PSU Library Logo
 
 

Counseling

   
Resources for counseling and school counseling

See also related guides Social Work | Education | Psychology
Tests & Measures

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Other Important Resources   |  Subject Headings   |  Call Numbers
Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Encyclopedia Of Disability And Rehabilitation
book Encyclopedia of Special Education : a Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
book Encyclopedia of Psychology
book Galludet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness
book

Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry


v. 1. Infants and preschoolers : development and syndromes -- v. 2. The grade school child : development and syndromes -- v. 3. Adolescence : development and syndromes -- v. 4. Varieties of development -- v. 5. Clinical assessment and intervention planning -- v. 6. Basic psychiatric science and treatment -- v. 7. Advances and new directions.

book

Handbook of child psychology. 5th ed.

v. 1. Theoretical models of human development / Richard M. Lerner, volume editor -- v. 2. Cognition, perception, and language / Deanna Kuhn and Robert S. Siegler, volume editors -- v. 3. Social, emotional, and personality development / Nancy Eisenberg, volume editor -- v. 4. Child psychology in practice / Irving E. Sigel and K. Ann Renninger, volume editors.

Go to top of page

 

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
book Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR
book Learning Disabilities Sourcebook
book Resource Guide to Special Education: Terms, Laws, Assessment Procedures, Organizations
book Special Education Sourcebook
Testing
psu-only access via the web Mental Measurements Yearbook
book Test Critiques
book A Guide to 100 Tests for Special Education
psu-only access via the web Health and Psychosocial Instruments

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
ERIC
THE primary database for education its related disciplines.
  psu-only access via the web ERIC (Ebscohost)
  www source ERIC via Dept of Ed.
 
www source     Online ERIC Thesaurus
psu-only access via the web PsycINFO
The psychology, psychiatry and human development literature
psu-only access via the web Social Work Abstracts
The social work practice literature. Lots of material here about counseling and therapy
psu-only access via the web Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Journal articles discussing tests and measurements. An excellent database to identify a potential testing instrument
psu-only access via the web Mental Measurements Yearbook
Basic information and reviews of commercially published testing instruments
psu-only access via the web Professional Develoment Collection
A full text educator/practitioner journals database. An Ebsco database.
psu-only access via the web Academic Search Premier
A database providing coverage in all subject areas. Good for interdisciplinary inquiry (such as counselors have). Some full text. An Ebsco database.
psu-only access via the web

CINAHL
(Cummulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
This database provides coverage of the nursing and related therapies (occupational, speech hearing, physical) literature.

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in counseling are available online. Below is a selected list of full text counseling journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

 

psu-only access via the web

bookJournal Of Counseling & Development (JCD)

psu-only access via the web

book Measurement And Evaluation In Counseling And Development
psu-only access via the web Adultspan

psu-only access via the web

bookCounseling And Values
psu-only access via the web book The Career Development Quarterly
psu-only access via the web Disability and Rehabilitation
psu-only access via the web Journal of College Counseling
psu-only access via the web bookJournal Of Employment Counseling
psu-only access via the web bookJournal of Multicultural Counseling And Development
psu-only access via the web book Professional School Counseling
psu-only access via the web bookCounselor Education and Supervision
psu-only access via the web Journal of Addictions & Offender Counseling
psu-only access via the web book Journal Of Counseling Psychology
psu-only access via the web APA Online Jourals -- American Psychological Association's 51 journals online full text

 

   

Important Resources

These sources don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.

www source American Counseling Association Code of Ethics
www source APA Citation Sytle Guide
www source APA Citing Electronic Resources

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in school counseling. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
counseling in elemenatry education
counseling in secondary education
educational counseling
community and school
educational tests and measurements
school psychology
education- parent participation
rehabilitation -- counseling
marriage counseling
family psychotherapy
family counseling

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
LB 1027.5  School Counseling
RC 321-571 Neurology and Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry, Diseases of the Nervous System
RC 554 -569.5 Personality Disorders, Behavior Problems (including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse)
RF 110-320 Otology, Diseases of the Ear
RJ 496 Language, speech and hearing disorders and development
LC 3950-4806.5 Exceptional Children and Youth, Special Education
BF 712-724.85 Developmental Psychology
BF 721-723 Child Psychology
HD7255.5 Rehabilitation Counseling
HQ 767.8-792.2 Children, Child Development (including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights)
   
HV       Social Service to:
  701-1420.5 Children
  873-887 Destitute, Neglected, and Abandoned Children
  888-907 Handicapped Children
  1421 -1441 Young Adults, Youth, Teenagers
  1494 - 4013 Persons with specific disabilities

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www source American Counseling Association
www source Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs
www source American School Counselor Association
www source American Rehabilitation Counseling Association
www source International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

www source Child & Family Web Guide
www source School Psychology Net

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

  PSU Library Home
Page developed and maintained by:
Sarah Beasley
Education/Social Science Librarian

 

Last updated: