Applied Linguistics

 
See related guide: ESL/Bilingual Education

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings   |     Call Numbers  |   Organizations & Societies | Other Important Resources 

 

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language, 2nd ed.
by David Crystal
P29 .C64 1997 (Reference)

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
ed. by R. E. Asher, 10 vols.
P29 .E48 1994 (Reference)
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
ed. by William Bright, 4 vols.
P29 .I58 1992 (Reference)
The Linguistics Encyclopedia
ed. by Kristen Malmkjær
P29 .L52 1991 (Reference)
Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics
ed. by Bernard Spolsky
P40.8 .C66 1999 (Reference)
International Encyclopedia of Communications
ed. by Erik Barnouw, 4 vols.
P87.5 .I5 1989 (Reference)
From Talking Drums to the Internet : an Encyclopedia of Communications Technology
by Robert Gardner and Dennis Shortelle
P96 .T42 G374 1997 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Semiotics
ed. by Paul Bouissac
P99 .E64 1998 (Reference)
Concise Encyclopedia of Pragmatics
ed. by Jacob L. Mey
P99.4 .P72 C62 1998 (Reference)
Concise Encyclopedia of Grammatical Categories
ed. by Keith Brown and Jim Miller
P240.5 .C66 1999 (Reference)
Concise Encyclopedia of Syntactic Theories
ed. by Keith Brown and Jim Miller
P291 .C575 1996 (Reference)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
ed. by Mona Baker
P306 .R68 1998 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe
ed. by Glanville Price
P380 .E53 1998 (Reference)

Go to top of page  

 

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
Hadumod Bussmann
P29 .B875 1996 (Reference)
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
David Crystal, 4th ed.
P29 .C65 1997 (Reference)
An Encyclopedia Dictionary of Language and Languages
David Crystal
P29 .C68 1992 (Reference)
Dictionary of Languages : the Definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages
Andrew Dalby
P29 .D35 1998 (Reference)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Sciences of Language
Oswald Ducrot and Tzvetan Todorov
P29 .D813 (Reference)
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
Peter Matthews
P29 .M34 1997 (Reference)
A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
R. L. Trask
P29 .T69 1997 (Reference)
Community Languages : a Handbook
Barbara M. Horvath And Paul Vaughn
P40 .H69 1991 (Reference)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics
ed. by Thomas A. Sebeok, 3 vols
P99 .E65 1986 (Reference)
International Handbook of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
ed. by Christina Bratt Paulston
P115 .I58 1988 (Reference)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics : a Handbook for Language Teaching
ed. by Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson
P129 .E53 1998 (Reference)
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics
ed. by Jack C. Richards, John Platt and Heidi Platt
P129 .R5 1992 (Reference)
A Dictionary of Grammatical Terms in Linguistics
R. L. Trask
P152 .T7 1993 (Reference)
A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology
R. L. Trask
P216 .T73 1996 (Reference)
The Study of Names : a Guide to the Principles and Topics
Frank Nuessel
P323 .N84 1992 (Reference)
A Dictionary of Stylistics
Katie Wales
P301 .W35 1989 (Reference)
Dictionary of Lexicography
R. R. K. Hartmann and Gregory James
P327 .H37 1998 (Reference)

The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed.
PE1625 .O87 1989 (Ready Reference)

The Oxford English Dictionary Second Edition on Compact Disc
PE1625 .O87 1992, CD-ROM (Reference)
Linguistics: a Guide to the Reference Literature
Anna L. DeMiller, 2nd ed.
Z7001 .D45 2000 (Reference)

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973-present)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ) (1967-present)
P1 .L15 (Reference)

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language and linguistics including: Anthropological Linguistics, Applied Linguistics, Descriptive Linguistics, Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics, Hearing and Speech Physiology, Hearing - Pathological and Normal, History of Linguistics, Interpersonal Behavior and Communication, Language Classificatio, Language - Pathological and Normal, Learning Disabilities, Lexicography / Lexicology, Mental Retardation, Morphology, Nonverbal Communication, Orthography, Writing Systems, Philosophy of Language, Phonetics, Phonology, Poetics / Literary Theory, Psycholinguistics, Psychometrics, Semantics, Semiotics, Sociolinguistics, Special Education, Syntax, Theory of Linguistics, and Typology.
Linguistics Abstracts (1985-present)
P1 .A1 L5123 (Reference Tables)

Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.
Linguistic Bibliography for the Year …and Supplement for Previous Years (1939-1995)
Z7001 .P4 (Reference)

Valuable for its worldwide coverage of the field of linguistics.
Language Teaching (vol. 15, 1982-present)
P51 .L33
MLA International Bibliography (1963-present)

MLA International Bibliography (1921-present)
Z7006 .M64 (Reference)

MLA Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. From the Modern Language Association.
Dissertation abstracts international. (Dissertations 1861-present; Masters Theses, 1988-present)

Humanities Index


Humanities index (April, 1974-present)
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

Humanities index (1984-present)
CD-ROM (Reference)
Journals indexed in Humanities index held by PSU.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1974-present)
AI3 .A75 (Reference)

Allows searching of references cited in books and journal articles as well as author, title and subject searching.
Biography Index
Z5301 .B5 (Reference)

Indexes biographical information appearing in more than 2,700 periodicals and books of individual and collected biographies
Essay and General Literature Index

Essay and general literature index (1900-1996)
AI3 .E752 (Reference)

Essay and general literature index (1985-present)
CD-ROM (Reference)
Education Index (1929-2000)
Z5813 .E23 (Reference)
WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer

Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject, year, language, material type.
Academic Search Premier (1984-present)

Provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and current affairs.
ArticleFirst (1990-present)

Contains nearly two million bibliographic records from the tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals, covering a broad range of subjects including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Most journals in ArticleFirst have been indexed from 1990 to the present.
ContentsFirst (1990-present)

Contains approximately two million bibliographic records from the tables of contents more than 13,000 journals, covering a broad range of subjects, including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Most journals in ContentsFirst have been indexed from 1990 to the present.
Education Abstracts Full Text (1983-present)

Coverage of 423 core periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in the field of education.
ERIC (1976-present)

ERIC indexes journal articles and documents in the field of education and includes information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education).
PsychINFO (1889-present)

PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
Sociological Abstracts (1963-present)

Sociological Abstracts covers the academic and professional literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Citations to journal articles published after 1974 include abstracts.

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in applied linguistics. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
 
  Grammar
  Language and Languages
  Language and Culture
  Languages, Modern
  Language Acquisition
  Second Language Acquisition
  Language and Education
  Bilingualism
  Education, Bilingual
  Linguistics
  Computational linguistics
  Psycholinguistics
  Sociolinguistics
  Translating and interpreting
  English language Foreign speakers (ESL)
  Philology
  Speech Acts
  Semiotics
  Pragmatics
  Semantics

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
  P Philology. Linguistics.
  P1-85 General Philology. Linguistics.
  P98-98.5 Computational linguistics. Natural language processing.
  P99.5-99.6 Nonverbal communication.
  P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar.
  P118-118.7 Language acquisition.
  P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics)
  P201-299 Comparative Grammar
  P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric
  P302-302.87 Discourse analysis
  P306-310 Translating and interpreting
  P321-324.5 Etymology
  P325-325.5 Semantics
  P326-326.5 Lexicology
  P327-327.5 Lexicography
  P375-381 Linguistic geography
  P501-769 Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology
  P901-1091 Extinct ancient or medieval languages
  PA1-199 Classical philology
  PA201-899 Greek philology and language
  PA1000-1179 Medieval and modern Greek language
  PA2001-2915 Latin philology and language
  PB Modern European languages
  PC Romance languages
  PD Germanic languages
  PE English
  PF West Germanic
  PG Slavic. Baltic, Albanian languages and literature.
  PH Finno-Ugrian, Basque languages and literature
  PJ1-2594 Oriental languages and literatures
  PJ3001-9293 Semitic
  PK Indo-Iranian
  PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
  PM Hyperborean, Indian, and Artificial languages

 

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
Scholarly Societies Project: Language & Linguistics
http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/langling_soc.html
University Linguistics Departments, Programs and Centers (U. of Rochester)
http://www.ling.rochester.edu/links/departments.html
The List of Language Lists: Computer E-mail Lists for Individual Languages
http://www.egt.ie/langlist.html

 

Go to top of page 

 

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
Portraits of Linguists : a Biographical Source Book for the History of Western Linguistics, 1746-1963
ed. by Thomas A. Sebeok, 2 vols.
P83. S4 (Reference)
Classification and Index of the World's Languages
C. F and F. M. Voegelin
P203 .V6 (Reference)
Handbook of Scripts and Alphabets
George L. Campbell
P211 .C25 1997 (Reference)
The Alphabet ABECEDARIUM : Some Notes on Letters
Richard A. Firmage
P211 .F6 1993 (Reference)
Phonetic Symbol Guide
Geoffrey K. Pullum and William A. Ladusaw
P221 .P85 1986 (Reference)
Compendium of the World's Languages
George L. Campbell, 2 vols.
P371 .C36 1991 (Reference)
Book Review Index. (1965-present)
Z1035 .A1 B6 (Reference)
Book Review Digest (vol. 51, 1955-present)
Z1219 .C95 (Reference)
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities (1960-1990)
Z1035 .A1 I63 (Reference)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974, 10 vols.
Z1035 .A1 C65 (Reference)
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974, 15 vols.
Z1035 .A1 C64 (Reference)
The Applied Linguistics WWW Virtual Library
http://alt.venus.co.uk/VL/AppLingBBK/welcome.html
iLoveLanguages
http://www.ilovelanguages.com
The Linguist List
http://www.emich.edu/~linguist/
Linguistic Links (University of Rochester)
http://www.ling.rochester.edu/linglinks.html
Stanford University Center for the Study of Language and Information
http://www-csli.stanford.edu/
Haskins Laboratories at Yale University http://www.haskins.yale.edu/haskins/about.html

Focuses on the biological bases of speech and language.
Ethnologue
http://www.sil.org/ethnologue/

Contains the entire printed text of the printed volumes (except language maps) of the Ethnologue Language Name Index and the Ethnologue Language Family Index.
Universal Survey of Languages
http://www.teleport.com:80/~napoleon/

An evolving general survey of the world's languages, with a section on invented languages and a natural language index.
Yamada Language Center Language Guides
http://babel.uoregon.edu/yamada/guides.html
Constructed Human Languages
http://www.quetzal.com/conlang.html

Information on and links to other sites concerning Esperanto, Xaini, Klingon, etc.

 

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

Return to top 

 

   
Page developed and by:
Robert Westover


 
Last updated: