PSU Library logo

 

Art History

 

Sections of this guide:
Reference Sources
  |   Databases and Indexes |  
Call Numbers  |   Worldwide Art Catalog Collection

 

Reference Sources - A Selective List

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, and thesauri; overviews, backgrounds, and detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

www source

The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
Copyright held by the J. Paul Getty Trust.

http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 125,000 terms, scope notes, and other information for describing fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

book

Art Information: Research Methods and Resources
Lois Swan Jones
N95 .J64 1990 (Reference)

A good introduction to finding art information. Use its table of contents and index to locate resources you might use which are not listed below.

book Art Information and the Internet: How to Find it, How to Use it
Lois Swan Jones
N59 .J66 1999
book The Harper Collins Dictionary of Art Terms & Techniques
Ralph Mayer
N33 .M37 1992 (Reference).
book Dictionary of Women Artists
Edited by Delia Gaze, 2 vols.
N8354 .D53 1997
book

Dictionary of Women Artists: an International Dictionary of Women Artists Born before 1900
Chris Petteys.
N43 .P47 1985 (Reference).

book

Encyclopedia of World Art
Edited by Bernard S. Myers,
17 vols.
N31 .E533 (Reference).

www source The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN)
Copyright held by the The J. Paul Getty Trust.
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/tgn/

The TGN is a structured vocabulary of around 1,000,000 geographic names, including vernacular and historical names, coordinates, and place types, and focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
book [Grove's] Dictionary of Art
Edited by Jane Turner, 34 vols.
N31 .D5 1996 (Reference).

Represents the work of more than 6,800 international scholars.
psu-only access via the web Grove's Dictionary of Art Online

Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts; painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day.
book Modern Arts Criticism: Gale Research Group
1991-
N40 .M64 (Reference)

Contains biographical and critical guide to painters.
book

Oxford Companion to Art
Edited by Ian Chilvers &
Harold Osborne
N33 .O9 (Reference).

book Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Art
Edited by Harold Osborne
N6490 .O94
book Oxford Dictionary of Art
Harold Osborne
N33 .O93 1997 (Reference).
www source The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
Copyright held by the The J. Paul Getty Trust. http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/ulan/

The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 220,000 names and biographical information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
Directories--for locating art and art reproductions:
book American Art Directory
N50 .A54 1997-1998
56th ed. (Reference).
book Encyclopedia of Artist's signatures, symbols, & Monograms: Old Masters to Modern, North America, European plus more, 25,000 Examples
Compiled by Bob Creps & edited by Robert Fiallo.
N45 .C363 1999 (Reference).
book The World's Master Paintings: From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day: A Comprehensive Listing of Works by 1,300 Painters and a Complete Guide to their Locations Worldwide
Edited by Christopher Wright, 2 vols.
ND40 .W75 1992 (Reference)
Bibliographies
book Applied and Decorative Arts: a Bibliographic Worldwide Guide
Donald L. Ehresmann
Z5956 .A68 E47 (Reference)
book

Arts in America: a Bibliography
Edited by Bernard Karpel
Z5961 .U5 A77 1979b (Reference)

book Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists
Z5938 .F73 1985 (Reference)
book Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Z5937 .B53 (Reference)
book Guide to the Literature of Art History
Etta Arntzen & Robert Rainwater
Z5931 .A67 (Reference)
book

250 Years of Afro American Art: an Annotated Bibliography
Lynn Moody Igoe & James Igoe
Z5956 .A47 I38 (Reference)

Biography
book American Women Artists: from Early Indian Times to the Present
Charlotte Streifer Rubenstein
N6505 .R8 1982 (Reference).
book Contemporary Artists
Edited by Joann Cerrito
N6490 .C6567 1996 (Reference)
book Contemporary Photographers
Edited by Martin Marx Evans
TR139 .C664 1995 (Reference)
book Index to Artistic Biography
Compiled by Patricia Havlice, 2 vols.
N40 .H38 (Reference)
book Who Was Who in American Art: compiled from the Origina; Thirty-four Volumes of American Art Annual
N6512 .F26 1985 (Reference).
book Who's Who in American Art
N6536 .W5 (Reference)
book World Artists 1950-1980: an H.W. Wilson Biographical Dictionary
Edited by Claud Marks.
N6489 .M37 1984 (Reference)
book World Artists 1980-1990: an H.W. Wilson Biographical Dictionary
Edited by Claud Marks
N6489 .W67 1991 (Reference)

Go to top of page 

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journals in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library.

psu-only access via the web ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 - Present

Provides abstracts for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Subject coverage includes modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention.
book Art Index -
1929 - Present
Z5937.A78 (Reference)
List of Journals in Art Index held by PSU.

Published by H.W. Wilson. Broad coverage that includes archaeology, architecture, art history, arts and crafts, city planning, fine arts, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape design, photography, and film.
psu-only access via the web

Art Full Text
Coverage: Indexing, 1984-present; Abstracts,1994-present; Full Text, 1997-present (list of journals included in full text)
List of Journals in Art Index held by PSU.

Online access to Art Index.

Subject areas indexed include archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, museology, photography, and related fields.

"Art Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of art periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals."

psu-only access via the web Art Index Retrospective
1929-1984
Online access to Wilson's Art Index.
List of Journals in Art Index held by PSU.
psu-only access via the web EBSCOhost

Academic Search Elite - Provides full text for nearly 1,380 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education.
psu-only access via the web

book

Humanities Index

Humanities Index
1975- Present
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

book Sculpture Index
Edited by Jane Clapp.
NB36 .C55 (Reference)
book Social Sciences & Humanities Index
1965 -1974
AI3 .R49 (Reference).

Go to top of page 

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating informaiton on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

N Visual arts (general)
N5300-7418 History of art
NA Architecture
NA190-1614 History of architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Graphic arts: drawing, design, illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media: printmaking, engraving, lithographs
NK Decorative arts. Applied arts, [crafts]. Decoration and ornament.
NX Arts in general, including works dealing with two or more arts, i.e., the performing arts and the visual arts.
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts. [weaving]
BH Aesthetics
E78
E99
American Indian Art

Go to top of page 

 

World Wide Art Catalog Collection

The Library receives catalogs from major art exhibitions all over the world. The catalogs are classified at N405 W6. Each one has an individual accession number by which it can be located on the shelf. The Worldwide Bibliography of Art Exhibition Catalogs (3 vols.) on the Index Table at Z5939 .W675 1992 is an index to the collection up to 1987.

 

Go to top of page

Museum Links

www source

Virtual Library Museums Pages
"A distributed directory of on-line museums."
http://www.icom.org/vlmp/

www source Art Institute of Chicago
http://www.artic.edu/aic/
www source

George Eastman House:
International Museum of Photography and Film

900 East Avenue
Rochester, NY 14607
http://www.eastman.org/

www source

Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Vienna, Austria
http://www.khm.at/

www source The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
http://www.lacma.org/
www source Louvre Museum Official Website
Paris, France
http://www.louvre.fr/louvrea.htm
www source The Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York, New York
http://www.metmuseum.org/home.asp
www source MOMA, The Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
http://www.moma.org/
www source National Gallery of Art
Washington D. C.
http://www.nga.gov
www source Museo del Prado
Madrid, Spain
http://museoprado.mcu.es/
www source Portland Art Museum
Portland, Oregon
http://www.pam.org/
www source San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
http://www.sfmoma.org/
www source Seattle Art Museum
http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/
www source The State Hermitage Museum
St. Petersburg, Russia
http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/

Go to top of page

Web Resources

www source

Art History: Resources on the Web
Chris Whitcombe
Sweet Briar College
http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html

Online since October 24, 1995. Covers current links to authoritative sites about world art history. An award winning site for research, learning, and innovation.

www source Absolutearts.com - Daily International Arts News
http://www.absolutearts.com/

An up-to-date arts news service that includes artists' portfolios and stores archives monthly.
www source

Artsjournal.com:
The Daily Digest of Arts and Cultural Journalism.
http://www.artsjournal.com/


Links to the top 10 arts publications.

www source

Art Source
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html

This selective site is a a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. Includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians.

www source Artcyclopedia:
The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

Explores works by 7,500 famous artists in art museums and image archives worldwide.
www source The Art Newspaper
http://www.THEARTNEWSPAPER.COM/
www source Mother of all Art History Links Pages
University of Michigan Museum of Art
http://www.umich.edu/~hartspc/histart/mother/
www source AskArt
http://AskArt.com/

"The world's most comprehensive database about American artists" includes auction records, biographies, image galleries, book and periodical references, exhibitions and other imformation sources.

 

Return to Subject Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:

Send comments to:
John Burchard
 
Last updated: