Important Universities, Research Institutions
and Libraries for Chinese Studies
Academic Institutions
http://sun.sino.uni-heidelberg.de/igcs/iginst.htm
Part of the World Wide Web Virtural Library project.
China Academic Library & Information System
http://www.calis.edu.cn
Union catalog of books and periodicals held in major university
libraries in China. Also includes databases
on various subjects.
Chinese Cultural Studies—Images
http://acc6.its.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~phalsall/images.html
Contains picture files on the Booklyn College Core 9 Chinese
Culture Web site. Divided into: Maps,
Archaeology, Art, Divinities, People, Historical Sites, etc.
Chinese Serials Database (Australian National University Library)
http://www.anu.edu.au/Asia/Chin/ChiSer.html
A joint project sponsored by Australian National University
Library and the National Library of China.
Titles selected cover ecoomics, politics, law, the environment, and population
issues.
Chinese Text Initiative (University of Virginia Library)
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/chinese/index.html
Sponsored by the U. of Virginia Library East Asian Section
and the Electronic Text Center in an effort to make texts (in both Chinese and
English) of Chinese literature available on the Web, including 300 Tang Poems
and Dream of the Red Chamber.
Digital Chinese Library, Center for Chinese Studies Library,
UC Berkeley
http://library.berkeley.edu/CCSL/
European Association of Sinological Librarias
http://www.uni-kiel.de:8080/ORIENTALISTIK/easl/easl.html
Gateway Service Center of Chinese Academic Journal Publications
(University of Pittsburgh)
http://www.library.pitt.edu/gateway/
Provides free delivery of full-text copies of Chinese language
academic journal articles to any researcher in the U.S. Journal publications
are transmitted digitally from the following institutions: Peking Univ. Library,
Shanghai Jiatong Univ. Library, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong Library, Fu Ssu-nien
Library of Academia Sinica (Taiwan), Univ. of Pittsburgh East Asian Library,
Tsinghua Univ. Library, and Fudan Univ. Library.
Harvard-Yenching Library Chinese Studies Online Resources
http://hcl.harvard.edu/harvard-yenching/chinadatabase.html
Includes links to databases, electronic journals and newspapers, as well
as other Chinese resources. A very extensive site.
National Central Library (Taiwan)
http://www.ncl.edu.tw/ (Graphics Mode)
http://www.ncl.edu.tw/tncl1.htm
(Text Mode: faster)
Provides access to many of NCL’s online databases, i.e.
union catalog of major university library collections in Taiwan, Chinese periodicas
directory, current contents of Chinese periodicals, index to Chinese periodical
literature, catalog of ROC government publications, dissertation abstracts,
and literary resources, etc. Chinese
input software (Big 5 code) needed to search databases.
National Library of China
http://www.nlc.gov.cn/english.htm
The Library has a rich collection of 22,400,000 volumes,
ranking fifth in the libraries of the world. In the collection there are 270,000
volumes of rarebooks; 1,600,000 volumes of general ancient books; 35,000 pieces
of the scripted turtle shells and animal bones. There are 170,000 titles of
Chinese books which have been digitized into e-books with relevant bibliographic
records and tables of contents. Anyone who has the membership can use the collection
on web. The Library has collection of more than 4000 multimedia CD-ROMs published
both at home and abroad. The remote access to the CD-ROM databases is available
for the users who have registered at the National Library of China.
UCLA Center for Chinese Studies
http://www.isop.ucla.edu/ccs/
Universität Heidelberg
http://sun.sino.uni-heidelberg.de