PSU Library Logo
 
 

African Studies

   
This guide provides an overview of resources related to African Studies. All of the items listed below are available in PSU's Millar Library.

See also related guides Art History | Foreign Languages | History | Literature | Music | Political Science

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Other Important Resources   |  Subject Headings   |  Call Numbers
Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources

Within this page the following symbols are used: book denotes books; cd rom denotes CD-ROM resources; psu-only access via the web denotes PSU-licensed Web resources; denotes generally-accessible Web resources.

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. A great place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. (1999)
DT14 .A37435 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference
Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film.
PN1993.5 .A65 C66 2001 | 2nd Floor Reference
Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara.
DT351 .E53 1997 | 2nd Floor Reference
cd rom Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions.
BL2462.5 .E53 2001 | 2nd Floor Reference
Encyclopedia of African peoples.
DT15 .E53 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference
Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa: archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environments.
DT2 .E53 1997 | 2nd Floor Reference

Go to top of page

 

   

Reference Works

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
Africa: a guide to reference material.
Z3501 .M3 1993 | 2nd Floor Reference
Africa contemporary record; annual survey and documents. (1968/9- )
DT30 .A35 1968/69-1984/85 | Storage
DT30 .A35 1985/86- | Basement
DT30 .A35 1992-94 | 2nd Floor Reference
Africa south of the Sahara. (1972- )
DT351 .A37 | 2nd Floor Reference
An African biographical dictionary.
DT18 .B76 1994 |
2nd Floor Reference
African literature and its times.
PL8010 .M65 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference
The African studies companion : a resource guide & directory.
DT19.8 .Z45 1997 | 2nd Floor Reference
The companion to African literatures.
PR9340 .C65 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference
Cultural atlas of Africa.
G2446 .E6 C8 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference
Historical dictionary of South Africa.
DT1772 .S38 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference
psu-only access via the web

The Middle East and North Africa. (1964/5- )
DS49 .M5 | Current edition- 2nd Floor Reference

DS49 .M5 | Older editions- Basement

Pan-African chronology : a comprehensive reference to the Black quest for freedom in Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Asia.
E185.18 .J46 1996 | 2nd Floor Reference

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
African music : a bibliographical guide to the traditional, popular, art, and liturgical musics of Sub-Saharan Africa.
ML120 .A35 G7 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference
Access to African-American Studies.
African international relations : an annotated bibliography.
Z6465 .A36 A36 1997 | 2nd Floor Reference
Anthropological Literature. (late 1800s- )
Apartheid : a selective annotated bibliography, 1979-1987.
Z3608 .R3 P93 1990 | 2nd Floor Reference
Bibliography of African literatures.
Z6514 .C7 A38 1996 | 2nd Floor Reference

Contemporary African politics and development : a comprehensive bibliography, 1981-1990.
Z7165 .A4 C66 1994 | 2nd Floor Reference
Electronic Book
www source A Current bibliography on African affairs. (1967- )
Z3503 .C8 | 2nd Floor Reference
Historical Abstracts. (1969- )
Human Relations Area File (HRAF).
Humanities Index. (1975- )
AI3 .H8 | 2nd Floor Reference
International African bibliography. (1979-1994)
Z3503 .I5 | 2nd Floor Reference
Northern Africa : a guide to reference and information sources.
Z3515 .S57 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service). (1972- )

Reference guide to Africa : a bibliography of sources.
Z3501 .K15 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference
Electronic Book
The Third World. Africa.
Z7164 .A2 P78 | 2nd Floor Reference
World News Connection.

Go to top of page

 

   

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in African Studies are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

 

Africa Today. (1990-present in Academic Search Premier)
(1999 to present in Project Muse)
African Affairs. (2000- )
African and Asian Studies. (2002- 1 year ago)
African Studies. (7/01/1999- 1 year ago)
Journal of African History. (1997- )
Journal of Asian and African Studies. (1/1/2002-)
(7/1/1993-11/1/2001)
Journal of Black Studies. (1970-2000 in JSTOR)
(1999- in SwetsWise)
Northeast African Studies. (1999-)
Research in African Literatures. (1993- in Academic Search Premier) (Fall 1999- in Project Muse)
Transition. (1961-1999 in JSTOR)
(2000-2001 in Project Muse)

Go to top of page

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in African Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk. 
 
Africa [region, e.g. East, West, Central, South, North, or Sub Saharan]
Africa AIDS
Africa Bibliography
Africa Economic Assistance
Africa Economic Policy
Africa Ethnology
Africa Foreign Relations
Africa History
African Languages
African Literature
Africans
Art African
Music Africa

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
BL2390-2490 History and principles of African religions
DT History of Africa
G2445-2739 Atlases of Africa
G8200-8904 Maps of Africa
GN643-659 Ethnology of African peoples
HC800-905 Economic conditions in Africa
JQ1870-3981 Political institutions and public administration in Africa
JV8790-9025 Emigration and immigration- Africa
ML350 History and criticism of African music
PL8000-8844 Languages and literatures of Africa
Z3501-3975 National bibliographies- Africa

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
African Development Foundation. Established by Congress in 1980.
African Studies Association.
USAID in Africa. United States Agency for International Development.

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

African studies center. University of Pennsylvania School of Arts and Sciences.
African studies library resources. University Libraries @ Ohio University.
African Studies Resources. Columbia University
African Studies Resources. Princeton University
AfricaOnline.
Black Studies. Portland State University.
Country studies: Area handbook series. Library of Congress.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
A digital media collection from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
Online Library Catalogs on Black Studies. Cornell University.

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

  PSU Library Home
Page developed by:
Heather Houser
Please send comments to:
Elizabeth Howell

 

Last updated: