PSU Library Logo
Chicano/Latino Studies

 

This list of resources is intended as a guide to beginning research in Chicano/Latino Studies at PSU Library. All of the reference works listed here can be found on the 2nd Floor of Millar Library, in the Research and Learning Center. For information about the program at Portland State University, see the Chicano/Latino Studies Web site. For help with research, contact Jennifer Dorner, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian, at dorner@pdx.edu or 503-725-4125.

Sections of this guide:

Starting Your Research  | Facts & Figures  | People & Organizations  

Finding Articles   |  Finding Books | Web Resources|  Full Text Journals

  
Reference resources provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America / contributing editor, Rudolph J. Vecoli ; edited by Judy Galens, Anna Sheets, Robyn V. Young.
Location: Reference E184 .A1 G14 1995

The Latino encyclopedia / editors, Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán.
Location: Reference E184 .S75 L357 1996

Harvard encyclopedia of American ethnic groups / Stephan Thernstrom, editor ; Ann Orlov, managing editor, Oscar Handlin, consulting editor.
Location: Reference E184 .A1 H35

Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States / general editors, Nicolás Kanellos, Claudio Esteva-Fabregat.
Location: Reference E184 .S75 H365 1993

Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites / Cheryl Russell.
Location: Reference E184 .A1 R78 2002

Reference library of Hispanic America / Nicolás Kanellos, editor.
Location: Reference E184 .S75 R44 1993
  Section separator
Facts & Figures
These resources will provide statistics, definitions, tables, and other detailed information specific to Chicano/Latino Studies.
Atlas of American diversity / Larry Hajime Shinagawa, Michael Jang.
Location: Reference E184 .A1 S575 1998

The Hispanic-American almanac : a reference work on Hispanics in the United States / Nicolás Kanellos [editor].
Location: Reference E184 .S75 H557 1993

Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
Location: Reference E184 S75 2003

Hispanic databook of U.S. cities and counties
/ compiled by the research staff of Toucan Valley Publications, Inc.
Location: Reference E184 .S75 H567 1994

We the people : an atlas of America's ethnic diversity
/ James Paul Allen, Eugene James Turner.
Location: Maps G1201 .E1 A4 1988 OVERSIZE
  Section Separator
People & Organizations
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United States : the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers / edited by Nicolás Kanellos.
Location: Reference PQ7420.2 .K3 1989

Notable Latino Americans :a biographical dictionary / Matt S. Meier
Location: E184 .S75 M435 1997
Electronic Copy

Notable Hispanic American women / edited by Diane Telgen and Jim Kamp, foreword by Graciela Beecher.
Location: E184 .S75 N68 1993

St. James guide to Hispanic artists: profiles of Latino and Latin American artists /with a preface by Fatima Bercht ; editor, Thomas Riggs.
Location: N6538.H58 S7 2002

A biographical handbook of Hispanics and United States film / Gary D. Keller with the assistance of Estela Keller.
Location: Reference PN1995.9 .H47 K46 1997

Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia of film and television / Luis Reyes and Peter Rubie.
Location: Reference PN1995.9 .H47 R49 1994

Hispanic writers: a selection of sketches from Contemporary authors / Bryan Ryan, editor.
Location: Reference PQ7081.3 .H58 1991

Latinas!: women of achievement / Diane Telgen, Jim Kamp, editors ; foreword by Nicholasa Mohr.
Location: PSU Reference E184 .S75 L354 1996

  Section separator
Finding Articles
To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic.
HAPI, Hspanic American periodicals index
Location: 1990-Present REF Z1605 .H16; 1970/4-1989 Shelves Z1605 .H16
Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States since 1970. HAPI citations are in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and other languages. HAPI citations do not include abstracts.
America History and Life
Citations to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Citations drawn from over 2,000 journals in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Includes citations to book reviews (appearing in 100 major history journals) and dissertations.

Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the late 19th century to the present.

Human Relations Area File (Electronic HRAF)
The Electronic HRAF began in 1995 with full text material on 15 culture area files. The original HRAF database contains full text information on over 360 cultures and may be found in the microfiche cabinets on the Social Science/Education Floor of PSU Library. As of April, 1995, publication of HRAF material in microfiche has ceased. Retrospective conversion, updates, and material on additional culture groups will now be available only in electronic form. The database may be searched by name of the culture, cultural trait (e.g., religion, initiation, ), or a combination. Helpful guides are The Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) which describes this system of 88 broad categories of traits and The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) which lists culture groups by geographic area and name. Print versions of these guides area located on the index table with anthropological indexes and abstracts.

Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

  Section separator
Finding Books
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Chicano/Latino Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.
Mexican Americans (LC uses this term rather than "Chicanos")
Hispanic Americans (LC uses this term rather than "Latinos")
Cuban Americans
Education, Bilingual
Hispanic Americans Ethnic Identity
Mexican Americans Ethnic Identity
Mexican American Women
Migrant Agricultural Laborers
  Section Separator
Web Resources
Andanzas al Web Latino
Compiled by Molly Molloy, New Mexico State University Library
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/bord/latino.html

CLNet
UCLA Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies
http://clnet.sscnet.ucla.edu

Hispanic Vista

Sal Osio, Sr. and Patrick Osio, Jr.
http://www.hispanicvista.com

UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center Library Online Resources
http://www.chicano.ucla.edu/library/resources.html

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
University of Texas at Austin
http://lanic.utexas.edu/index.html

Recommended US Latino Websites
by Susan A. Vega García, Iowa State University
http://www.public.iastate.edu/~savega/us_latin.htm
  Section Separator
These may be accessed from the PSU Library Electronic Journals Webpage.

Bilingual Review

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies

Centro Journal

Chicano/Latino Law Review

Hispania

Hispanic

Hispanic American Historical Review

Hispanic Business

Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences

Hispanic News

Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education

Hipanic Research Journal

Hispanic Review

Hispanic Times Magazine

Hispanic Trends

Hopscotch

Latino Studies

Nepantla

Small Axe

 

Online Magazines and Journals Available on the WWW

Al Borde
www.alborde.com

American Latino
www.politicomagazine.com

 

Page developed by:
Jennifer Dorner and updated by Lauren Ray
Please send comments to:
dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: