PSU Library logo

 

Ancient Egypt

 

The study of ancient Egypt is interdisciplinary. Research crosses the curriculum including the fields of archaeology, anthropology, history, religion, art, architecture, literature and black studies.

This subject guide includes literature pertaining to Coptic Studies.

See also related guides: Art History

 

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
3 volumes
edited by Donald B. Redford
DT58 .O94 2001 vol. 1(Reference).

Provides extensive scholarly coverage of Egyptology. Includes bibliographies, maps, & illustrations.

book

Oxford History of Ancient Egypt
edited by Ian Shaw
DT83 .O95 2000

Reaches beyond archeology to present what we know about the social, political, religious, cultural, and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization.

book

Coptic encyclopedia
8 volumes
edited by Aziz S. Atiya
BX130.5 .C66 1991(Reference).

book

 

 

psu-only access via the web

[Grove's] Dictionary of Art
edited by Jane Turner, 34 vols.
N31 .D5 1996 (Reference).

Represents the work of more than 6,800 international scholars.

Grove's Dictionary of Art Online

Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts; painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day.

 

book

Encyclopedia of World Art
edited by Bernard S. Myers, 17 vols.
N31.E533 (Reference).

book

Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Margaret Bunson.
DT58 .B96 1991 (Reference).
Includes bibliography, and index.

book

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Edited by Tim Murray
3 volumes
CC100 .E54 2001

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists
Edited by Tim Murray

2 volumes
CC110 .E54 1999

book

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt
edited by Kathryn A. Bard
DT58 .E53 1999
Includes bibliography, index, and maps.

Go to top of page

 

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

book

Atlas of Ancient Egypt
John Baines and Jaromír Málek.
DT56.9 .B34
Includes index.

book

Atlas of Ancient Egypt
The Egypt Exploration Society. (1864)
DT50 .E32

Includes complete index, geographical and historical notes, Biblical references, and maps. Special publication of the Egypt exploration fund.

book

Atlas of Classical History
Michael Grant. G1033 .G65 1994 (Reference)

Covers the Near East, ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome; shows the period between 1700 BC and 565 AD.

book Cambridge History of Egypt, 2 vols.
DT94 .C36 1998

Includes illustrations, maps, bibliographic references and index.
v. 1. Islamic Egypt, 640-1517 / edited by Carl F. Petry -- v. 2. Modern Egypt, from 1517 to the end of the twentieth century / edited by M.W. Daly.

book

Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
Ian Shaw and Paul Nicholson
In association with The British Museum
DT58 .S55 1995

book

 

Dictionary of African Mythology
Harold Shueb
Oxford University Press 2000
BL2400 .S24 2000

book

Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses
George Hart
BL2450 .G6 H37 1986 (Reference).
Includes bibliography.

book

Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt: an illustrated dictionary
Barbara Cummings
Translated from the German by Manfred Lurker
BL2428 .L8713 1980 (Reference).

book

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
Morris L. Bierbrier
DT83 .B56 1999 (Reference).

book

Oxford History Of Ancient Egypt
edited By Ian Shaw
DT83 .O94 2000
Includes bibliography, index, and maps.

book

Who's Who in Egyptian Mythology?
Edited and revised by Robert Steven Bianchi
Illustrated by Anthony S. Mercatante
BL24268 .M47 (Reference).

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

psu-only access via the web

Anthropological Literature

Describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.

book

 

psu-only access via the web

 

 

psu-only access via the web

Art Index
1929 -
Z5937 .A78

Art Index Full Text
1984-

Subject areas indexed include archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, museology, photography, and related fields. (Reference).

Art Index Retrospective
1929-1984

Comprehensive, retrospective indexing from Art Index. All personal names, uniform titles, organization names, topical terms, and geographic names have been reconciled with current Art Index headings.

List of Journals in Art Index held by PSU.

psu-only access via the web

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1930 -

Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation as well as architecture.

Journals indexed in the Avery Index held by PSU.

book

 

 

psu-only access via the web

Humanities index - 1975 - Present
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

Humanities index online - 1984 - Present

Journals in Humanities Index held by PSU.

psu-only access via the web

JSTOR

Holds the full text of 117 scholarly journals in Arts & Sciences I Collection, 7 in the General Science Collection, and 29 in the Ecology & Botany Collection. The anthropology, literature and history journal selections will retrieve relevant results.

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research about Ancient Egypt.. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
 

 

Art, Ancient-Egyptian

 

Art-Egypt-History

 

Art, Egyptian

 

Coptic Church--History

 

Coptic--Egypt--History

 

Egypt-Antiquities-[literary types; i.e. encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases]

 

Egypt-Civilization-To 332 B.C.

 

Egypt-History-To 332 B.C.

 

Egypt-Religion

 

Gospel of Thomas (Coptic Gospel)--Criticism, interpretation

 

Mythology, Egyptian

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

 

CC 1-960 Archaeology ( general)

 

BL2428 - Religion

 

BX133-139 - Coptic Church

 

DT43-154 - History

 

N5300-7418 - History of Art

 

NA190-1614 - History. Historical monuments.

 

PJ1001-2199 - Egyptian. Coptic.

 

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
 

American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE)
P. O. Box 11352
Berkeley, CA 94712-2352

www source

American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE)
Harville 347, Box 10,
The University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210076
Tucson, AZ 85721
http://w3.arizona.edu/~egypt/ARCE_AZ.htm

 

Ancient Egypt Studies Association
927 NE 175th Avenue
Portland, Oregon 97230
(503) 257 2937

www source The Archaeological Institute of America
Boston University
656 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02215-2010
(617) 353-9361 or (617)353.6550
http://www.theglyph.com/
 

Wilbour Library of Egyptology
Brooklyn Museum Art Reference Library

200 Eastern Pkwy
Brooklyn, NY 11238
718-638-5000 x309
Reference: 718-638-5000 x310
Fax: 718-638-3731

www source

Okeanos
Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Centers, Societies, and Organizations

http://faculty.washington.edu/snoegel/okeanos7.html

www source Egypt Exploration Society
3 Doughty Mews
London, WC1N 2PG
telephone 0171-242 1880
Fax: 0171-404 6118
http://www.britac.ac.uk/institutes/egypt/
www source

Institute of Egyptian Art & Archaeology
3750 Norriswood Avenue
Communication and Fine Arts Bldg, Rm. 142
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: 901/678-2555
Fax: 901/678-5118
http://www.memphis.edu/egypt/main.html

 

Go to top of page

 

Important Resources

These texts are a myriad of critical resources about different aspects of Egyptology.

book

Art of Ancient Egypt
Gay Robins.
N5350 .R63

A comprehensive overview of ancient Egyptian art with photographs. Includes index and bibliography.

book

Egyptian treasures from the Egyptian Museum in Cairo
edited by Francesco Tiradritti;
photographs by Araldo De Luca.
N5336 .E3 C37 1999 OVERSIZE

book

Egypt : yesterday and today / lithographs by David Roberts
text by Fabio Bourbon ; translation by A.B.A., Milano;
photographs by Antonio Attini.
Cairo, Egypt : The American University in Cairo Press, 2000.

NE2347.6 .R62 A4 2000 OVERSIZE

This text offers an interesting comparison of Robert's lithographs from the Napoleonic Revival period with contemporary photographs of historic sites including the pyramids of Giza, the Sphinx, and Abu Simbel, the colossi of Ramses II.

book

Egyptian Sculpture: Cairo and Luxor
Edna Russmann
Photographs by David Finn.
NB1296.2 .R87 1989

Edna Russman, an egyptologist from the Brooklyn Museum, views the sculptures as portraitures by examining the works found at the Cairo Musem.

book

Women in Ancient Egypt
Gay Robins.
HQ1137 .E3 R63 1993

book

Development of Ancient Egyptian Art, from 3200 to 1315 B.C.
Cyril Aldred.
N5350.A55

book

Egyptians
Cyril Aldred.
DT83 .A65 1984

book

Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt
W. Stevenson Smith.
N5350 .S5 1981

book

Complete Pyramids
Mark Lehner.
DT63 .L4 1997

Traces the development of this unique architectural structure from the mastabas to the pyramids of Giza. Includes current research and specualtions about the great Sphinx at Giza.

 

Go to top of page

 

Web Resources

www source

Ancient Egyptian Site
http://www.geocities.com/amenhotep.geo/

www source The Perseus Digital Library
Gregory Crane, Editor-in-chief
Department of the Classics
Tufts University

This site stores a continuing study of the ancient world that archives texts and images of art.
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

www source

The Oriental Institute / University of Chicago.

Click on "museum education" then "teacher resources" to access Egypt and the Ancient Near East Web Resources for Young People and Teachers.
http://www-oi.uchicago.edu/OI/default.html

www source

Columbia University - Area Studies -
African Studies and Middle Eastern Studies

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/libraries/indiv/area/Africa/AncEgypt.html

www source

The University of Memphis Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology
http://www.memphis.edu/egypt/main.html

www source

Egypt WWW Index
http://ce.eng.usf.edu/pharos/

www source

Virtual Egypt
http://www.virtual-egypt.com/newhtml/link2.htm

www source

Brown University's Department of Egyptology
http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Egyptology/
Offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in Egyptology.

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Page developed and maintained by:
Kimberly Willson-St. Clair

Updated: October 25, 2002

 

 
Last updated: