| |
Biology
is the study of all living things. As such, this is a very broad
field of study. It encompasses everything from cellular biology to microbiology,
from how plants and animals operate as whole organisms, to the field
of ecology, or the interactions of organisms within an environment.
The field of biology, at least within the structure of the library,
is broken down into numerous classifications.
The field of biology also overlaps with several other broad disciplines,
such as chemistry (e.g. biochemistry), environmental science (e.g. ecology),
and engineering (e.g. biotechnology).
See
also related guides: Conservation
Biology | Chemistry
| Environmental
Science | Engineering
|
| |
|
|
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias
provide excellent background/overview information and are an excellent
place to begin research. They contain articles written by experts
for a general audience. They provide indexes indicating scope of
coverage of a topic and point to articles in which a concept will
be discussed. They also provide bibliographies for further reading.
The following items can be found in the 5th floor Reference area.
 |
QP11
.E53 1997
Encyclopedia of human biology / editor-in-chief Renato Dulbecco.
2nd ed. San Diego : Academic Press, c1997.
9 volumes |
 |
QR9
.E53 1992
Encyclopedia of microbiology / editor, Joshua Lederberg.
San Diego : Academic Press, c1992. 4 volumes |
 |
QR180.4
.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of immunology / editor-in-chief, Peter J. Delves,
consultant editor, Ivan M. Roitt. 2nd ed. San Diego : Academic
Press, c1998. 4 volumes |
 |
QR358
.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of virology / edited by Robert G. Webster and Allan
Granoff. London ; San Diego : Academic Press, c1994.
3 volumes |
 |
QL701
.G7913 1990
Grzimek's encyclopedia of mammals. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1990.
5 volumes |
 |
QL3 .G7813 2004
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia. Michael Hutchins, editor.
2nd ed. New York, Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., c2004. 17
volumes |
 |
QH540.4
.E52 1995
Encyclopedia of environmental biology / editor-in-chief, William
A. Nierenberg ; executive advisory board, Edward O.
Wilson, Peter H. Raven, Isao Karube ; San Diego : Academic Press,
c1995. 3 volumes |
 |
SB317.58
.E94
The New York Botanical Garden illustrated encyclopedia of horticulture
/ Thomas H. Everett. New York : Garland Pub., c1980-c1982.
10 volumes |
 |
QH332
.E52 1995
Encyclopedia of bioethics / Warren Thomas Reich, editor in chief.
New York : Macmillan Pub. Co. c1995. 5 volumes |
Go
to top of page
|
Other
Reference Books
Reference
books may be handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables,
etc. They include detailed or procedural information specific to
the subject areas addressed. The following are just a few
examples of what is available in the library. These will be
found on the 5th Floor in the Reference area.
 |
QR72.5
.P73 1989
Practical handbook of microbiology / edited by William M. O'Leary.
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c1989. |
 |
QP514.2
.P73 1989
Practical handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology / edited
by Gerald D. Fasman. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c1989. |
 |
QH506
.C87 1988
Current protocols in molecular biology / edited by Frederick
M. Ausubel ... [et al.]. New York : Greene Pub. Associates ;
Wiley-Interscience, c1988- 2 volumes. (loose-leaf)
:
Note: Kept up to date by quarterly supplements. QM23.2
.G73 1995 |
 |
QK117
.G75 1987
Gray's manual of botany : a handbook of the flowering plants
and ferns of the central and northeastern United States and
adjacent Canada. Gray, Asa, 1810-1888. 8th centennial ed., Portland,
Or. : Dioscorides Press, 1987. |
 |
QM23.2 .G73 1995
Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of medicine and surgery.
38th ed. / chairman of the editorial board, Peter L. Williams
; New York : Churchill Livingstone, 1995. |
 |
QL618
.N4 1994
Fishes of the world / Joseph S. Nelson. 3rd ed.
New York : J. Wiley, c1994. |
 |
QL681
.B625
The Birds of North America. American Ornithologists' Union.
Washington, DC : American Ornithologists' Union, c1992- |
 |
S21
.A44
Silvics of North America / Russell M. Burns and Barbara H. Honkala.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service
: 2 volumes |
 |
QH304
.C33 1983
CBE style manual : a guide for authors, editors, and publishers
in the biological sciences /prepared by CBE Style Manual Committee.
5th ed., rev. and expanded.
Bethesda, Md. : Council of Biology Editors, c1983. |
Go
to top of page
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For
every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide
article level information.
Once
articles are identified through the database or index search,
look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library.
Go
to top of page
|
Full-Text
Biology Journals Online
The
following link will take you to journals for which PSU has
a paid subscription. Please bear in mind that the library
has many many more journals than those listed here, and that the
library also has other years of these journals, available in a print
format.
Go
to top of page
|
Classifications
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for
locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to
the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks. Because Biology
is a vast subject area, only the broad classifications are given
here. To find more specific call number ranges, check with a librarian.
| QH |
Natural
History, General Biology, Ecology
(general textbooks: QH 308 ) |
| QK |
Botany
(general textbooks: QK 47 - QK 50 ) |
| QL |
Zoology
(general textbooks: QL 47 - QL 52 ) |
| QM |
Human
Anatomy
(general textbooks: QM 23-QM 34 ) |
| QP |
Animal
Physiology
(general textbooks: QP 31 ) |
| QR |
Microbiology
(general textbooks: QR 41 ) |
| SB |
Plant
Culture (Agriculture) |
| SD |
Forestry |
| SF |
Animal
Culture |
| SH |
Aquaculture,
Fisheries |
| SK |
Wildlife
Management |
Go
to top of page
|
Organizations
One
way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization. Here are a few
links to a few of the many important organizations in Biology.
 |
Federation
of American Societies for Experimental Biology
http://www.faseb.org/ |
 |
American
Society for Microbiology
http://www.asm.org/ |
 |
The
Ecological Society of America
http://www.esa.org/ |
 |
The
Encyclopedia of Associations can help you find many other professional
associations. It can be found in the Reference Area at
HS17.E5 |
Go
to top of page |
Return
to Subject Guides
|