PSU Library logo

 

Career Development & Job Searching

 

Introduction | Directories & Databases | Job Searching & Career Planning | Résumés & Cover Letters | Job Interviews | Career Development | Job Listings & Job Placement

 


INTRODUCTION

The decisions we make about our working lives can be among the most important we will face - but almost no one likes looking for work or worrying about career development. This guide will provide you with a place to start, with information on résumé writing and doing well in job interviews, lists of job advertisements, detailed descriptions of different occupations, and general information about career development.

All of the sources in this guide can be found in the Portland State University Library, accessed through the Library's computer network, or the world wide web. Many are used widely and will also be found in other university and college libraries, or large public libraries.

back to contents

 

DIRECTORIES & DATABASES

The directories in this section provide information about industries and individual companies. They will help you understand industry and company trends, and give you an idea of what it might be like to work in a particular industry or field, or for a particular company.

For full text periodical articles on industries, companies or job and career-related subjects you may search the following databases.

Business Source Premier
EBSCOhost, Inc.
Click on the green Company Profiles button to search for companies by name.
Search company name as a keyword to find articles on a prospective employer.

CorpTech directory of technology companies
Corporate Technology Information Services, Inc. Annual
T12 .C82 / 5th Floor, 1995

D&B million dollar directory : America's leading public & private companies
Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. Irregular
Information on large American companies and corporations, indexed by company name, geographic location, and Standard Industrial Classification code.
HC102 .D8 2004 / 2nd floor / Reference

Directory of corporate affiliations
National Register Pub. Co. Annual
HG4057 .A219 / Basement
Basic information on companies whose ultimate parent company is located in the United States and publicly held. Includes indexes arranged by company name, brand name, geographic location, and Standard Industrial Classification code.

Emerson's directory of leading U.S. accounting firms
Emerson Co.
HF5601 .E44 / Basement, 1998/99

Encyclopedia of associations
Gale Research. Annual
HS17 .E5 2nd floor / Ready Reference, 2003

Encylcopedia of associations : international organizations
Gale Research. Annual
HS17 .E5135 2nd floor / Reference, 1996

Encyclopedia of associations : regional state & local organizations
Gale Research. Biennial
HS17 .E53 2nd floor / Reference, 1994/95

National trade and professional associations of the United States
Columbia Books. Annual
HD2425 .D53 2nd floor / Reference, 2003
List of trade associations headquartered in the United States. Includes indexes arranged by association name, subject, geographic location, association budget, executive name, acronym, and an index of management companies.


Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies

Gale Research. Annual
HG4057 .A532 Basement / Reference, 2004

back to contents


JOB SEARCHING & CAREER PLANNING

This section lists books and other sources that describe available careers and provide information on how to find work in different fields.

The book of U.S. government jobs : where they are, what's available, and how to get one / Dennis V. Damp. 6th ed.
LPC Group. 1996
JK716 .D36 1996 2nd floor / Reference

Heart & soul Internet job search : 7 never-before-published secrets to capturing your dream job using the Internet / Chuck Cochran and Donna Peerce
Davies-Black. 1999
HF5382.7 .C6 1999 2nd floor / Reference

Hook up, get hired! : the Internet job search revolution / Joyce Lain Kennedy
J. Wiley. 1995
HF5382.7 .K458 1995 2nd floor / Reference

Job hunter's sourcebook
Gale Research. Biennial
HF5382.75 .U6 J63 2nd floor / Reference, 1996
Lists of sources for job ads, placement services, employer directories, etc. Arranged by job type or title.

Find a federal job fast! : how to cut the red tape and get hired. / Ronald L. Krannich. 3rd ed.
Impact Publications, 1995
JK716 .K684 1995 2nd floor / Reference

Finding an academic job / Karen Sowers-Hoag and Dianne F. Harrison
Sage Publications. 1998
LB2331.72 .S68 1998 2nd floor

Getting an academic job / Jennie J. Kronenfeld
Sage Publications, c1997.
LB2332.72 .K76 1997 3rd floor

Non-profits and education job finder 1997-2000 / Daniel Lauber
Planning/Communications. 1997.
HF5382.75 .U6 L326 1997 2nd floor / Reference Tables

Planning job choices: diversity edition
National Association of Colleges and Employers. Annual.
HF5382.5 .U5 J5884 2nd floor / Reference Tables, 1996

What color is your parachute? / Richard Nelson Bolles
Ten Speed Press. Annual.
HF5383 .B56 2nd floor / Reference, 1998

back to contents


RÉSUMÉS & COVER LETTERS

101 best résumés / Jay Block
McGraw-Hill. 1997
HF5383 .B534 1997 2nd floor / Reference
Guide to résumé writing, with sample résumés and cover letters.

175 high-impact resumes / Richard H. Beatty
J. Wiley. 1999
HF5383 .B324 1999 2nd floor / Reference
Guide to résumé writing, with sample résumés. Arranged by job title or type.

Cover letters made easy / Patty Marler
VGM Career Horizons. 1996
HF5383 .M288 1996 Basement

Cover letters : proven techniques for writing letters that will help you get the job you want / Taunee Besson
Wiley. 1995
HF5383 .B434 1995 2nd floor / Reference Tables

Cover letters that knock 'em dead / Martin John Yate. 3rd ed.
Adams Media Corp. 1998
HF5383 .Y378 1998 Basement
Comprehensive guide to writing cover letters. Includes many sample letters for different situations and job types.

Customizing your résumé for teaching positions / Edward G. Pultorak
University Press of America. 1993
LB1780 .P85 1993 3rd floor

Designing the perfect résumé : a unique "idea" book filled with hundreds of sample résumés created using WordPerfect software / Pat Criscito
Barron's. 1995
HF5383 .C74 1995 2nd floor / Reference Tables

High impact resumes and letters : how to communicate your qualifications to employers / Ronald L. Krannich. 7th ed.
Impact Publications. 1998
Guide to writing résumés and cover letters. Also provides information on Internet job searching. HF5383 .K7 1998 Basement / Reference

Just Resumes : 200 powerful and proven successful resumes to get that job / Kim Marino. 2nd ed.
Wiley. 1997
HF5383 .M285 1997 2nd floor / Reference Tables

The résumé writer's handbook / Michael Holley Smith. 2nd ed.
HarperPerennial. 1993
HF5383 .S63 1993 Basement

Résumé writing : a comprehensive how-to-do-it guide / Burdette E. Bostwick. 4th ed.
Wiley. 1990
HF5383 .B57 1990 Basement

Résumés for the 50+ job hunter
Career Horizons, c. 1995
HF5383 .R453 1995 Basement

Résumés in cyberspace : your complete guide to a computerized job search / Pat Criscito
Barron's. 1997
HF5383 .C744 1997 2nd Floor / Reference Tables

back to contents

 

 

 

JOB INTERVIEWS

Decisional dialogues in a cultural context : structured exercises / Paul Pedersen
Sage Publications. 1997
HF5549.5 .I6 P42 1997 Basement

Help! My job interview is tomorrow! / Mary Ellen Templeton. 2nd ed.
Neal-Schuman Publishers. 1997
HF5381 .T26 1997 Basement / Reference

Knock 'em dead 1998 / Martin John Yate
Adams Media Corp. 1998
HF5549.5 .I6 Y37 1998 2nd floor / Reference
Detailed guide to interviewing for jobs.

Managing the interview : a how-to-do-it manual for hiring staff / Susan Carol Curzon.
Neal-Schuman Publishers. 1995.
HF5549.5 .I6 C87 1995 Basement

The preemployment process : avoiding impermissible inquiries and the effect of the Americans with Disabilities Act / Janet Little Horton
National Organization on Legal Problems of Education. 1993
KF3457.7 .Z9 H67 1993 3rd Floor

The smart woman's guide to interviewing and salary negotiation / Julie Adair King
Career Press. 1995
HF5382.6 .K56 1993 Basement

Sweaty palms : the neglected art of being interviewed / H. Anthony Medley
Ten Speed Press. 1992
HF5549.5 .I6 M35 1992 Basement

back to contents


CAREER DEVELOPMENT

The sources in this section describe the specifics of various careers and job types, give information on building job skills, and provide advice on how women, individuals of racial or ethnic groups, individuals of sexual minority groups, and individuals with disabilities can prevail in the face of job discrimination.

The 100 best companies for gay men and lesbians / Ed Mickens
Pocket Books. 1994
HF5382 .M48 1994 Basement

Breaking through : the making of minority executives in corporate America / David A. Thomas, John J. Gabarro
Harvard Business School Press. 1999
HD38.25 .U6 T47 1999 Basement

Career development and transition education for adolescents with disabilities / Gary M. Clark. 2nd ed.
Allyn and Bacon. 1995
LC4031 .C59 1995 3rd floor

Cracking the corporate closet : the 200 best (and worst) companies to work for, buy from, and invest in if you're gay or lesbian--and even if you aren't / Daniel B. Baker, Sean O'Brien Strub, and Bill Henning, in association with the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Policy Institute.
HarperBusiness. 1995
HF5382.685 .B35 1995 Basement

The encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance
J. G. Ferguson. Irregular
HF5381 .E52 2nd floor / Reference, 2000
Complete guide to career development. Articles describe various careers including training and educational requirements, job conditions, prospects, trends, earnings, advancement opportunities, etc. Also includes a section on career guidance.

JobSmarts 50 top careers / Bradley G. Richardson
HarperPerennial. 1997
HF5382.5 .U5 R49 1997 2nd floor Reference Tables / Reference
Outlines responsibilities, prospects, trends, etc. for 50 careers.

Job strategies for people with disabilities : enable yourself for today's job market / Melanie Astaire Witt
Peterson's Guides. 1992
HV1568.5 .W58 1992 4th floor

The management skills builder : self-directed learning strategies for career development / Ralph S. Hambrick
Praeger. 1991
HF5718 .H283 1991 Basement

The minority career guide : what African Americans, Hispanics, and Asian Americans must know to succeed in corporate America / Michael F. Kastre, et al.
Peterson's. 1993
HF5382.5 .U5 K37 1993 2nd Floor / Reference

Occupational outlook handbook
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Biennial
HF5382.5 .U5 O23 Basement / Reference Desk, 2000/01
http://www.bls.gov/oco/
Comprehensive guide to occupations, providing detailed information on a variety of careers, including job responsibilities and conditions, prospects for earnings, advancement, and benefits, and career and industry trends.

Occupational outlook quarterly
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Veterans Administration. Quarterly
HF5381 .A1 O37 Basement, 1964- / Most recent issue in Current Periodicals on 3rd Floor
Magazine providing information similar to the Occupational outlook handbook, but on a quarterly basis, with different careers and jobs described each issue.

Self-assessment and career development. 3rd ed.
Prentice Hall. 1992
HF5381 .S473 1992 Basement

Social work career development : a handbook for job hunting and career planning / Carol Nesslein Doelling
National Association of Social Workers. 1997
HV10.5 .D63 1997 3rd Floor

Specialty occupational outlook. Professions
Gale Research. Biennial
HD8038 .A1 S66 Basement / 2nd Floor Reference, 1995
Describes trends in professional careers, with information on career advancement, job responsibilities, earnings, job conditions, etc.

Specialty occupational outlook. Trade & technical
Gale Research. Biennial
HF5382.5 .U5 S594 Basement / 2nd Floor Reference, 1996
Describes trends in trade and technical careers, with information on career advancement, job responsibilities, earnings, job conditions, etc.

Successful job search strategies for the disabled : understanding the ADA / Jeffrey G. Allen
J. Wiley. 1994
HV1568.5 .A48 1994 3rd Floor

The teacher career cycle : understanding and guiding the professional development of teachers / Ralph Fessler
Allyn and Bacon. 1992
LB1775 .F44 1992 3rd Floor

Using assessment results for career development / Vernon G. Zunker 5th ed.
Brooks/Cole Pub. Co. 1998
HF5381 .Z87 1998 Basement

back to contents


JOB LISTINGS & JOB PLACEMENT

This section provides access to online sources for job advertisements and career development advice & assistance.

America’s job bank
U.S. Department of Labor and the Public Employment Service.
A database of job advertisements, free to both employer/advertisers and job seekers.

CareerBuilder
Job listings from six of the country's largest newspapers including the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, and the Washington Post.

Careers in business
Career path information on finance, investment banking, management consulting, accounting and real estate.

Oregon Employment Department
State of Oregon database of job listings.

The Employment guide’s career web
Nationwide job listings.

Jobdango
Job listings in the Pacific Northwest.

jobNET
State University of West Georgia.
Contains employment information and resources for job finding such as interviewing and resume writing.

JobStar
A Northern California Job Search Guide with a wealth of information on career fields, salaries, and bay area market trends.

Jobweb
National Association of Colleges and Employers.
Contains all types of career planning information and job search guides.

Monster.com
A "career network" providing access to job advertisements, résumé advice and information, and more.

O*NET online
Provides information on occupations, including information on job responsibilities and conditions, prospects for earnings, advancement and benefits, and career and industry trends, as well as information on accommodations/assistive technology, disabilities and related workplace issues.

Portland State University Career Center
Portland State University
Career development and job search resources (cover letter, resume writing, and interviewing skills) assistance provided for Portland State University (PSU) students and alumni.

back to contents


 

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home


Page maintained by:
webmaster

Last updated 6/9/04 by library staff.

 
Last updated: