://renaissance.dm.net/ |
 |
Shakespeare
Illustrated
http://www.emory.edu/ENGLISH/classes/Shakespeare_Illustrated/Shakespeare.htm
Explores nineteenth-century paintings, criticism and productions of
Shakespeare's plays and their influences on one another. A digitized
collection of 18th and 19th century line drawings and paintings represents
numerous scenes from most of Shakespeare's plays. |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
| |
 |
Page
developed by:
Kimberly Willson-St. Clair
Please send comments to:
Kimberly Willson-St. Clair |
|
Last updated:
January 24, 2002
|
| |