PSU Library Logo
 
 

Chemistry

   

Chemistry

Chemistry is a vast subject area which encompasses many sub-areas and also integrates into many other fields. It is most generally defined as the study of the composition, structure, and properties of substances and the transformations that they undergo.  Below you will find resources to get you started doing research in inorganic, organic, analytical, physical, and biological chemistry.

See also related guides Physics | Biology | Environmental Science
   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias and Reference Works |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Call Numbers | Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book QD65 .H3 (Latest in Reference)
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Cleveland, Ohio : CRC Press, c1977- 

This is published annually.  Older editions can be found in the stacks.
book RS51 .M4 (Reference)
The Merck index
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 

Please ask at the Reference Desk to see the current edition.
CD ROM source

RS51 .M42
The Merck index on CD-ROM
London, UK : Chapman & Hall EPD, 1996. 

book TP9 .E685 1991 (Reference) 
Encyclopedia of chemical technology, 4th edition
Executive editor, Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz ; editor, Mary Howe-Grant. New York : Wiley, c1991-<c1998 > 

25 volumes plus indexes and supplements. 
book QD95 .E55 2000 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of spectroscopy and spectrometry / editor-in-chief, John C. Lindon ; editors, George E. Tranter, John L. Holmes. San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.

3 volumes 
psu-only access via the web

QD95 .E55 2000 ONLINE
Encyclopedia of spectroscopy and spectrometry / editor-in-chief, John C. Lindon ; editors, George E. Tranter, John L. Holmes. San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.
http://dx.doi.org/10.1006/rwsp.2000

"Access for a limited period to an on-line version ... is included in the purchase price of the print" 

book QC762 .S3  (Reference)
Nuclear magnetic resonance spectra / Sadtler Research Laboratories, Inc., Philadelphia, PA. : The Laboratories,
PSU has:  v.1-106 1966-93
book QC457 .C686  (Reference)
Evaluated infrared reference spectra
Coblentz Society.  Philadelphia, Pa. : Coblentz Society ; distributed by Sadtler Research Laboratories, 
PSU has:  v.1- c1959-
book QD257.7 .W67 2001 (Reference)
Handbook of organic compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra featuring polymers and surfactants / Jerry
Workman, Jr., San Diego, Calif. : Academic Press, c2001. 

3 volumes
book TP202
Chemical supplier catalogs (Aldrich, Fluka, Sigma, TCI)

 

Go to top of page

   

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web  SciFinder Scholar - 1906- . Online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. Inquire at Reference Desk to log in.

Go to top of page

   

 

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means all, of the journals of interest in Chemistry are available online. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

psu-only access via the web Chemistry Journals Online

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
QD 1 - 65 General Chemistry 
QD 71-142 Analytical Chemistry 
QD146-197 Inorganic Chemistry 
QD241-441 Organic Chemistry 
QD415-436  Biochemistry 
QD450-801  Physical Chemistry 
QP501-801 Animal Biochemistry 
TP Chemical Technology 

 

Go to top of page

   

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www resource  American Chemical Society, http://www.acs.org
www resource  Royal Society of Chemistry, http://www.rsc.org

 

Go to top of page

   

 

Web Resources

www resource Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds 
http://www.aist.go.jp/RIODB/SDBS/menu-e.html
www resource NIST Chemistry WebBook
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
www resource NIST Standard Reference Data Products
http://www.nist.gov/srd/
www resource ChemWeb (requires registration but membership is free)
http://www.chemweb.com/

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Guides Page

Page developed by:
Gretta Siegel
Please send comments to:
Gretta Siegel

Last updated: