PSU Library logo

Anthropology/Archaeology Resources

 

 

Encyclopedias | Reference sources | Databases | Electronic journals | Important Resources | Subject Headings | Call Numbers | Web Sources

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters & Gatherers (1999). Lee, R. and R. Daly. eds. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press. GN388 .C35 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology (1999). Barker, G. ed. London; New York: Routledge. 2 Vols. CC70 .C59 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt (1999). Bard, K. ed. London; New York: Routledge. DT58 .E53 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (1996). Levinson, D. and M. Ember. eds. New York: Henry Holt and Co. 4 Vols. GN307 .E52 1996 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism (1994). Auerbach, S. ed. New York: Marshall Cavendish. Six Vols. E184 .A1 E58 1994 | 2nd Floor Reference Area

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (1991). Levinson, D. ed. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall. 10 Vols. GN307 .E53 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference

The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (1998). Malinowksy, S. and A. Sheets. eds. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 4 Vols. E77 .G15 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference.

Return to top

Reference Books

Atlas of Archaeology (1998). Aston, M. and T. Taylor. New York: DK Pub. CC165 .A75 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference

Dictionary of Anthropology (1997). Barfield, T. ed. Oxford; Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell. GN307 .D485 1997 | 2nd Floor Reference

Dictionary of Archaeology (1999). Shaw, I. and R. Jameson. eds. Oxford, UK; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publishers. CC70 .D53 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (1991). Winthrop, R. New York: Greenwood Press. GN307 .W56 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference

Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology (1991). Stevenson, J. New York: Greenwood Press. GN 503 .S74 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology (2000). Kipfer, B. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum. CC70 .K56 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America (1975). Murdock, G. and T. O'Leary. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files Press. 4th ed. 5 Vols. Z1209.2 .N67 M87 1975 | 2nd Floor Reference

Oxford Companion to Archaeology (1996). Fagan, B. ed in chief. Beck, C. [et al.] New York: Oxford University Press. CC70 .O96 1996 | 2nd Floor Reference

Statistical Record of Native North Americans (1995). Reddy, M. ed. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale. E98 .P76S73 1995 | 2nd Floor Reference

Return to top

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

Abstracts in Anthropology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. GN1 .A15 | 2nd Floor Reference.

America: History and Life:
and America: History and Life. ABC-Clio Information Services. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio. Z1236 .A48 | 2nd Floor Reference

Historical Abstracts.
and Historical abstracts. Part A, Modern history abstracts, 1450-1914 and Historical abstracts. Part B, Twentieth century abstracts, 1914-. D299 .H5 | 2nd Floor Reference Shelves

Anthropological Literature

Bibliography of Native North Americans

GeoRef

Human Relations Area Files HRAF

Sociological Abstracts

Return to top

Electronic Journals

The following journals can be found online through the Electronic Journals listing. Use this link http://wq5rp2ll8a.search.serialssolutions.com/ and search journals by title to access the electronic version of the periodical. The following is not a comprehensive list of Anthropology journals online.

African Archaeological Review is available from 12/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier and from 1997 to present in Kluwer Journals Online.

Anthropological Forum is available from 05/01/1999 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier.

Anthropological Quarterly is available as follows: [from 01/01/1990 to present in Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Elite] [from 2000 to present in Project Muse]

Anthropology & Education Quarterly is available from 1998 to present in Education Full Text.

Anthropology & Medicine is available as follows: [from 04/01/1998 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Elite]

Anthropology Today is available as follows: [from 06/01/1996 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Elite] [from 1985 to 1998 in JSTOR Arts and Sciences I Collection and JSTOR]

Annual Review of Anthropology is available from 1972 to 1998 in JSTOR and from 01/01/1972 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier.

Archaeology is available from 01/01/1999 to present in Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Elite.

Archaeology in Oceana is available from 07/01/2000 to 6 months ago in Academic Search Premier.

Archaeometry is available as follows: [from 01/01/2001 to present in Academic Search Premier] [from 1993 to present in SwetsWise]

Current Anthropology is available as follows: [from 04/01/1997 to present in University of Chicago Press] [from 10/01/1990 to present in Academic Search Elite] [from 1959 to 1999 in JSTOR]

Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute is available as follows: [from 03/01/1995 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier] [from 1993 to 2003 in SwetsWise] [from 1995 to 1998 in JSTOR]

Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland is available from 1907 to 1965 in JSTOR Arts and Sciences I Collection and JSTOR.

Man is available from JSTOR Vols. 1-65, 1901-1965; New Series Vols. 1-29, 1966-1994. It Absorbs the Journal of the Royal Anthropoligical Insitute of Great Britain and Ireland in 1966 and is continued after 1994 by Journal of the Royal Anthropoligical Institute.

Return to top

Important Resources

Handbook of American Indians Sturtevant, W. general ed. Washington: Smithsonian Institution. 4-13, 15, 17 Vol numbers. E77 .H25 | 2nd Floor Reference

CultureGrams Sims, S. managing ed. Orem, UT: CultureGrams. GT150 .C85 | 2nd Floor Reference

Outline of Cultural Materials (1987). Murdock, G. New Haven, Conn.: Human Relations Area Files, HRAF. 5th ed. GN345.3 .O95 1987 | 2nd Floor Reference

Outline of World Cultures (1975). Murdock, G. New Haven, Conn.: Human Relations Area Files, HRAF. 5th ed. GN345.3 .O95 1975 | 2nd Floor Reference

Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library & Museum Collections (1999). Dutton, L. ed. New York: Garland. GN14 .A77 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in anthropology. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 

Acculturation

Anthropology

Archaeology
Archaeogeology
Archaeological Dating

Cultural Relativism

Archaeological Expeditions
Economic Anthropology
Ethnography

Ethnology

Excavations Archaeology

Historic Sites

Hunting & Gathering Societies

Indians Antiquities

Indigenous Peoples

Kinship
Paleontology

Political Anthropology

Salvage Archaeology

Social Evolution

Structural Anthropology
Urban Anthropology

Urban Archaeology

Visual Anthropology

Return to top

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

CC1-99 Archaeology

E78 Indians of North America

GN Anthropology

GR Folklore

GT Manners and Customs

Return to top


Web Resources

American Anthropological Association Homepage http://www.aaanet.org/

Anthropology Internet Resources. Bannister, J. Western Connecticut State University. Available: http://vax.wcsu.edu/socialsci/antres.html

Anthropology in the News. Texas A&M Department of Anthropology. Available: http://www.tamu.edu/anthropology/news.html

Anthropology Resources on the Internet: American Anthropological Association. Available: http://www.aaanet.org/resinet.htm

ArchNet. Archaeological Research Institute, Arizona State University. Available: http://Archnet.asu.edu

Ethnographic Studies Internet Resource Page. Library of Congress. American Folklife Center. Available: http://lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/other.html

Pacific Northwest archaeology/anthropology links. Oregon, State Museum of Anthropology Research Division, University of Oregon. Available: http://oregon.uoregon.edu/~osma/links2.html

Selected Resources on Columbia Basin Native Americans. Peigahi, R. Portland State University Library. Available: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/instruction/basinmap.html

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home
Send comments to:
Faye Powell
 
Last updated: