
For more resources on teaching, see the Education
subject guide. For more resources on linguistics, see the Applied
Linguistics subject guide.
The
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)
The
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
REF P51 .R66 2000
Ancient
Writers: Greece and Rome
REF PA3002 .A5 1982
Concise
Dictionary of Greek Literature
REF PA31 .M29
Concise
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Crowell's
Handbook of Classical Drama
REF PA3024 .H35
Crowell's
Handbook of Classical Literature
REF PA31 .F4
Gales
Literary Index
Reference Index, Z6511 .G35.
A master index to 43 literary series published by Gale. Use this resource
to find biographical entries on authors and critical analysis of literary
works. Indexes such resources as Ancient Writers and Classical
and Medieval Literature Criticism.
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000
REF PA31 .G7
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
REF DE5 .H34 1969
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
REF PA31 .H69 1989
Who's
Who in the Classical World
A dictionary of ancient biography that provides short entries on individuals
from every aspect of ancient life, including Greek and Roman writers,
thinkers, artists, scientists, statesmen, kings, queens, and other historical
figures.

Project
Muse: Scholarly journals online
Holds over 100 full text scholarly journals online in the arts &
humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for
the journals are scant. Important for this subject are Comparative
Literature Studies (1999-present), Language
(2001-present), Linguistic
Inquiry (2000-present), and Studies
in Philology (2003).

To find articles on a specific topic in journals, magazines,
or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes
or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look
for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your
topic.
Humanities
Index 1984-present
AI3 .H8, Print edition in Reference covers 1975-present.
Citations to about English-language periodicals in the areas of archaeology,
classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music,
linguistics, literature, and religion. Provides article citations
to the major journals in these disciplines.
L'Année Philologique
PSU REF (some volumes on 5th floor) Z7016 .M35A
An index to literature on Greco-Roman archaelogy, history, law, linguistics
and literature, philosophy, science and technology from about 2000
BCE to 800 CE. It is written in French, but indexes about 1500 publications
written in various Western languages.
Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
P1 .L15, Print edition in Reference covers 1994-present; volumes for
1983-1993 are on the 4th floor.
This resource covers all aspects of the study of language and linguistics.
MLA
International Bibliography 1963-present
Z7006 .M64, Print edition in Reference covers the years 1921-?
For literature as a whole, this is the single most important bibliography.
The Modern Language Association's bibliography covers literature,
languages, linguistics and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series
published worldwide.
Nestor
http://asweb.artsci.uc.edu/classics/nestor/nestor.html
Published monthly by the department of Classics at the University
of Cincinnati, Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies,
Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The
Web site includes a searchable database.

Vikat, the online
catalog, will help you locate books in PSU's library. You can search
by keyword, but often subject heading searching can be more productive.
Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research
in Spanish. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress
Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the
library. Most books are located on the 4th floor of the Millar library
under the call numbers begining PA201 (Greek language), PA2001 (Latin
language), PA3000 (Classical literature), PA3050 (Greek literature),
and PA6000 (Roman literature).
Subject headings:
Classical literature
Classical languages
Greek language
Latin language
Greece -- antiquities
Rome -- antiquities
For literary criticism, use the term "Criticism" and the
name of an author or title in the catalog to find books analyzing
specific author's works. For example: enter criticism Plato as a general
keyword search in the catalog. Other useful subject headings may include:
Literature - History and Criticism, Rhetoric, Deconstruction, Feminist
Criticism, Formalism, and Literary Analysis.
Summit
If you are not able to find what you need in VIKAT, do the same
searches in SUMMIT, the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance. You
can request items through SUMMIT and they will be delivered to Millar
Library for you in two working days.
WorldCat
If you have no luck in Vikat or Summit, try WorldCat. This resource
contains more than 30 million records for materials cataloged by the
libraries around the world, including most academic and many public
libraries in the U.S. Items found here can be requested through Interlibrary
Loan, directly through the catalog.
Electronic
Text Collections in Western European Literature - Greek
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html#greek
Electronic
Text Collections in Western European Literature - Latin
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html#latin
Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu/
Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
Tufts University maintains this digital library of resources for the
study of the ancient world. Contains hundreds of texts by the major
ancient authors as well as catalog entries for over 2,800 vases, sculptures,
coins, buildings, and sites, including over 13,000 photographs of
such objects.

American Classical League
http://www.aclclassics.org/
American Philological Association
http://www.apaclassics.org/
The Classics Pages
http://www.classicspage.com/
This site includes "over 900 pages of news, information, games and
controversy about the life, literature, art, and archaeology of ancient
Greece and Rome."
|