PSU Library Logo
Bioethics

 

This list of resources is intended as a guide to beginning research in Bioethics at PSU Library. See also the related guide on Philosophy. All of the reference works listed here can be found on the 2nd Floor of Millar Library, in the Research and Learning Center. For help with questions relating to bioethics research, contact Jennifer Dorner, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian, at dorner@pdx.edu or 503-725-4125.

Sections of this guide:

Starting Your Research  | People & Organizations  | Finding Articles  |  Finding Books | Web Resources

  
Encyclopedias provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.


Dictionary of Medical Ethics
/ ed. by A.S. Duncan, G.R. Dunstan, and R.B. Welbourn
Location: R724 .D53 1981 PSU Shelves (5th floor)

Encyclopedia of Bioethics / ed. by Edward Craig
Location: QH332 .E52 Reference

Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology / Nigel Barber
Location: Q175.35 .B37 2002 Reference

  Section Separator
People & Organizations

American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
http://www.asbh.org/

American Society of Law, Medicine and Ethics
http://www.aslme.org/

The Hastings Center
http://www.thehastingscenter.org/

Kennedy Institute of Ethics
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/kie/site/index.htm

  Section separator
Finding Articles

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. While the resources below may list articles of interest, they may also list other types of resources, such as book titles, book chapter titles, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Bioethics.
Location: Z6675 .E8 B53 PSU Shelves (5th floor)

Bioethics: A Guide to Information Sources / Doris Mueller Goldstein
Location: Z6675 .E8 G64 1982 PSU Shelves (5th floor)

ETHX on the Web
http://uis-www-2.georgetown.edu/netahtml/basice.htm
The Ethics Library at the Kennedy Institute of Ethics holds the world's largest collection related to ethical issues in medicine and biomedical research, including over 28,000 volumes about ethical and bioethical subjects and over 400 current subscriptions to journal articles. Many of these items have been indexed and included in their online searchable database. Full text of these items is not available.

Genetics and Ethics
http://uis-www-2.georgetown.edu/netahtml/basicg.htm
The Ethics Library at the Kennedy Institute of Ethics has also created an online index of materials specifically related to Genetics and Ethics.

Medline (1965-present)
MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

 

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in Bioethics are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access.

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
A source for over 100 full-text scholarly journals online in the arts & humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for the journals are scant. Important for Judaic Studies are:
The American Journal of Bioethics (2002-2004)
Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal (1996-present)
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine (2000-present)

Additional online journal titles:
Bioethics
Hastings Center Report
Journal of Medical Humanities

  Section separator
Finding Books
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Bioethics. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Bioethics
Medical Ethics
Biology Social aspects
Applied Ethics
Nursing Ethics
Bioethics Religious Aspects

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic. Bioethics is a multidisciplinary field, so not all the books will be located in these areas.

R 724 - Medical Ethics
QH 332 - Bioethics
BJ 37-68 Ethics - Methodology. Relation to other topics.
Q 175.35-175.37 Science - moral and ethical aspects

If you cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (Summit), then you might try Worldcat.

WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer
Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject, year, language, material type.

 


Section Separator
Web Resources

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/bioethics/nrc/index.htm
The home of the ETHX and Genetics and Bioethics databases listed above, this site

Bioethics Internet Resources
http://www.mcw.edu/bioethics/links.html

 

Page developed by Jennifer Dorner
Please send comments to:
dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: