PSU Library logo

 

Economics Internet Resources

 

Economic Indicators | Trade | Working Papers | International Information & Statistics | Country Information | Oregon | Economic Resources Meta Sites

 

 

ECONOMIC INDICATORS

Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Department of Commerce
Prepares estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy. Provides an Overview of the U.S. Economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Department of Labor
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Includes Economy at a Glance. Provides Producer and Consumer Price Indices (CPI).

The Dismal Scientist
Quick answers for a wide range of current Federal and regional economic statistics.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
The White House
Links to current Federal economic indicators produced by a number of Federal agencies. Includes production, output, prices, international statistics, etc.

Economagic.com : Economic Time Series Page
Data series available include: Interest Rates, Industrial Production, Capacity, Utilization, Electric Power Use, House Sales, Starts, Permits, State Civilian Labor Force, MSA Civilian Labor Force, State and City Employment, International Employment and Prices, Consumer Price Index by Item and Place, Producer Price Index by Product, etc.

Federal Reserve Board : Statistics : Releases and Historical Data
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Includes daily, weekly, and monthly releases on interest and exchange rates, money stock, etc.

FEDSTATS
Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy
This site provides access to statistics from more than 70 Federal Agencies. Provides an alphabetical index and search capabilities.

Government Information Sharing Project
Oregon State University
Provides search interface for population and economic data from Federal sources.

Regional Review
First Union Corporation
Regional and real estate economics.

Social Statistics Briefing Room
The White House
Information included in the Social Statistics Briefing Room is maintained and updated by the statistical units of numerous Federal Agencies agencies.

STAT-USA (Portland State University only)
Includes access to State of the Nation with current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data from the Federal Government and Globus & NTDB providing current and historical trade related data and information.


 

TRADE

Foreign Trade Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau
Various publications, available in .html and/or .pdf format.

International Trade Center
Washington, D.C.

International Trade Administration
U.S. Department of Commerce
Provides country and industry analyses.

The Office of Trade & Economic Analysis
International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce
This site includes US foreign trade data and state and metropolitan area exports.

Trade Data Online
Industry Canada

Free trade statistics from Canadian government.

WTO Trade Statistics
World Trade Organization

Statistics available via downloadable .pdf files.

 

back to contents


 

WORKING PAPERS

Baker Library working papers
Harvard Business School
Provides clear explanation of what working papers are, describes how to find them in the Baker Library collection, and provides a list of links to

Economic Growth Research
The Economic Growth Project of the World Bank's Research Group examines the relationship between national policies and economic growth. This web site was designed to help disseminate published articles and working papers (with the associated data sets), as well as some related literature.

Economics Working Paper Archive
Economics Department, Washington University
Free working paper archive covering 22 subject areas.

NBER Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research
Index for papers from 1978 to present.

back to contents


 

INTERNATIONAL INFORMATION & STATISTICS

Handbook of International Economic Statistics
Central Intelligence Agency
Provides basic worldwide statistics for comparing the economic performance of major countries and regions. In general, the data in the Handbook are for 1970, 1980, and individual years in the period 1990-96. Data for the presented countries have been adjusted, where necessary, to achieve comparability and therefore may differ from data presented in original sources. Footnotes have been used liberally to give definitions, exceptions, and methodology. The base year for average annual rates of growth is the year prior to the stated period.

Global Statistics
United Nations
Includes links to statistics sites of U.N. agencies, including Statistics Division (Dept. for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis), Economic Commission for Europe, International Trade Centre UNCTAD/WTO (ITC), Food aid (World Food Programme), etc.

Economic & Social Development
United Nations

back to contents


 

COUNTRY INFORMATION

Background notes
U.S. Department of State. Irregular

Country and Industry Market Reports
U.S Government Export Portal
You must register to receive access to these reports.

Market Research Library
U.S. Commercial Service
Comprehensive information on countries' commercial environments using economic, political and market analysis.

Country reports
The Spire Project
Links to sites profiling a country's economic, health, and social conditions.

Country studies
Federal Research Division. Library of Congress
These studies describe and analyze the country's political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examine the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.

Foreign embassies of Washington D.C.
Embassy.org, TeleDiplomacy Incorporated
A directory of foreign Embassies in Washington D.C.

Foreign governments
Government Publications & Maps, Northwestern University Library
Extensive alphabetical listing of foreign government Web pages. By country.

IMF staff country reports in full text
International Monetary Fund
Reports are in .pdf format.

World factbook
Central Intelligence Agency. Irregular

back to contents


 

OREGON

Applied Economics Research Group
Department of Economics, Portland State University
Includes sites for regional economic data and forecasts.

Office of Management and Finance
City of Portland
Includes CPI and tax data for Portland.

Oregon Economic & Community Development Department
State of Oregon
Provides regional statistics, such as the Oregon Benchmark data assembled by the Oregon Progress Board.

Shortcut to Oregon Statistics
Government Information Sharing Project, Oregon State University
Provides a search interface for U.S. Census data.

back to contents


 

ECONOMIC RESOURCES META SITES

Resources for Economists on the Internet
American Economic Association
This guide lists the many resources on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. In all, more than 700 resources are listed here and almost all are also described. Also referred to as "RFE."

Social Science Information Gateway
SOSIG is an online catalogue of thousands of high quality Internet resources relevant to social science education and research. Every resource has been selected and described by a librarian or subject specialist.

Virtual International Business and Economic Sources (VIBES)
J. Murrey Atkins Library, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Provides over 1,300 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information in English and available free of charge.

WebEc
WWW Virtual Library - Economics
An index to free information on economics on the WWW.

 

back to contents



Created Christoph Galli in 1998. Revised and updated by Emily-Jane Dawson in 2000. Revised by Daphne Allen 16 October 2001. Updated by Allen Hauser 5/25/04.

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page maintained by:
Daphne Allenl
Send comments to:
allend@pdx.edu
 

Last updated: