|
Architecture
|
| |
|
This guide
is highly selective and is designed to provide an overview of some of
the general reference materials in Architecture. All items listed are
available in Millar Library.
Within
this page the following symbols are used:
to denote books;
to denote cd-rom resources; to denote PSU licensed
web resources; and
to denote generally accessible internet resources.
Items having this background color
are particularly important resources.
See also related guides Art History |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Reference
Sources - A Selective List
Encyclopedias,
handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, and thesauri; overviews,
backgrounds, and detailed or procedural information specific to the
subject areas addressed.
 |
The
Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
Copyright held by the J. Paul Getty Trust.
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/
The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 125,000 terms, scope
notes, and other information for describing fine art, architecture,
decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.
|
 |
Art
Information: Research Methods and Resources
Lois Swan Jones
N95 .J64 1990 (Reference)
A good introduction to finding art information. Use its table of
contents and index to locate resources you might use which are not
listed below.
|
 |
Art
Information and the Internet: How to Find it, How to Use it
Lois Swan Jones
N59 .J66 1999 |
 |
The
Elements of Style, a Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural
Details from 1485 to the Present
NA2850 .E44 1996 (Reference) |
 |
Encyclopedia
of Architecture: Design, Engineering, & Construction,
Edited by Joseph A. Wilkes &
Robert T. Packard, 4 vols.
NA31 .E59 1988 (Reference).
Includes bibliography.
|
 |
Encylopedia
of Vernacular Architecture of the World, 3 vols.
NA208 .E53 1997 (Reference) |
 |
Encyclopedia
of World Art
Edited by Bernard S. Myers, 17
vols.
N31 .E533 (Reference).
|
 |
The
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
(TGN)
Copyright held by the The J. Paul Getty Trust.
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/tgn/
The TGN is a structured vocabulary of around 1,000,000 geographic
names, including vernacular and historical names, coordinates, and
place types, and focusing on places important for the study of art
and architecture. |
 |
[Grove's]
Dictionary of Art
Edited by Jane Turner, 34 vols.
N31 .D5 1996 (Reference).
Represents the work of more than 6,800 international scholars. |
 |
Grove's
Dictionary of Art Online
Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts; painting,
sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography
from prehistory to the present day. |
| Bibliographies |
 |
American
Architects from the Civil War to the First World War, a Guide to Information
Resources
Z5944
.U5 W63 (Reference)
|
 |
American
Architects from the First World War to the Present [1977], A Guide
to Information Resources
Z5944
.U5 W635 (Reference)
|
 |
Architecture
Sourcebook, a Guide to Resources on the Practice of Architecture
Z5943
.A72 A75 1997 (Reference)
|
 |
Arts
in America: a Bibliography
Edited by Bernard Karpel
Z5961 .U5 A77 1979b (Reference)
|
 |
Bibliography
of the History of Art (BHA)
Z5937 .B53 (Reference) |
 |
Guide
to the Literature of Art History
Etta Arntzen & Robert Rainwater
Z5931 .A67 (Reference) |
 |
Landscape
Architecture Sourcebook, a Guide to Resources on the History and Practice
of Landscape Architecture in the United States
Z5996.5
.U6 L36 1997 (Reference) |
| Biography |
 |
Contemporary
Architects
NA680
.C625 1994 (Reference) |
 |
International
Dictionary of Architects and Architecture,
2 vols.
NA40 .I48 1993 (Reference) |
 |
Makers
of 20th Century Modern Architecture: a Bio-critical sourcebook
NA680
.J628 1997 (Reference)
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
 |
Architectural
Grapic Standards
(CD ROM)
TH2031 .R35 1996 (Reference)
|
 |
The
Architectural Index
(Published annually, covers 9 to 12 mainstrean U.S. architecture journals.)
Z5941 .A66 (Reference Index) |
 |
ARTbibliographies
Modern
1974 - Present
Provides abstracts for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition
catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of
modern and contemporary art. Subject coverage includes modern and
contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including
photography since its invention. |
 |
Art
Index -
1929 - Present
Z5937.A78 (3rd floor reference)
Published by H.W. Wilson. Broad coverage that includes archaeology,
architecture, art history, arts and crafts, city planning, fine arts,
graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape design,
photography, and film.
Journals
in Art Index held by PSU. |
 |
Art
Full Text
Coverage: Indexing, 1984-present; Abstracts,1994-present;
Full Text, 1997-present (list
of journals included in full text)
Online acces to Art Index.
Journals
in Art Index held by PSU.
Subject areas indexed include archaeology, architecture, art history,
city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial
design, landscape architecture, museology, photography, and related
fields.
"Art Full Text provides indexing and abstracting
of art periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage
for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles,
Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear
in indexed periodicals."
|
 |
Art
Index Retrospective
1929-1984
Online access to Wilson's Art Index.
Journals
in Art Index held by PSU. |
 |
The
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1930 - Present
Journals
in Avery Index held by PSU.
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology,
city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well
as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage
dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural
Periodicals is updated daily. |
 |
The
Burnham Index to Architectural Literature, 10 vols.
(Based on the holding of the Burnham Library of Architecture at the
Art Institute of Chicago, this index covers the field of architecture
going back to 1919. Overlap with the Avery Index is less than 3% before
1934 and 30% after that date.)
Z5944 .U5 B87 1989 (Reference) |
 |
EBSCOhost
Academic Search Elite - Provides full
text for nearly 1,380 journals covering the social sciences, humanities,
general science, multi-cultural studies, and education. |
 |
EI
(Engineering Index) Compendex Web, 1970-
(Indexes and abstracts engineering and technical literature worldwide.) |

 |
Humanities
Index
Humanities
Index
1975- Present
AI3 .H8 (Reference)
Journals
in Humanities Index held by PSU.
A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields
indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies,
folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy,
religion and theology, and related subjects.
|

 |
Readers'
Guide Retrospective
Reader's
Guide to Periodical Literature
(Includes general articles on architecture.)
AI3 .R4 (Reference Index) |

|
Social
Sciences Index, (1974-1996)
Z7163 .S6
Social
Science Index |
 |
World
Architecture Index, a Guide to Illustrations
NA202 .T4 1991 (Reference Index) |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Important
Resources
These sources
don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
 |
Worldwide
Art Catalog Collection
The
Library receives catalogs from major art exhibitions all over the
world, including exhibits of the work of architects.
The
catalogs are classified at N405 W6. Each one has an individual accession
number by which it can be located on the shelf. The Worldwide
Bibliography of Art Exhibition Catalogs (3 vols.) on the Index
Table at Z5939 .W675 1992
is
an index to the collection up to 1987. |
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
| NA
1-9428
Architecture |
| NA
190-1614 History.
Historical Monuments |
| NA
2695-2793 Architectural
design and drawing |
| NA
2835-4050 Architectural
details, motives, decoration, etc. |
| NA
4100-8480 Special
classes of buildings |
| NA
9000-9428 Aesthetics
of cities. City planning and beautification |
| HT
101-395 Urban
Sociology. The City |
| HT
390-395 Regional
Planning |
| SB
469-476.4
Landscape
|
|
TH
1-9745
Building Construction
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Web
Resources
 |
Architecture
Studies Library
www.library.nevada.edu/arch/rsrce/webrsrce/contents.html
A
directory of architecture related sites, arranged into categories. |
 |
Art
History: Resources on the Web
Chris Whitcombe
Sweet Briar College
http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
Online since October 24, 1995. Covers current links to authoritative
sites about world art history. An award winning site for research,
learning, and innovation.
|
 |
Art
Source
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
This selective site is a a gathering point for networked resources
on Art and Architecture. Includes pointers to resources around the
net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists,
and art historians.
|
 |
Cyburbia:
Internet resources for the built environment
http://www.cyburbia.org/
|
 |
The
Great Buildings Collection
http://www.GreatBuildings.com/gbc.html
This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents
a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models,
photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies,
web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
|
 |
The
Worldwide Web Virtual Library: Architecture-Resources
http://www.clr.utoronto.ca./VIRTUALLIB/arch.html
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
| |
 |
Page
developed and maintained by:
Send comments to:
John Burchard |
|
Last updated:
|