PSU Library Logo
 
 

Adult Education

   
Resources of interest for research in postsecondary, adult and continuing education

See also related guides Education

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Other Important Resources   |  Subject Headings   |  Call Numbers
Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

 

book International higher education : an encyclopedia
book International encyclopedia of adult education and training
book The Encyclopedia of higher education
book International encyclopedia of higher education

Go to top of page

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
psu-only access via the web Mental Measurements Yearbook
book Tests in Print
book Test Critiques
book The law of higher education : a comprehensive guide to legal implications of administrative decision making
book The handbook of student affairs administration
book Handbook of distance education
book Peterson's directory of college & university administrators
book Higher education directory

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web

Education Full Text
Citations and some full text for articles drawn from ~450 core education research and professional journals and magazines.

psu-only access via the web Professional Development Collection
~500 journals and magazines for educators
psu-only access via the web

ERIC (Ebscohost)

www source Ask ERIC interface

www source Online ERIC Thesaurus

Primary database for education research literature; journal articles as well as unpublished research reports, conference papers, lesson plans, instruments, and other documents.

book Higher education abstracts
Citations to journal articles in the core higher education research journals.
psu-only access via the web PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, book chapters and disserations in psychology and its related subdisciplines.

Go to top of page

 

   

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in adult education are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

 

psu-only access via the web Academe
psu-only access via the web Change
psu-only access via the web Chronicle of Higher Education
psu-only access via the web Journal of College Student Development
psu-only access via the web NASPA Journal
psu-only access via the web New directions for adult and continuing education
psu-only access via the web New directions for community colleges
psu-only access via the web New directions for higher education
psu-only access via the web New directions for institutional research
psu-only access via the web New directions for student services
psu-only access via the web Review of Higher Education

 

   

Important Resources

These sources don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.

 

www source National Center for Education Statistics
www source Association for the Study of Higher Education
www source Student Affairs.com
www source Archives of the ERIC clearinghouse on Adult, Career and Vocational Education
www source Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education: State Policy Inventory Database Online

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search Vikat for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in adult education. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
African Americans -- Education (Higher) Adult Education
College Student Development College Students
Counseling in Higher Education Education, Higher -- Administration
Education, Higher Education, Higher -- Economic Aspects
Experiential Learning Professional Education
Distance Education Adult Learning

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
LB 2300 - 2391 Higher Education, Institutions and Aspects
LC 5201 - 6660 Adult Education
LC 5800 Distance Education

 

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

  PSU Library Home

Please send comments to:
Sarah Beasley

 

Last updated: