PSU Library Logo
 
 

Economics

   
Introduction Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Reference Works
Databases and Indexes Electronic Journals Finding Books
Organizations Time Series Data Web Resources
Writing and Citation Guides Ask A Librarian  

See also related guides: Economics Internet Resources, Public Administration and Business Subject Guides listed on The Business Librarian's Page.

 

   

Introduction

Encyclopaedia Britannica defines Economics as: "a social science that seeks to analyze and describe the production, distribution and consumption of wealth."

Webster: 1 : a social science concerned chiefly with description and analysis of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services 2 : economic aspect or significance.

The study of economics spans human economic behavior from an individual basis to a global basis. According to Webster:

"Microeconomics is a study of economics in terms of individual areas of activity (as a firm, household, or prices)."

"Macroeconomics is a study of economics in terms of whole systems especially with reference to general levels of output and income and to the interrelations among sectors of the economy."

Background on the discipline of Economics can be found at: The History of Economic Thought Website or Archive for the History of Economic Thought where one can find a large number of significant texts in the history of economic thought. For a chronology, see Great Economists and Their Times.

Go to top of page

   

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Lists indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provides bibliographies for further reading.

book The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics HB30.22 .B55
book An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
HB99.7 .E528 1997
book Electricity Information (International Energy Agency)
HD9685 .A1 E44 1999
book Encyclopedia of American Industries 2v.
HC102 .E53 2001
book Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance HF5381 .E52 2000
book Encyclopedia of Global Industries HD2324 .E53 1996 (We will update, but at $565.00+ we are waiting for latest ed.)
book Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics. 2v. HB871 .N43 1998
book Encyclopedia of the Consumer Movement
HC79 .C63 E53 1997
book Encyclopedia of Law and Economics K487 .E3E53 2000
book Encyclopedia of Political Economy. 2 v.
HB61 .E554 1999
book Encyclopedia of Small Business. 2v. HD62.7 .H553 1998
book European Union Encyclopedia and Directory
HC241.2 .E8334 1996 Update being ordered.
book Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. 2v.
HC102 .G35 1999
book International Petroleum Encyclopedia
HD9560.5 .I59 2000
book McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics HB61 .E55 1994
bookpsu-only access via the web

The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics HB61 .P4 1992
Electronic Version (NetLibrary)

book The New Palgrave : a Dictionary of Economics
HB61 .N49 1987
www source OneLook® Dictionaries (751 online dictionaries at one site)
book Survey of Social Science. Economic Series 1991 v.1-5 HB61 .S94
book Working Americans, 1880-1999. v. 1 Working Class; v. 2 Middle Class HD8066 .D47 2000
book Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations 5 v.
G63 .W67 1998

 

Go to top of page

   

 

Reference Works

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

book African Development Report HC800 .A1 A32 2000
bookwww source Agricultural Statistics HD1751 .A43 Annual
Electronic Version
book Agriculture, Mining and Construction USA HD9715 .U5 A64
book Asian Development Outlook: ADO HC411 .A754b 1998
2001 being ordered.
book Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists HB76 .B5 1992
book Business Statistics of the United States HC101.A13122 1999-2000
www source County Business Patterns Inventory of businesses with number of persons employed.
book Country Commerce. HC10 .B87 Country reports issued at different intervals with "main reports", which are kept up to date by "updaters".
book Demographics USA. County ed. HC110 .C6S83 2000
book Directory of Non-governmental Development Organizations in OECD Member Countries
HC60 .D523 1990
www source Economic Census (Includes Census of Manufactures, Census of Service Industries, Census of Retail Trade, Subject and Industry Series, State data sets, and Minority-Owned Businesses)
book Economic Report of the President HC106.5.A272 Annual
book The Economist guide to Economic Indicators HA29 .E28 1997
book The Economist's Handbook: a Research and Writing Guide HB74.5 W97 1994
book Emerging Market of Russia HC340.12 E63 1998
book Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
HF5381 .E52 2000
book FP, Canadian Demographics (Financial Post) HC111 .S8 2001
book Global Benchmarks: Comprehensive Measures of Development HD75.5 .Y34 1998
www source Glossary of Environmental EconomicsTerms
www source Glossary of International Economics (Deardorff's)
www source Glossary of Research Economics. Copyright 1997-2002, Peter B. Meyer
book Green Globe Yearbook HC79 .E5 G74 1997 (1999-2000 being ordered)
book Guide to Economic Indicators HC103 .F9 2000
book A Guide to Everyday Economic Statistics HB137 .C57 1995
book Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: employment, earnings, prices, productivity and other labor data HD8051 .A63 1999-2000
book Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators HC106 .8O47 2000
book Handbook of Income Distribution HB523 .H358 2000
book Handbook of International Economic Statistics
1997 on order
psu-only access via the web Handbook of organization theory and management (NetLibrary) HD2326 .H283 1998
book Household Spending : Who Spends How Much on What
HC110 .C6O34
book Industrial Development Global Report HC49.69 I53 1997
book Infrastructure Industries USA HD9506 .U5I3 2001
book International Financial Statistics HG3881.I626 Latest Annual edition at Reference.
book Japan Economic Almanac HC461 .I6 1998 Update not available.
book

Lloyd's Ports of the World HE552 .P6 2001

book Manufacturing & distribution U.S.A. HD9721 .M368 2000
book Metal Statistics HD9506 .U6 A5 2000
book Mexico Handbook: Economic and Demographic Maps and Statistics HC135 .P5 1994
bookwww source

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System
PREX 2.6/2:IN 27/997/CLOTH
NAICS - U.S. Census Bureau Includes conversion tables for SIC codes, and from SIC to NAICS

book Occupational Outlook Handbook HF5382.5 .U5 O23
book OECD Science, Technology and Industry Outlook
HC79 .T4 S38 2000
book Population of the United States HB3505 .B63 1997
book Service Industries USA HD9981.1 .S47 1996
bookwww source Standard Industrial Classification Manual
HF1042 .U58 1987
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System
book State Economic, Demographic and Fiscal Handbook
HB3505 .S66 1996
book

State of Working America HD8051 .S73 1998/99
On order: 2000/01

bookwww source Statistical Abstract of the United States HA202 Annual
Electronic Version
book Statistical Abstract of the World HA154.S83 1996
book Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States HC110 .C6S73 1999
book Statistical Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World
HC59.72 .P6 S73 1999
book The Ultimate Field Guide to the U.S. Economy
HC103 .F59 2000
book U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook HC106.5 .A17 2000
book U.S. Industry Profiles: USIP: The Leading 100 HD2771 .U8 1995
2nd ed. on order.
book Value of a Dollar: prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-1999 HB235 .U6 V35 1999
book Television & Cable Factbook HE8690 .T452 2001
cd rom World Development Indicators. Partial data may also be found on the Web at World Bank Data & Maps
bookwww source
World Factbook (CIA) HC59 .N248
Electronic Version
book World Index of Economic Forecasts HB3730 .W66 1995
book World Labour Report HD5706 .W68 2000
book

World Resources - A Guide to the Global Environment
HD75.6 .W65 1998/99

book Year-book of Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization) HD4826 .I63 2000

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Econlit Premier database for economic literature, including journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Abstracts only. 1969-
book Business Periodicals Index / Reference / Call No:
Z7164 .C81 B983 1958-
book Index of Economic Articles / Reference / Call No:
Z7164 .E2 A57
book Journal of Economic Literature / Call No: HB1 .J6
bookpsu-only access via the web Wall Street Journal Index / Reference / HG1 .W249
Wall Street Journal Online 
psu-only access via the web Academic Search Premier Full-text
psu-only access via the web Access UN United Nations. Documents are available in United Nations Microfiche Collection.
psu-only access via the web BEPRESS Electronic Journals - Economics. On order
psu-only access via the web Business Source Premier Full-text
psu-only access via the web F&S Index Plus Text - US Full-text
cd rom F&S International. International trade journals Full-text
psu-only access via the web GeoBase (International content)
psu-only access via the web MasterFILE Premier Full-text
psu-only access via the web

NBER Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research) On order.

book OECD Publications/Journals (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) We have a standing order, and coming soon will be web access as we switch from paper to full text.
psu-only access via the web PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service
psu-only access via the webbook

Social Sciences Citation Index:
Access for latest years: Web of Science
Print: Z7161 .S65 1977-1997 / Reference

psu-only access via the web Social Science Index
psu-only access via the web Wall Street Journal Online
psu-only access via the web Web of Science 1997- Incorporates Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index
cd rom World Development Indicators Partial data may also be found on the Web at World Bank Data & Maps
psu-only access via the web WORLDCAT WORLDCAT includes over 35 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

Go to top of page

 

   

Electronic Journals

Comprehensive List | Selected Electronic Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest to Economics are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

Comprehensive listing of PSU Electronic Journals
by title  | by subject

Selected Electronic Journals

psu-only access via the web American economic review 1911-2000
psu-only access via the web Business and society review 1974-present
psu-only access via the web Business and society review 1993-present
psu-only access via the web Cambridge journal of economics 1997-present
psu-only access via the web Canadian journal of economics 1968-1 year ago
psu-only access via the web Canadian journal of economics 1993-present
psu-only access via the web

Contemporary economic policy 1998-present

psu-only access via the web Demography 1964-2001
psu-only access via the web Econometrica 1933-2000
psu-only access via the web Economic journal 1891-1998
www source Economist (London) 1975-present
psu-only access via the web History of political economy 1999-present
psu-only access via the web Industrial management and data systems 1994-present
psu-only access via the web Industrial relations 1964-1 year ago
psu-only access via the web Industrial relations 1993-present
psu-only access via the web Journal of applied econometrics 1886-1998
psu-only access via the web Journal of economic history 1941-1998
psu-only access via the web Journal of economic literature 1963-2000
psu-only access via the web Journal of economic perspectives 1987-2000
psu-only access via the web Journal of industrial economics 1952-1998
psu-only access via the web Journal of political economy 1892-2000
psu-only access via the web Journal of regional science 1965-1 year ago
psu-only access via the web Journal of regional science 1993-present
psu-only access via the web

NBER Reporter (National Bureau of Economic Research) 1990-present

psu-only access via the web Population 1989-2001
psu-only access via the web Population and development review 1975-2001
psu-only access via the web Population studies 1947-2000
psu-only access via the web Quarterly journal of economics 1886-1998
psu-only access via the web Review of economic studies 1933-2000

 

   

Finding Books

Subject Headings | Keywords | Call Numbers

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in economics. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 

Subject Headings
Business cycles
Business logistics
Business planning
Capitalism
Chicago School of Economics (use this instead of Monetarism)
Communist state
Competition
Competition, imperfect
Competition, international
Consumer behavior
Consumer protection
Consumer satisfaction
Consumers
Consumption economics
Corporations
Demographic transition
Demography
Depressions
Developing countries
Digital communications
Economic anthropology
Economic development
Economic forecasting
Economic geography
Economic indicators
Economics
Economics - Bibliography
Economics - Great Britain - History
Economics - History -(name of country)
Economics in literature
Economics, mathematical
Economics - philosophy
Econometric models
Econometrics
Economists
Engineering economy
Environmental economics
Equilibrium (economics)
Expenditures, public
Finance, public
Financial institutions
Game theory
Globalization
Gross national product
Home economics
Households
Income
Income distribution
Industrial management
Industrial organization
Industrial policy
Industrial productivity
Infrastructure (Economics)
International economic relations
International trade
Keynesian economics
Labor economics
Macroeconomics
Malthusianism
Manufacturing industries
Marxian economics
Microeconomics
Mixed economy
Money
Money supply
Monetary policy
National income accounting
Occupations
Organizational behavior
Organizational change
Overpopulation
Population
Poverty
Production (economic theory)
Production management
Professions
Quality circles
Recessions
Research, industrial
Service industries
Small business
Social responsibility of business
Socialism
Stochastic analysis
Sustainable development
Teams in the workplace
Telecommunication
Time-series analysis
Transportation
Uncertainty
Unemployment
Wealth
Welfare economics

Back to Finding Books

Go back to top

Keywords

Some common terms are better searched as keywords. Here are some sample cases:

Agricultural economics
Applied economics
Cultural economics
Economic thought
Growth economics
Institutional economics
Land economics
Monetarism
Political economy
Regional science
School of economics

 

Back to Finding Books

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks. For a complete outline of Library of Congress Classification go to: LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
HB1-3840 Economic theory, demography, with following subclasses:
HB71-74 Economics as a science, relation to other subjects
HB75-130 History of economics, history of economic theory
HB131-145 Methodology
HB135-145 Mathematical economics, quantitative methods
HB201-206 Value, utility
HB221-236 Price
HB238-251 Competition, production, wealth
HB501 Capital. Capitalism
HB522-715 Income. Factor shares
HB351-551 Interest
HB601 Profit
HB615-715 Entrepreneurship. Risk and uncertainty. Property
HB801-843 Consumption. Demand
HB846-846.8 Welfare theory
HB848-3697 Demography. Vital events
HB3711-3840 Business cycles. Economic fluctuations
HC10-1085 Economic history and conditions, including region or country
HD28-9999 Industries. Land use. Labor, with following subclasses:
HD28-88 Production
HD28-70 Organization of production. Management. Industrial Management
HD39-40.7 Capital. Capital investments
HD41 Competition and cooperation. Regulation and restriction of output
HD 45-45.2 Control of industry. Technological innovations. Automation
HD47-47.4 Costs
HD49-49.5 Crisis management and overproduction. Inflation
HD50-50.5 Delegation of authority. Decentralization
HD56-57.5 Industrial productivity
HD58 Location of industry
HD58.7-58.95 Organizational behavior, change and effectiveness; Corporate culture
HD59-59.6 Public relations. Industrial publicity
HD60-60.5 Social responsibilities. Corporate and social policies
HD61 Risk in industry. Risk management
HD62 Simplification. Standardization. Waste
HD62.2-62.8 Management of special enterprises
HD66 Work groups. Team work in industry. Quality circles
HD72-88 Economic growth, development, planning
HD101-1395.5 Land use
HD1401-2210 Agriculture
HD2321-4730.9 Industry
HD4801-8943 Labor
HD9000-9999 Special industries and trades
HE1-9990 Transportation and communications

Back to Finding Books

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.

www source Alta Plana - International Organizations
www source Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations (OECD)
www source Economic Associations on the Web
www source World Bank - International Economics and Trade Pathfinder - Organization Web Links

Go to top of page

Time Series Data

www source Economagic.com: Economic Time Series Page
www source Economic Data - FRED®
www source FreeLunch.com
Search over 1,000,000 free economic & financial data series.
www source Glossary - Time Series Data
www source Macroeconomic Time Series
www source Time Series Data Library

Go to top of page

   

 

Web Resources

See also: Subject Guide for Economics Internet Resources

In addition to exploring the links below, you may wish to do your own Internet search:

Google

If you wish to limit your search to Federal web sites, you may use Google/Unclesam.



Selected Economics Web Resources:

www source Resources for the Economist on the Internet Premier metasite. Everything listed below most likely will be found here.
www source

WebEc - WWW Resources in Economics (WWW Virtual Library)
Also an excellent metasite. Uses frames.

www source The Library of Economics and Liberty Dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought.
www source Methodology and History of Economic Thought
www source Africa Economic Analysis
www source Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
www source Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
www source Brookings Institution
www source Bureau of Economic Analysis
www source Bureau of Labor Statistics
www source A Business Researcher's Interest (@Brint.com) Of special interest is the New Economy Business Technology Portal selected from the pull-down menu.
www source Census Bureau
www source The Dismal Scientist Forecasting and consulting. Especially useful for releases of economic indicators.`Requires subscription.
www source Economic Intelligence and Commerical Intelligence on the Web
Created by John Pike
www source Economic Data - FRED® Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
www source Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World
www source Economics Working Paper Archive (EconWPA)
www source Economist (London) Use ABI/Inform to obtain full-text articles for the Economist.
www source Economy in Latin America - LANIC
www source Energy Information Administration: Offiicial Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government
www source European Union Internet Resources
www source Export Oregon
www source Federal Reserve Board: Economic and Research Data
www source First Union's Economic Information (First Union Bank)
www source The History of Economic Thought Website
(Includes Schools of Thought)
www source Inside Asean
www source International Center for Economic Growth
www source International Organizations and NGOs (Union of International Associations)
www source IPEnet (International Political Economy Network)
www source Latin America (WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources)
www source Latin America in the Internet
www source LATCO Tools of the Trade (Latin America)
www source NAFTA NATIONS Resource Center for the importer, exporter and international merchant doing business in the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) countries of Canada, Mexico and the United States.
www source NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers
www source Oregon Economic & Community Development Department
www source RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) The RePEc database holds over 140,000 items of interest, over 46,000 of which are available online.
www source Small Business Administration
www source Social Science Research Network
www source Statistics in Latin America - LANIC
www source U.N. Documentation Centre
www source U. S. Economics Departments on the Internet
www source The Virtual Library on Microcredit

Go to top of page

Writing and Citation Guides

Internet Citation Guides
University of Wisconsin Library

Writing, Citing and Evaluating Guides on the Internet
University of British Columbia

Return to top of page

 

 

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

Page developed by:
Daphne Allen
Please send comments to:
Daphne Allen

Last updated: