PSU Library Logo
Conflict Resolution

This selected guide to resources will get you started on your research in Conflict Resolution. This guide focuses on the area of international conflict resolution, but resources related to conflict resolution can be found in the literature of other fields as well, including sociology, business, psychology, education, etc. If your research is in any of these areas, you should explore the specific Subject Guides for these disciplines. For information about Conflict Resolution Studies at Portland State University, see the Conflict Resolution Web site. For help with research, contact Jennifer Dorner, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian, at dorner@pdx.edu or 503-725-4125.

 

  

Starting Your Research

Reference resources provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.

Aggression and Conflict: A cross-cultural encyclopedia / David Levinson.
Location: HM136 .L46 1994 3rd floor

The atlas of war and peace
/ Dan Smith, with Ane Brĉin.
Location: G1046.R1 S6 2003 Basement

Encyclopedia of arms control and disarmament / ed. by Richard Dean Burns
Location: JX1974 .E57 1993 Reference

Encyclopedia of international peacekeeping operations / Oliver Ramsbotham and Tom Woodhouse
Location: JZ6374 .R36 1999 Reference

Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts / ed. by Joseph R. Rudolph, Jr.
Location: GN496 .E56 2003 Reference

Encyclopedia of violence, peace & conflict / ed. by Lester Kurtz
Location: HM886 .E53 1999 Reference

International conflict : a chronological encyclopedia of conflicts and their management, 1945-1995 / Jacob Bercovitch and Richard Jackson.
Location: D842 .B46 1997 Reference

Peace law almanac / ed. by Ann Fagan Ginger
Location: JX1952 .P337 1996 Reference

Peace movements of the world / ed. by Alan J. Day.
Location: JX1905.5 .P426 1986 Reference

The peace and nuclear war dictionary / Sheikh R. Ali.
Location: U263 .A434 1989 Reference

Peace, security, and conflict prevention : SIPRI-UNESCO handbook
Location: JZ5595 .P43 1998 3rd Floor

Protest, power, and change : an encyclopedia of nonviolent action from ACT-UP to women's suffrage / ed. by Roger S. Powers and William B. Vogele
Location: HM278 .P76 1997 3rd Floor

SIPRI yearbook: world armaments and disarmament
Location: UA10 .I55 Reference

World encyclopedia of peace / honorary editor-in-chief, Linus Pauling
Location: JX1944 .W67 1986 Reference

  
People & Organizations

American peace writers, editors, and periodicals : a dictionary / Nancy L. Roberts
Location: JX1962 .A2 R63 1991 Reference

Biographical dictionary of modern peace leaders / editor-in-chief, Harold Josephson
Location: JX1962 .A2 B56 1985 3rd Floor

Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the military in peace and relief operations / Pamela Aall, Daniel T. Miltenberger, and Thomas G. Weiss.
Location: JZ4850 .A17 2000 Reference

  

Finding Articles

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes, bibliographies, or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. This is just a selection of the databases that might be relevant, you may find additional databases to be of use to you.

Alternative press index
Location: AI3 .A27 Reference

Bibliography on peace, security, and international conflict management
Location: Y 3.P 31:17 P 31 Govt Documents Federal (4th Floor)

Combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974 / executive editor, Annadel N. Wile
Location: Z7163 .C65 Reference

Managing Global Issues Project
http://www.ceip.org/files/projects/mgi/network/
Searchable database containing information on approximately 300 hundred experts, 200 institutions, and over 1,000 publications pertaining to the study of managing transnational problems.

PAIS
The database contains abstracts of journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, research reports and government documents covering topics in public and social policy, business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences -- with emphasis on issues that are or might become the subjects of legislation. Covers literature published from 1972-present.

Peace : abstracts of the psychological and behavioral literature, 1967-1990 / editors, Herbert H. Blumberg, Christopher C. French.
Location: Z6464 .Z9 P39 1991 Reference

Peace Research Abstracts Journal
Location: JX1901 .P38 3rd Floor

Peacekeeping Citation List
http://www.cdi.org/issues/pkcite/
Produced by the Center for Defense Information, this list is an annotated, bi-weekly list of recent publications on peacekeeping and multilateral military operations.

Peacekeeping / Terry Kiss
http://www.au.af.mil/au/aul/bibs/peacekp03/peacekp03.htm
A bibliography of source prepared by a Librarian at the Air University Library, Maxwell Air Force Base.

Surviving the nuclear age : a bibliography on nuclear weapons, arms control and disarmament, 1945-1983 / compiled and edited by Ron Purver.
Location: Z6464 .D6 P87 1983 Reference

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Includes citations, indexing and abstracts for journal articles in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers literature published from 1967-present.

Journals

The list below is solely a list of those journals that focus on the topic of peace and conflict resolution. Only those journals for which we have an ongoing subscription are listed; others can be found in our collection. Articles related to conflict resolution topics may be found in the literature of other disciplines.

Our collection includes journals that are available in print, print and online, and online only. The online journals require authentication for off-campus use. Only the most current online subscription is linked. Check Full Text Sources to determine the complete extent of our online subscriptions.

Conflict Management and Peace Science Location: JX1291 .J68 3rd Floor
Development Location: HD82 .I4 Basement
Disarmament: A Periodic Review by the United Nations Location: JX1977 .A2 Govt Info Microfiche
Global Governance
The International Journal of Conflict Management Location: HD42 .I57 Basement
International Journal on World Peace
International Negotiation
International Security
International Studies Location: JX18 .I55 3rd Floor
Journal of Conflict Resolution Location: JX1901 .J6 3rd Floor
Latin American Politics and Society
Orbis Location: D839 .O68 Basement
Peace and Change
Peace Research: Canadian Journal of Peace Studies Location: JX1901 .P4 3rd Floor
Peace Review Location: JZ5511.2 .P429 3rd Floor
Resurgence Location: JX1901 .R43 3rd Floor
World Affairs Location: JX1901 .W7 3rd Floor

Finding Books
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Conflict Resolution. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Some subject headings relate to the resolution of conflict:

Conflict management
Crisis management
Disarmament
Dispute resolution
Family mediation
Interpersonal conflict
Intervention (international law)
Mediation
Negotiation
Nonviolence
Pacific settlement of international disputes
Pacificism
Peace
Reconciliation
Social justice
Violence prevention

Or you may want to approach the topic from the angle of the conflict that needs to be
resolved:


Boundary disputes
Conflict of generations
Culture conflict
Ethnic conflict
Interpersonal disputes
Marital conflict
Social Conflict
War

Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand corner of the results screen. This automatically redoes your search in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.

If you cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (Summit), then you might try WorldCat. WorldCat contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts.

Web Resources

Conflict Research Consortium
http://conflict.colorado.edu/

Conflict Resolution Center International
http://www.conflictres.org

Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution
http://www.gmu.edu/departments/ICAR/index.html

Institute for International Mediation and Conflict Resolution
http://www.iimcr.org/

WWW Virtual Library: Arbitration
http://interarb.com/vl/

 

Page developed by Jennifer Dorner
Please send comments to dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: