PSU Library logo

 

Disability Studies

 

 

Reference and Other Books in PSU Library

book Handbook of disability studies
book Handbook of rehabilitation psychology
book Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation
book

Plaintext -- Nancy Mairs
includes widely anthologized essay "On Being a Cripple"

Other works by Nancy Mairs

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are a few of the subject headings of interest for research in disability studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 

book

Disability Studies
Sociology of Disability
People with Disabilities
Subject headings for persons with specific disabilities

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
book

HV 1568 - 3200 -- Disability Studies and Services to Persons with Disabilities

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Academic Search Premiere
General, interdisciplinary database; some coverage in all disciplines including social sciences, humanities and health sciences. Many articles will be available in full text.
psu-only access via the web Anthropological Literature
Indexing and citations covering the academic research literature in anthropological journals and books.
psu-only access via the web ERIC
Indexing, citations and abstracts for journal articles and documents addressing all aspects of education and training from preschool through postsecondary.
psu-only access via the web

Exceptional Child Education Resource
Indexing, citations and abstracts for journal articles and documents related to Education, training, advocacy and service issues for individuals with exceptionality. Coverage includes children and adults.

psu-only access via the web Medline
Indexing, citations and abstracts for journal articles in the medical and biomedical sciences.
psu-only access via the web PsycINFO
Indexing, citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in psychology and related human behavior fields.
psu-only access via the web Social Sciences Index
Indexing and citaitons for core journals in the social sciences including psychology, economics, anthropology, sociology, education, womens studies and political science.

Go to top of page

 

Journals

As Disability Studies is a interdiscplinary field, there are many, many journals that will be of interest. A few of those journals are listed here.

psu-only access via the web Journal of Disability Policy Studies
www resource Disability Studies Quarterly
(not online yet, but any moment)
psu-only access via the web Disability and rehabilitation

 

Go to top of page

 

Web Resources

Academic Programs
www resource Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago - Disability Studies Program
www resource Disabilty Studies at Syracuse University
www resource Center for Disability Studies -- University of Hawaii
Organizations
www resource National Disabled Student Union
www resource Society for Disability Studies
Disability Studies Resource Guides on the Web
www resource Society for Disabilities Studies guide
www resource University of Illinois at Chicago Disability Studies Program resouce links

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Send comments to:
Sarah Beasley
 
Last updated: