PSU Library logo

Commodities and Futures

 

 

Handbooks, Manuals and Guides | Statistics/Pricing | Commodities Exchanges | Journals and News | Web Resources

 

What is a commodity?
COMMODITY: any tangible good; product that is the subject of sale or barter. Bulk goods such as grains, metals, and foods are traded on a commodities exchange or on the SPOT MARKET. (From Barron's Dictionary of Business Terms)

Handbooks, Manuals and Guides

Commodity futures trading: Bibliography 1976-1995
Z7164 .F5 C6 2nd Floor / Reference, 1995

Handbook of World Stock and Commodity Exchanges
HG4551 .H34 2nd Floor / Reference, 1992

The Irwin Guide to Stocks, Bonds, Futures, and Options : A Comprehensive Guide to Wall Street's Markets (Chapter 14 - Futures), 2001
Available via NetLibrary - Requires a NetLibrary account. See here for instructions.

Statistics and Pricing

CRB Commodity Yearbook
Knight-Ridder Financial. Annual
HF1041 .C56 2nd floor / Reference, 2003

Statistical Universe
Database of statistical tables compiled from government and non-governmental sources. Includes a search by commodity. Can limit by country or by dates.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook
International Monetary Fund.
HG3881 .I627 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003

UNCTAD commodity yearbook
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
JX1977 .A2 / Gov. Info. Microfiche - 4th Floor

OECD agricultural outlook
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Annual publication on agricultural commodities
HD1401 .A338 Basement, 2003

Commodity Market Review 2001-2002 - Available Online
Commodities and Trade Division, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

 

Commodities Exchanges and Related Web Sites

Each exchange differs in what products are traded there. Most of these exchanges offer good tutorials and FAQs about the commodities markets and more specifically about the products traded on their exchange.

Chicago Mercantile Exchange
www.cme.com
(beef, dairy, livestock, hogs, lumber)

New York Mercantile Exchange (includes COMEX for metals)
www.nymex.com
(energy, fuels, metals)

Chicago Board of Trade
www.cbot.com
(agricultural products, metals, gold and silver)

Chicago Board Options Exchange
www.cboe.com
(includes link to a Learning Center with basic information on Options)

New York Board of Trade
www.nybot.com
(coffee, sugar, cocoa, cotton, ethanol)

Kansas City Board of Trade
www.kcbt.com
(wheat)

Minneapolis Grain Exchange
www.mgex.com
(wheat, corn, soybeans)

 

Journals and Commodities News Sources

Journal of Futures Markets
HG6001 .J68 Basement (latest issues in Current Periodicals on 3rd floor)

Futures
Direct link to full text articles in database.

Wall Street Journal
Direct link to full text articles in database.

Investor's Business Daily
Direct link to full text articles in database.

 

Web Resources

Commodities Futures Trading Commission
http://www.cftc.gov/cftc/cftchome.htm
The Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) was created by Congress in 1974 as an independent agency with the mandate to regulate commodity futures and option markets in the United States. Their web site has a good explanation of how the futures markets operate and how they are regulated. They also provide an excellent Online Glossary.

Commodity Statistics and Information from the USGS
http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/commodity/
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply, demand, and flow of minerals. Best place to get historical data for minerals.

INO.com
http://www.ino.com/
Commercial web site with free quotes and charts for current data.

Bloomburg.com Commodities Futures
http://bloomberg.com/markets/commodities/cfutures.html
Commercial web site with free current data.

TFC Commodity Charts
http://tfc-charts.w2d.com/
This is a source of daily commodity futures and financial market information. TFC tracks commodities and financial indicators, making the information available in the form of free online charts and intraday commodity quotes. Also links to a basic introduction to Commodities Trading and an online Glossary

Stock and Commodities Exchanges - Rutgers University Libraries
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/stocks.shtml

 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home

Page developed by Elizabeth Howell.
Last updated: June 9, 2004 by Library staff.

PSU Home Page
Last updated: