PSU Library Logo
 
 

African-American Studies Research

   

African-American Studies is an interdisciplinary subject, which means it includes subject areas such as history, art, literature, anthropology as well as education, sociology, etc.

The information resources listed below are located in the Reference Area on the 2nd floor of the Library unless otherwise noted.

See related guides: African Studies | History | Literature in English
Women's Studies

   

 

Sections of this guide:

Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Subject Headings   |  Call Numbers   |   Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, E185 .E54 1996, vols. 1-5. A one-volume compendium of the encyclopedia is also available at E185 .E542 1998
book Reference Library of Black America, E185 .E54 1996,
vols. 1-5
.
book Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present, E185.61 .E54 1992
book Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, DT14 .A37435 1999
book Encyclopedia of Black America, E185 .E55
book The encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, E185.61 .E544 1998, vols. 1-3
book The Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism, E184 .A1 E58 1994, vols. 1-6

Go to top of page

 

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Chronology of African-American History, E185 .H64 1991
book The African-American Atlas: Black History and Culture - An Illustrated Reference, E185 .A79 1998
book Atlas of American Diversity, E184.A1 S575 1998
book Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook, E185.5 .B5125
book

Facts on File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America,
vols. 1-11, E185.96 .F2 1997

book Notable Black American Men, E185.86 .N68 1999

book

psu-only access via the web

Oxford Companion to African American Literature,
PS153 .N5 O96 1997. Also available online through NetLibrary.

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Access to African American Studies
psu-only access via the web America: History and Life
psu-only access via the web Academic Search Premier
book Sage Race Relations Abstracts, HT1501 .S2
book Index to Black Periodicals, AI3 .O4
book African-American Newspapers & Periodicals: A National Bibliography, Z6944 .N39 A37 1998
book In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, and Books Concerning More than 15,000 Black Individuals and Groups, Z1361 .N39 S655 1980
book Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986, Z1361 .N39 K34 1992 , vols. 1-5

Go to top of page

 

   

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in African American Studies are available online. Below is a selected list of African American Studies full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

psu-only access via the web African American Review
from 1992 to present in Academic Search Premier
from 1992 to 2000 in JSTOR
psu-only access via the web

Journal of Black Studies
from 1970 to 2000 via JSTOR
from 1999 to present in SwetsWise

psu-only access via the web Journal of Negro History
from 1916 to 2000 in JSTOR
psu-only access via the web Transition
from 1961 to 1999 in JSTOR
from 2000 to 2001 in Project Muse

Go to top of page

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in African American Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Note: by typing the phrases "African American" or "African Americans" as a subject search, several subject topics will be displayed.

Blacks Race Identity
Black Power
Black Nationalism
Civil Rights
Discrimination
Ethnic Attitudes
Ethnic Relations
Minorities
Segregation African Americans

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
E184
E185
G1201 .E2
HT1501
PS153 .N5
PS508 .N3
Z1361 .N39

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www source NAACP
www source Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
www source National Urban League
www source Yahoo! Directory: African American Organizations

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

www source The African-American Mosiac: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
www source Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
www source The Encyclopedia Brittanica Guide to Black History
www source The Census Bureau (for statistical information about African-Americans)
www source The Amistad Research Center

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

  PSU Library Home
Page developed by:
Linda Absher
Please send comments to:
absherl@pdx.edu

 

Last updated: