PSU Library logo

 

Conservation Biology

 

Conservation biology is an interdisciplinary field which studies the limiting biological factors that govern the fates of species. It is a wide ranging topic - strongly tied to population biology, population genetics, and landscape ecology, while also touching on philosophy, ethics, law, economics, and geography. It has been characterized as a 'crisis-driven, mission oriented' discipline. It's purpose is to develop the knowledge needed to sustain and save as much of the earth's biodiversity as possible. This pathfinder is intended as a helpful starting point for library research in this area.

 

Background Information

Reference books are generally a good place to go for background information. Since this is a relatively new field, you are unlikely to find very many encyclopedia articles about the field of conservation biology. However, there are good reference books that can provide comprehensive information about certain aspects. For general background information, textbooks are recommended. (see section on classifications).

book

Ehrenfeld, David. " Conservation Biology", In: Conservation and environmentalism: an encyclopedia, p.147-148. (GE 10 .C68 1995 - shelved in 5th floor Reference area)

This article gives a brief but comprehensive description of the development of conservation biology as a field of study. It mentions the most important scientists who have made contributions in this area. There are suggestions for further reading as well as cross-references to other helpful articles in this volume.

book

Beacham's guide to international endangered species
(QL82 .B435 1998 - Shelved in 5th floor workroom, request at Reference desk)

This guide provides data and photographs of all mammalian species that have been listed as threatened or endangered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service from 1970 to July 1997. There are 351 entries in two volumes. Also included are species considered to be 'at risk' by The World Conservation Union (IUCN) and The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).. The guide is indexed by scientific and common names, by country and by taxon. Each entry is two to eight pages in length.

book

Encyclopedia of endangered species (QH75 .A1 E53 - Shelved in 5th floor workroom, request at Reference desk)

Similar to Beacham's guide in terms of the sources used for data (USFWS, IUCN, CITES), this volume also contains entries for non-mammalian species. It has a species index, (common and scientific names), and a geographic index. It also contains a lengthy list of wildlife and conservation organizations and their addresses.

book

Oregon's living landscape : strategies and opportunities to conserve biodiversity (QH76.5 .O7 O78 1998 (Shelved in 5th floor workroom, request at Reference desk)

This book describes the work of the Oregon Biodiversity project. Its goal is to present a statewide overview of biodiversity conservation in Oregon. It begins with a section on basic concepts followed by discussion of strategies for conservation. Descriptions of methodologies for assessing and classifying the conservation lands in Oregon are given and the sources for data used are explained. The state is divided into ten 'ecoregions' and 'conservation opportunitiy area' for each region are presented.

Go to top of page  

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library.

When using bibliographic databases, you will need to figure out which 'keywords' work best for your topic. You might start by using some of the subject headings given below. Once you find a few good articles, see which keywords are used to describe them and then modify your search strategy, if needed.

psu-only access via the web

Academic Search Premier
MasterFile Premier

Because conservation biology is 'hot topic', you are likely to find magazine articles about it in MasterFile Premier. Some scholarly articles will also be found in Academic Search Premier.

psu-only access via the web

Environmental Abstracts

This is the best database to use for environmental topics. Most of the articles retrieved will be academic in nature. Coverage is from 1980-present. There is also a link from this database in to 'Environmental Routenet' which is a reference guide to environmental information on the Internet.

Periodicals of interest in this subject area

Peer reviewed, academic journals:
book QH75 .A1 C665

Conservation biology : the journal of the Society for Conservation Biology. Quarterly PSU has: v.6- 1992- (FICHE4:v.1-5,1987-91)

book S900.B5

Biological conservation
PSU has: v.2- Oct.1969-

As one might expect, environmental organizations publish newsletters and magazines in this area. These tend not to be peer reviewed, but may contain interesting articles. Some examples:
book QL671 .A82 Audubon
book S964 .U6 N35 National wildlife.
book QH76 .N32 Nature Conservancy
book QH76 .W553 Wilderness watch

Go to top of page 

Subject Headings

book Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

The most useful subject headings for this topic are:
conservation biology biological diversity conservation
Other subject headings that you might want to consider are:
Endangered species Extinction (biology) Population biology
Nature conservation Fishery conservation
Wetland conservation Wildlife conservation

Go to top of page                          

 

Call Numbers

book Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating informaiton on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks. Because this topic overlaps with several subjects, the books and journals will not all be found in one place. The following classifications are 'neighborhoods' where you will likely find material on this topic:

QH 75-78 Natural history: nature conservation, endangered species, extinction; most of the basic textbooks will be found at QH 75
QH 541.5 biology: ecology by environment
QL 82 zoology: wildlife conservation
QL 752 zoology: animal populations

Go to top of page 

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society
or an organization.

www resource The Society for Conservation Biology (SCB): [http://conbio.rice.edu/scb/]
"The Society is...an international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity. The Society's membership comprises a wide range of people interested in the conservation and study of biological diversity: resource managers, educators, government and private conservation workers, and students. The Society was formed ...to help develop the scientific and technical means for the protection, maintenance, and restoration of life on this planet - its species, its ecological and evolutionary processes, and its particular and total environment."
www resource

Conservation Biology Institute: [http://www.consbio.org]
"The Conservation Biology Institute (CBI) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) founded in 1997. With its main office in Corvallis, Oregon and new office in San Diego, California, the mission of CBI is to help save the diversity of life on this planet in two primary ways: applied conservation research and education. Through our research - alone or in collaboration with others - CBI actively seeks creative new ways to address a wide range of ecological problems from endangered species to regional conservation planning. The objective of our research is to develop better conservation tools, techniques, and analyses that can be used to stop what has been called the sixth great extinction episode on Earth. Our education mission is focused on taking what we and others have learned and transferring that knowledge to the broader conservation community as quickly and as efficiently as possible. In both the research and education components of CBI, we welcome and encourage collaboration at every level."

Go to top of page 

 

Important Resources

Government Publications

There are also several federal agencies that publish numerous reports in this area. Some of these will be found in the same call number ranges as the books, while others will be found in the documents section of the library in the basement. Most of these agencies also have websites for which the URLs are given.

Department of Agriculture U.S. Forest Service [http://www.fs.fed.us/] The U.S. Congress also publishes documents on this subject. Look for these for records and reports about legislative issues.

Department of the Interior
www resource Bureau of Land Management
[http://www.blm.gov]
www resource U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
[http://www.fws.gov/]
www resource Biological Resource Division of the U.S. Geologic Survey
[http://biology.usgs.gov/]
Department of Commerce
www resource National Marine Fisheries Service
[http://www.nmfs.gov/]
www resource National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration [http://www.noaa.gov/]
Department of Agriculture
www resource U.S. Forest Service
[http://www.fs.fed.us/]

Go to top of page

Return to Subject Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:
Gretta Siegel
 
Last updated: