Portland State University, Middle East Studies
Center
Selected Resources for Educators
Related to September 11th, 2001 and
Subsequent Developments
The educational materials listed
below are available for loan. These
resources are housed in Building Bridges: A Community Resource Center for
International and Multicultural Education located in Portland State
University’s Sixth Avenue Building (1950 SW 6th Ave). Building Bridges is open M-F from noon to 5 p.m. and evenings and
Saturdays by appointment. Building
Bridges has an open lending policy with modest user fees and deposits for some
resources. The lending period for most
materials is two weeks. Contact Jean
Campbell [(503) 725-8566 or Email: campbellj@pdx.edu]
for information on these resources or other programs of the Middle East Studies
Center. Building Bridges telephone
number is (503) 725-8191.
The Arab World and the
Arab-American Experience
Lars Rodseth, Sally Howell and Andrew Shryock.
Illustrated by Michelle P. Gallagher. Arab
Community Center for Economic and Social Services, Cultural Arts Program
(ACCESS), 1994. 209 pp, spiral bound. Grades K-6.
Curriculum for elementary level
which has units on the individual, the family/home/neighborhood/ community,
plants and animals, holidays and celebrations, folktales and stories. Excellent resource researched and developed
by teachers and scholars.
Audrey
Shabbas, Carol El-Shaieb and Ahlam An-Nabulsi. Illustrated by Carol
El-Shaieb. Arab World And Islamic
Resources and School Services (AWAIR), 1991.
60 pp, spiral bound. Grades K-6.
Across
curriculum resource, an equivalent of the Arab
World Notebook for the elementary level.
Activities that put a human face on the peoples of the Arab World.
Hands-on projects that develop new skills and understandings about Arab culture
and Peoples. Empowering children to
value themselves and others is the aim of resource.
Arab World Notebook: For the Secondary School
Level Curriculum
Editors
Audrey Shabbas and Ayad Al-Qazzaz. Najda, 1990. 460 pp, loose-leaf binder.
Grades 7-12.
Duplicate masters covering a wide range of topics to assist in teaching about the Arab World. This includes: information, essays, and statistics on a wide-range of relevant subjects (e.g. Islam, Women, Arabs in America, Music, Family, Oil); lessons plans; extensive lists of available resources on specific countries and subjects; country information; and textbook analyses.
Understanding the Arab
World (Part I) Curriculum
Portland
Public Schools. Grades 9-12.
Produced
from the aftermath of the Gulf War, this resource seeks to assist educators
introduce their students to the history and culture of the Arab Middle East, as
well as appreciate and recognized various opinions about various controversial
issues in the area and the way the media deals with Arabs and politics in the
region.
Peddler's Dream Literature/Diversity
Janice
Shefelman. Illustrated by Tom
Shefelman. Houghton Mifflin Co., 1992.
32 pp, hardback. Grades 1-5.
This
story tells the rags to riches tale of a Lebanese-American immigrant to the
United States. This story of Solomon
Joseph Azar takes place at the turn of the century and chronicles a familiar
immigrant tale.
Lesson Packet for "A Peddler's Dream". Curriculum
Nick of
Time, 1994. Loose leaf folder. Grades
1-5.
This
lesson packet on A Peddler's Dream
contains background reading on Arab-Americans, a series of critical thinking
questions on the story, writing prompts, various appropriate activities, a
section of family history, further information and ideas for additional related
lessons.
The Arab World in the Classroom Curriculum
Center
for Contemporary Arab Studies Series for Educators. 1992. High School and
Above.
Six
page teaching modules curriculum supplement for secondary and college level
courses in the social sciences and humanities.
"The Contributions of Arab Civilization to Mathematics and
Sciences", "The Arabic Language" and "Women
in the Arab World".
Arab Americans Diversity
Schlessinger
Productions, 1993. 30 min. VHS.
Grade 4 and Above.
Based
on the highly acclaimed Chelsea House series "Multicultural Peoples of
North America" this video, primarily geared to upper elementary and
secondary school students, is both interesting and informative for all ages. It looks at Arab-American immigration
against the larger backdrop of the entire American immigration story.
Ralph Nader: Up Close Diversity
New
Day Films. Narrated by Studs Terkel. 49
min. VHS. Grade 6 and Above.
A revealing and personal look at an extraordinary
man who has had an enormous impact on all of our lives. Nader is shown not only
as a passionate crusader, but also a person of considerable warmth, wit and
compassion.
Introduction to the Arab World Arab World
Video
and guidebook. AMIDEAST, 1989. 45 min. VHS. Grade 7 and Above.
This
video introduces the peoples, places of the region, and important issues
confronting the Arab World today in a format designed for those with little or
no prior knowledge of the region.
Divided into three 15-minute sections, which can be viewed consecutively
or interspersed with discussions or exercises: an overview; Islam; and
contemporary Arab society. The guidebook includes the video script, notes on
the script, a timeline, maps, classroom exercises, informational hand-outs on
Arabic civilization, a glossary of terms, and an annotated bibliography of
suggested introductory readings.
An Ancient
Heritage: The Arab-American Minority Diversity
Brent Ashabranner. Harper Collins, 1991. 148 pp, hardback. Grades 7-12.
Provides
a brief history of Arab immigration to the U.S., and background on past and
contemporary problems and successes in the Arab-American experience. Focuses
particularly on the Lebanese, Syrian and Palestinian communities in America,
but communicates well the diversity of the Arab World. The book introduces the
reader to various Arab-Americans, their reasons for immigration and their lives
now. A number of Portland residents are
interviewed: Lena and Frank Afranji, (Frank is active in the Portland community
and happy to make classroom visits), Paul and Sara Rask, Laurice Azar and
Mounib Derhalli.
The TV Arab Diversity
Jack G.
Shaheen. Bowling Green State University
Popular Press, 1984. 146 pp, paperback.
Grades 7 and Above.
This excellent resource on one
type of sterotyping examines the image of the Arab in television from a number
of essential perspectives, including comedy, documentaries and police and
private eyes shows. This is a thoroughly
researched and documented piece.
Taking Root Bearing Fruit: The Arab-American
Experience Diversity
Edited
by James Zogby. American-Arab
Anti-Discrimination Committee, 1984.
140 pp, paperback. Grades 7 and Above.
This
collection of articles and photographs by scholars, activists and community
members is an excellent source of information on the history and challenges of
the Arab-American immigrant experience.
Women in the Middle East: A Handbook for Secondary Schools Gender
Compiled
and edited by Fatma Muge Gocek, Elizabeth Barlow, and Shiva Balaghi. Center for Middle East and North African
Studies the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 1992. 70 pp, spiral bound. Grade
8 and Above.
This handbook is an attempt
to reflect to a small degree the diversity of the lives of women throughout the
Middle East. It contains stories and
poetry of women from rural villages, educated women who live in the city,
professional women, political activists, and intellectuals and writers.
The Cinematic Arab: A Century of Stereotypes Diversity
Produced
by David MacMurray. Edited and directed
by Drew Warninghoff. Script by Laurence
Michalek. 15 min. VHS. Grade
8 and Above.
This
video discusses the portrayal of Arabs in Western motion pictures from the
earliest to present-day productions.
Clips from various films are used to illustrate how the motion picture
industry has served to perpetuate stereotypes.
The narrators argue that while racial slurs aimed at African- Americans
or Asians have become unpopular, Arabs continue to be targeted for such abuses.
Tales from
Arab Detroit Diversity
Directed by Joan Mandell. Co-produced by Sally Howell and Joan Mandell. Presented by ACCESS and Olive Branch
Productions, 1996. 45 min. VHS. High School and Above.
When an
Arab-American community center brings an Egyptian poet to perform a 1000-year
old epic, sparks fly. The result is a
familiar American tale: parents trying to pass on cherished traditions and
language, while their children are at home in a world of McDonald’s and
MTV. With mesmerizing imagery, humor
and warmth, this documentary film blends voices, poetry, song and dance into
everyday stories of cultural conflict and resilience within the large Arab
community in North America.
Voices in
Exile: Immigrants and the First
Amendment Diversity
Joan Mandell and Laura Hayes. Olive Branch Productions, 1989. 30 min. VHS. High
School and Above.
Casey Kasem narrates the
horrible reality of eight Los Angeles residents, seven Palestinians and a
Kenyan, who in 1987 were arrested and accused of being affiliated with the
PLO. Since being released on bail nine
years ago, their problems continue. This
is an insightful and provocative documentary of a landmark freedom of speech
case, which continues to be important in the struggle over immigrants’ rights
in the US.
Family Ties Arab World/Gender
BBC, 1990. 50 min. VHS. High
School and Above.
This
film, produced for BBC series "The Arabs", was developed and narrated
by Nadia Hijab. It focuses on a number
of women in the region, particularly on the mother of a large extended family
of Jordanians living in Amman. The
viewer is exposed to women who have different views of the traditional role of
wives and mothers, including a young Tunisian woman who longs to find her own
apartment and a Jordanian woman who is a commercial pilot flying jets. An excellent resource on the changing role
of women in the Arab World.
Benaat Chicago
(Daughters of Chicago: Diversity/Gender
Growing Up
Arab & Female in Chicago)
Jennifer Bing-Canar and Mary Zerkel, 1996. 30
min. VHS. High
School and Above.
This video addresses
stereotypes and racism toward Arabs and Arab women, while showing what makes
many Arab-Americans proud of their cultural heritage. The young women also discuss some of the internal conflicts in
the Arab-American community and interview Arab-American women who are actively
organizing their community for social change.
Using a mixture of interviews conducted by participants and images of
the community, the movie contributes a complex portrayal of a Chicago community
often keep invisible
Islam and Islam in
America
Teaching About
Islam and Muslims in the Public School Classroom: Curriculum
Handbook for Educators
Council
on Islamic Education, 1993. 97 pp, paperback. Grade 4 and Above.
This is a general guide for teachers wanting to
teach about Islam. It explains Islam in
simple terms that will help teachers who are not otherwise familiar with Islam
and provides duplicatable materials for classroom use. It also includes a
section on sensitivity in the classroom which helps students and teachers
become more aware of the variety cultural backgrounds in their classes and how
to appreciate these variances. It ends with an extensive listing of available
Islamic resources.
Susan
L. Douglass. The Council on Islamic Education.
Amana Publications, 1994. 225 pp, paperback. Grade 7 and Above.
This
teaching resource has been designed to be used by those writing and publishing
world history textbooks, journalists involved in educating their audience with
regard to issues involving Islam, as well teachers wanting to supplement their
existing world history curriculum with material about Islam. The book looks at the theories behind the
teaching and study of world history, as well as gives specific material to help
teachers in teaching Islamic history, both as its own topic as well as a topic
within world history.
Scarves of
Many Colors: Muslim Women and the Veil Islam/Gender/Diversity
Produced by Joan Bohorfoush and Diana Dickerson,
1996. 24 min. Audiocassette.
High School and Above.
Scarves of Many
Colors: Muslim Women and the Veil Curriculum
Bill Bigelow, Sandra Childs, Norm Diamond, Diana
Dickerson and Jan Haaken, 2000. 54 pp.,
paperback. High School and Above.
This
award-winning (in 1997, the documentary was the winner of the Clarion Award
from the Association for Women in Communication) audiotape and accompanying
curriculum engage students in thinking critically about stereotypes of
“covered” Muslim women. Locally
produced the audiotape interviewed and documented the diverse experiences of
Muslim women from different backgrounds, including some American converts to
Islam. The tape not only portrays the
stories of women who veil, but also those who have decided not to veil. This is a rich and informative source for an
introduction into the issue of veiling, not only its social and political
aspects, but also its more personal depiction’s. The curriculum offers four
classroom-tested lessons, including an excellent role play/tribunal on “Women
and the Veil,” with accompanying student handouts. A lively addition to any Global Studies, psychology, sociology,
women’s studies, world history, or teacher education curriculum.
The Religion
of Islam Islam
By Mamdouh N. Mohamed and Nadeem Malik. The Institute of Islamic and Arabic Sciences
in America, CD Rom. Grade 6 and Above.
System requirements: Macintosh, System 7, 4MB RAM, hard disk,
color monitor.
Middle Eastern Muslim Women Speak Islam/Gender
Elizabeth
Fernea and Basima Bezirgan, editors.
University of Texas Press, 1977.
414 pp, paperback. Grade 7 and Above.
Middle
Eastern Muslim Women speak to us across thirteen centuries, from Spain to
Afghanistan. Includes poetry,
literature, biographies, and political and social writings. Here is a work of authenticity which allows
students to develop understandings of Islam from the women themselves.
A Century of Islam in America Islam/Diversity
Yvonne
Y. Haddad. The Middle East Institute,
1986. 13 pp, paperback. Grades
7 and Above.
This
pamphlet is a reprint of part of a series of Occasional Papers originally
published by the American Institute for Islamic Thought. An excellent overview of the history and
contemporary challenges to the American Muslim community. Excellent bibliography.
Islam in America Islam/Diversity
Christian
Science Monitor Video, 1992. 60 min. VHS. Grade
7 and Above.
Islam
is one of the fastest growing, and most misunderstood, religions in America
today. Here, for the first time, is an
explanation of the faith as it is actually being practiced in the United
States. Through examining five
different Muslim communities in America this video highlights
the
five pillars of the Muslim faith.
The Islamic Threat: Myth or Reality? Islam
John
Esposito. Oxford University Press, 1992. 292 pp, paperback. High School and Above.
With a
great deal of discussion recently occurring regarding the "clash of
civilizations" between "Islam" and "the West," this
book gives a critical perspective about the history of Islamic and Christian
relations, as well as current attitudes and policies towards Islam by the West.
A Tale of Two Mosques Islam/Diversity
General
Board of Global Ministries, 1989. 30
min. VHS. High School and Above.
The
video portrays the life and evolution of the Muslim community of Edmonton and
focuses upon its search for a redefined sense of Islamic identity in
Canada. Discussed is the question,
"How does one participate fully in the larger North American life while at
the same time preserving one's heritage, values, and lifestyle.
A Veiled Revolution Islam/Gender/Arab
World
Elizabeth
Fernea and Marilyn Gaunt. First Run/Icarus Films, 1982. 26 min. VHS. High School
and Above.
This
film introduces the viewer to issues of relevance to the resurgence of Islamic
dress in Egypt. The film presents
Egyptian women’s words and thoughts on the social, political and religious
context of the phenomena of Islamic dress in Egypt. It is a well research film and is an excellent resource for use
in the classroom when addressing the situation of women in the Middle East or
Islam.
Islamic
Conversations: Islam and Pluralism Islam
Films for the Humanities,
1994. 30 min. VHS. High School and Above.
Anwar Ibrahim, Malaysia’s Minister of Finance and
Deputy Prime Minister, explains his government’s approach to multi-culturalism
within Islam. Although Malaysia is a
multi-cultural and multi-religious society the official religion is Islam. Drawing examples from Islamic history, Anwar
Ibrahim argues for a tolerant and pluralistic approach , explores issues on
non- Muslim minorities, Islamic fundamentalism, economic development and it’s
impact on Islamic values.
Islamic Conversations: Authority and Change Islam/Egypt
Films for the Humanities, 1994. 30 min. VHS. High
School and Above.
Egypt today is a battleground between liberal and
radical Muslims, as the secular state and traditional scholars are being
challenged by more militant forces. In this program, Sheikh Syed Tautavi, Mufti
of Egypt, explores these and other vital questions that underlie current
developments in Egypt and the Islamic world.
Islamic Conversations: Women in
Islam Islam/Gender
Films
for the Humanities, 1994. 30 min. VHS.
High School and Above.
Leila
Ahmed, professor of women's studies at Amherst, argues the case for revision of
the widely held views in the Islamic world about the role of women, using
examples from history and the role played by women in the contemporary
world. She explains the origin of the
veil, and discusses the issue of marriage and women's rights within marriage.
Women in Islam Islam/Gender
Directed
by Ahmed Abdul-Rahman. Narrated by
Riffat Yusuf. Produced by Islamic Media
Services, 1991. Part I 90 min. &
Part II 52 min. VHS. High School and Above.
This
film considers from an Islamic point of view, the issue of the woman, her
position in society, her role in human endeavor and her religious rights and
obligations.
Islam in
Tibet: The Ornaments of Lhasa Islam
Fons Vitae, USA, 1997. 20 min. VHS. High School and Above.
Footage and photographs taken of the Muslims in
Lhasa are richly complemented by a delightful interview with a Tibetan Muslim
who describes the history and life of Islam in Tibet, the two Muslim
communities living there today and the relationship between the Buddhists and
the Muslims. The viewer will be
intrigued by quite charming descriptions of Tibetan Muslim society and family
life, the homes, food and clothing, language, education, trade and traditional
herbal medicine.
Spanish Muslims Islam
Directed
by Zahir Ahmed. Produced by Islamic
Video Productions. 110 min. VHS.
High School and Above.
A
documentary film on the contribution of Muslims to Spain. Muslim Spain held the banner of civilization
when the rest of Europe had fallen into darkness. Muslims ruled Spain for 750 years. This film also deals with the impact of the Inquisition on Islam
and Muslim civilization in Spain.
Islam: A Pictorial Essay in Four
Parts Islam
The Islamic Texts Society. 90 min. VHS. Secondary and Above.
Four Parts, The Doctrine, The Life of the Prophet
and the Faith, The History and the Culture, and The Arts and Sciences make up
this exceptional film. The text is done
by some of the most eminent scholars in Islam, and over 300 slides are shown,
while the lute playing of Salman Shakur accompanies and brings together this comprehensive
work. This film can benefit viewers in
secondary schools, universities, teacher training courses, conferences, or
anyone interested in the Islamic world.
Mosque Islam/Egypt
Maryknoll
World Productions, 1992. 28 min. VHS.
High School and Above.
News
reports have made Americans more aware of the importance of Islam, but 900
million Muslims and their faith are still a mystery to many. This program, taped in Cairo, Egypt,
introduces a mosque and Muslims and provides non-Muslims with a respectful
introduction to Islam.
Faith of Islam Islam
Maryknoll
World Productions, 1988. 28 min. VHS.
High School and Above.
A
discussion program that breaks through the stereotypes about Muslims. It explains the basic tenets of Islam with
insight from a Muslim religious leader and a Catholic missioner who has lived
and worked among Muslims.
Refugees
Bridging Communities: The Refugee Experience Curriculum
Various authors, edited by Marta Colburn as part of
the 1996 teacher workshop in Portland on refugees organized by various
community groups.
Packet includes lesson plans for various levels in
through creative writing exercises, exploring refugee/immigrant cuisine and
political and economic conditions that create refugees. Contributing educators: Terrie Wright
Chrones, Gail Vander Heide, Chanrithy Him, Sejlic Muftic, Joseph K.Q.Nguyen,
Libe Stafl, Chris Weber and Ann Kasper.
Refugees
Around the World: Teachers Guide Curriculum
Jennifer Cook Sterling, Newsweek Issues Today,
1994. Pamphlet and map in folder. Grade
7 and Above.
Using maps, charts, and
narrative materials this packet is designed to give students an understanding
of this delicate topic. Through
activities, students can trace paths and conditions of life, and also look at
solutions for these displaced people.
The Refugee Experience: Video and Teaching Guide Curriculum
Ann Armstrong Craig. Women’s Commission for Refugee Women and Children, 1994. 32 pp,
folder. Grade 7 and Above.
Focusing on the hardships and challenges facing
refugees, the video and teaching guide provide background information on the
reasons for flight, the journey to escape, who cares for refugees, repatriation
and resettlement. Classroom activities
include writing exercises, suggestions on using the video in class, glossary of
terms and further resources.
Refugees: Seeking a Safe Haven Children Refugees
Kem
Knapp Sawyer, Enslow Publishing, 1995. 128pp. hardbound. Grade 7 and Above.
Author
Kem Knapp Sawyer examines the worldwide problems of refugees. The author discusses
the circumstances that encourage the flow of refugees, focusing on trouble
spots such as Haiti, Bosnia, and the Middle East. Sawer also eplains how
governments and international organizations, such as the United Nations and the
Red Cross, are working to improve conditions and therefore, decrease the number
of future refugees.
Refugee Children Refugees
United
Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, 1995. 20 pp, pamphlet. Grades 4 and
Above.
This pamphlet gives a great
deal of information about the lives of refugee children and the reality of
refugee life. It also gives information on how one can personally help refugees
throughout the world.
One Day We Had
to Run Refugees
Sybella Wilkes.
Millbrook Press in association with UNHCR, 1994. 61 pp, paperback. Grade
7 and Above.
Through their own both words and pictures, this is
the story of three children who were forced to become refugees, fleeing
Somalia, Sudan, and Ethiopia. The roles
of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and Save the Children are
outlined. Include also are tips on use
of this material in the classroom.
What is My Homeland Now?: The Refugee Experience Refugees
and So they Will Know Who I Am: Traditional Artists in Refugee Communities.
Larry Johnson. Produced by International Refugee Center of
Oregon and the Portland Art Museum Northwest Film Center, 1994. 27 min. and 22 min. VHS. Grade 7 and Above.
This
two video program is about the refugee experience in Oregon created by 20 youth
from 10 different countries. There are
Middle Eastern refugees and artist featured in both these programs.
Refugees Into Citizens Arab/Israeli
Donna
Arzt. New York, NY. Council on Foreign
Relations Press, 1997. 232 pp. High School and Above.
This
book by a Professor of international law at Syracuse University offers an
unprecedented blueprint for resolving what is often called the “last taboo” in
the Arab-Israeli peace negotiations: a just and permanante solution to the
problem of over three million Palestinian refugees. This book represents the first comprehensive effort to place the
inclusion and dignity of Palestinian refugees at the core of creating a viable
and lasting peace in the region.
Conflict Resolution
and Regional Conflicts
Understanding Bias
Project Crossroads. All Levels.
Project Crossroads creates classroom-ready lessons using geography, history, writing, and storytelling as a means of understanding a dynamic, multicultural world. With accompanying slides.
The
Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, A Unit for High School Students Curriculum
Stockton, Ronald. Center for Middle Eastern and
North African Studies, University of Michigan, Second edition, 1993. 173 pp,
paperback. High School and Above.
Part of a unit study on
‘Roots of Violence in the Middle East’, this packet consists of five lesson
plans. It is designed for high school
classes in history, political science, and world affairs. Its goal is to put the conflict into historical
context, to provide the student with factual information, and to give them
perspectives on both sides. Designed to
be used individually as a two-day lesson, or collectively as a ten-day lesson. Included are historical background, primary
documents, maps, and statistics.
Mediation Games: The Middle East Peace Conference Curriculum
Felder,
David W. Felder Books and Games, 1991. Unpaged, loose-leaf binder. Grades
7-12.
This curriculum unit consist of five games: Syria
& Israel; Regional Issues; Lebanon & Israel; Egypt & Israel (Camp
David Accords); Palestinian-Jordanian team & Israel (with Hawk and Dove
variations). Each game consists of fact
sheet with historical background, and sheets for each party to the conflict
telling their interests.
The Conflict Between
Israelis and Palestinians (Part 3) Curriculum
Portland
Public Schools. Grades 9-12.
Produced
from the aftermath of the Gulf War, this resource seeks to assist educators
introduce their students to the history and culture of the Arab Middle East, as
well as appreciate and recognized various opinions about various controversial
issues in the area and the way the media deals with Arabs and politics in the
region.
Managing World Conflict: A Resource Unit for High
Schools Curriculum
James Davis, et al. United
States Institute for Peace, 1994. 76 pp, paperback. High School and Above.
The purpose of this
resource is to support the integration of the National Essay Contest into high
school language arts or social studies programs. The focus of these seven
curriculum unit is on the nature of conflict between and nations and the
management of conflict in the international community.
Zlata’s
Diary: A Child’s Life in Sarajevo Bosnia
Zlata Filipovic. Viking, 1994. 200 pp.,
hardbound. Grade 7 and above.
In a voice reminiscent of Anne Frank, this diary
follows the story of a young girl growing up in Sarajevo before and during the
bombing of her city. The tone of the
diary changes from the peaceful, innocent world of a child to the horrors and
violence of war. All is recorded in the
pages of this extraordinary diary.
Zlata’s Diary:
A Child’s Life in Sarajevo Curriculum
Zlata Filipovic and Irene Hunt. The Center for Learning, 1996. 110 pp, spiral bound. Grades
7 and Above
This unit represents
five lessons for Zlata’s Diary (See book and Video below). Each lesson is designed around a single
topic: Geography and History of Bosnia, Before the War, Literary Style, Diary
and Description, Wartime experiences and Change. The lessons highlight values central to both novels: courage and
survival, forgiveness and trust, the importance of self- respect and the
healing power of peace and love.
Complete with reproducible handouts.
Lessons are sequential, with each lesson covering approximately forty
pages of the novel. Procedures encourage interpretation, critical thinking, and
creativity.
Zlata’s Diary Bosnia
Scholastic/NBC News, 1995.
14 min. VHS. Grades 7 and Above.
After a brief overview of the war in Bosnia from NBC
News broadcaster Jane Pauley, this powerful program introduces Zlata Filipovic,
the Sarajevan child whose diary of life under siege has become an international
bestseller. Footage of the war and
scenes of Zlata reading excerpts from an English translation of her diary are
interspersed with her interview with Pauley.
When asked why she thinks her journal has had such impact, Zlata
replies, “I think children don’t lie. Children tell everything they feel, and
they’ll tell true.” Zlata’s story
should help viewers empathize with the victims of war in every time and place.
Sami and the Time of the Troubles Conflict
Resolution
Florence Parry Heide and Judith Heide Gilliand. Illustrated by Ted Lewin. Clarion Books,
1992. 32 pp, hardback. Grades K-6.
Ten-year old Sami lives with his family in
Beirut. This poetic and beautiful book
tells of the family's strength and of Sami's determined optimism in the face of
war's devastation.
When Will the Fighting Stop? A Child's View of Jerusalem Conflict
Resolution
Ann Morris.
Photographs by Lilly Rivlin. Atheneum, Macmillan, 1990. 52 pp, hardback.
Grades 1-4.
A young
Jewish boy living in Jerusalem observes all the different people who make the
City their home and wonders why they can't all be friends.
The Secret Grove Conflict
Resolution
Barbara
Cohen. Illustrated by Michael J.
Deraney. Union of American Hebrew
Congregations, 1985. Unpaged, hardback. Grades 3-6.
This
story is about two young boys, one Israeli, the other Jordanian, who meet one
afternoon in an orange grove separating their two border villages and there
make a secret pact. A subtle
examination of the roots of prejudice, this book teaches young readers how
hatred can be overcome when two children refuse to accept the stereotypes of
their parents.
Oasis of Peace: Neve Shalom - Wahat Al-Salam Conflict Resolution
By
Laurie Dolphin, photographs by Ben Dolphin.
Scholastic, Inc, 1993. 48 pp,
hardback. Grades 4-6.
An Arab
Moslem and an Israeli Jew meet at a very visionary and progressive school
called NeveShalom/WahataSalam. Here,
they learn each other's cultures and languages and discuss their fears of one
another, and slowly develop a strong bond of brotherhood and respect.
They Say Peace is Nice Conflict Resolution
Jos van
Noord. UNICEF, 1988. 72 pp, paperback. Grades 5-9.
Iman attends the Ras El-Nabeh
school, near the green line separating east and west Beirut. It's one of the worst battle grounds in this
city at war with itself. Iman is not a
very talkative girl, but she does have something to say. She has cut a heart from cardboard and drawn
on it two people embracing each other.
It reads, 'My greatest wish is that there will be only love between all
people. This book is a collection of
interviews of children living in war-torn Lebanon. Their ages range from seven to eighteen years and they come from
varying backgrounds, but all wish for lasting peace. This is book covers very serious subject matter.
If You Could Be My Friend Conflict Resolution
Boudalika, Litsa. Orchard Books, 1992. 150 pp, hardback. Grade 7 and Above.
Correspondence between Galit,
and 12-year-old Israeli girl, living in Jerusalem and Mervet, a 13-year-old
Palestining girl, living in the refugee camp of Dheisheh ten miles away. This book is an actual account of
correpsondence between these two young women in wartorn Israel looking at what
they share, despite the irreconcilable beliefs that keep their people apart. As their letters are secretly carried back
and forth, they learn how much alike they are, and yet how different they
remain.
Peace: The Language of Peace Conflict Resolution
Diana
Abu-Jaber. Produced by Dmae Roberts.
1998. Audiocassette and transcript. 25
pp, paperback. Grade 7 and Above.
This radio show was written and narrated by Diana
Abu-Jaber as part of National Public Radio’s series on the “Legacies: Faith,
Hope and Peace.”
A Message from Palestine Palestinian-Israeli Conflict
Produced
by York Assoc. and WGBH Educational Foundation, 1989. 28 min. VHS. Grade 7 and Above.
This
video documents a Palestinian medical team coping with curfew during the Intifadah. Background information and discussion about the context of
Israeli occupation, the Palestinian-
Israeli conflict, and the Intifadah should accompany this
video.
One Million Postcards Iraq/Conflict
Resolution
Joan Mandell. American Friends Service Committee,
1999. 12 min. VHS. High
School and Above.
This documentary film is about
two sisters who were deeply concerned about the suffering in Iraq and decided
to do something about it. Using art as
a medium to express their goals, Kouthar and Marwa al-Rawi created the “One
Million Postcard Campaign.” The
campaign asks people around the world to design a postcard message to President
Bill Clinton about the situation in Iraq.
This film inspires and teaches young people that they can make a
difference by putting their sense of compassion to work through grassroots organizing
and political activism. To order see: askaboutiraq@afsc.org.
Professors Lockman (Harvard) and Beinin (Stanford)
are two Jewish members of the editorial board of the Middle East Research and
Information Project (MERIP), which prepared this indispensable anthology of
poetry , eye- witness accounts, analysis and primary source documents from 32
contributors. Intifada is at once a
history book, a reference anthology, and an activist’s handbook. Issues that are often avoided as too complex
are brought together here in diverse forms appealing to different minds:
academic, historical, narrative, poetic.
Palestine: A
Nation Occupied Palestinian/Israeli
Conflict
and In the Gaza Strip
Joe Sacco. Fantagraphics Books, 1996. unpaged,
paperback. High School and Above.