PSU Library logo

 

Education

 

A newer edition of this guide is available. If your browser doesn't automatically redirect, click here.

This resource guide presents general reference and research sources in the field of education.

See also related guides: Adult Education, Counseling, Curriculum & Lesson Plans, Educational Administration Resources, ESL/Bilingual Education Searching ERIC, Special Education, Tests & Measures.

NEW! See also: New books in education in PSU Library

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide highly selected bibliographies for further reading.

American Educators’ Encyclopedia
(2nd floor Ref LB15 .D37 1991)
Dictionary of Multicultural Education
(2nd floor Ref LC1099 .D53 1997)
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
(2nd floor Ref LB15 .E48 1992)
Encyclopedia of School Administration & Supervision
Encyclopedia of Special Education
(2nd floor Ref LC4007 .E53 1987)
International Encyclopedia of Education
(2nd floor Ref LB15 .I569 1994)
International Encyclopedia of Higher Education
Knowledge Base for the Beginning Teacher
(2nd floor Ref LB 1025.2 .K615)

Go to top of page

 

Reference Works

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information highly specific to the subject areas addressed.

Educator’s Desk Reference: a Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
(2nd floor Ref LB1028.26 .F74 1989)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
(1938 - present Ref Z5814 .P8 B932)
Tests in print V: an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests
Z5814 .E9 T473 1999
Content Knowledge: a Compendium of Standards and Benchmarks for K12 Education 3rd ed. (LB 3060.83 .K46 2000)
Oregon Laws Relating to Public Schools and Community Colleges (LB 2529 .O732)
   

Statistical Sources

Condition of Education
(Ref L112 .N377a or online
http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/AnnualReports/reports.asp?
type=condition
Chronicle of Higher Education Almanac
(LB 2300 .C4)

Digest of Educational Statistics
(Reference Desk or online via: National Center for Educational Statistics http://nces.ed.gov/

http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/AnnualReports/
reports.asp?type=digest
)

National Center for Education Statistics
(http://nces.ed.gov)

Portal to vast array of education statistics compiled by the U.S. Department of Education.

 

National Assessment of Education Progress (NAEP)
(http://nces.ed.gov/nationsreportcard/about/)

"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), also known as "the Nation's Report Card," is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Since 1969, assessments have been conducted periodically in reading, mathematics, science, writing, U.S. history, civics, geography, and the arts."

Projections of Education Statistics
(http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/AnnualReports/
reports.asp?type=projections
)
Oregon Department of Education Reports and Statistics
(http://www.ode.state.or.us/stats/)

Oregon University System Factbook
(Ref LD4348 .A192 S7 or online: http://www.ous.edu/irs/factbook98/WEBcontents/ Contents.html

Research Handbooks

Handbook of reading research
Handbook of research on curriculum
Handbook of research on educational administration
Handbook of research on science teaching and learning
Handbook of research on social studies teaching and learning
Handbook of research on mathematics teaching and learning
Handbook of research on multicultural education
Handbook of research on music teaching and learning
Handbook of research on teacher education
Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts
The International encyclopedia of educational evaluation
Research in teaching and learning

 

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that cover the published literature of the discipline. Once articles are identified through the appropriate database or index, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library.

Education Full Text http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml/
Indexing 1983- Abstracting 1984 - Click here a list of the journals (and dates included in full text (http://www. hwwilson.com/journals/fedi.HTM)

Professional Development Collection
Full text of ~400 journals and magazines for educators.

ERIC
The ERIC database provides citations to articles from approximately 900 journals in all areas of education and citations (and in some cases links to full text) to 1000s of documents related to all aspects of education.

ERIC
(Ebscohost version)

Dept. of Education interface to ERIC

ERIC Documents

Full text of most documents from 1993 (ED 348466) to the present. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader for viewing the documents.

Use of ERIC descriptors can improve your search results. Consult the Thesaurus online or use the Library's print copy.
ERIC Thesaurus
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors ( Z695.1 .E3 U5 )
How can I obtain the materials I find in ERIC?

Educational Administration Abstracts
(L11 .E2764 1966 - )
Higher Education Abstracts
(LB2343 .A2 C6 1984 -)

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography
(HQ750 .A1 C47 1928 - )

Exceptional Child Education Resources
Covers the special education literature; includes citations to books, articles, documents.
PsycINFO
Covers journals, books, book chapters and dissertations in psychology and its subfields.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
Curricula, frameworks, and standards from all across the English-speaking world, lessons and learning activities, educational objectives, educational content, instructional strategies, evaluative techniques. Provides full text from 2000-; prior to year 2000, materials are on microfilm.

Go to top of page 

 

Journals

Education Journal Annotations
(http://webcat.library.wisc.edu:3102/)
"Education Journals: An annotated database for K-12 and teacher educators is designed to provide K-12 professional staff and teacher education faculty with a searchable database of English language print and electronic journals focused on K-12 education and professional staff preparation. The annotations and Internet links provided for each title are designed to assist the target audience in identifying professional titles of interest. The database may also be used as a collection development tool and instructional resource by library staff providing professional development services to K-12 and teacher educators."

List of ejournals available through PSU Library
To see a list of all the education journals available, use the dropdown menu in the "Browse e-journals by subject" section. Select "Social and Behavioral Sciences" and then click the 'Search' button.
American Educational Research Association's list of free online scholarly education journals.
Education Week on the Web (WWW)
(http://www.edweek.org)
Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in education

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Selected subject headings which may be of interest in education are:
Adult Education Critical Pedagogy
Career Education Distance Education
Case Method Early Childhood Education
Communication in Education Feminism and Education
General Education Learning, Psychology of
School choice Teachers
Education -- aims and objectives
Education -- experimental methods
Education -- law and legislation
Education -- philosophy
Education -- finance

Subject headings for books about teaching and pedagogy in specific subject areas follow this pattern:
specific topic -- study and teaching (educational level)
e.g. language arts -- study and teaching--primary
mathematics -- study and teaching--elementary
social sciences -- study and teaching --secondary
biology--study and teaching--higher

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

L Education
LA History of Education
LB Theory and Practice of Education
LB 1025 - 1050.7 Teaching (principles and practices)
LB 1140 - 1140.5 Preschool education
LB 1141 - 1489 Kindergarten
LB 1501 - 1547 Elementary education
LB 1603 - 1695 Secondary education
LB 2300 - 2430 Higher education
LB 2801 - 3095 School administration and organization
LC Social Aspects of Education
LC 1390 - 5158 Education of special classes of persons
LD

Individual Institutions: United States
(e.g. works about or theses done at PSU start with LD 4349)

Go to top of page

 

Directories

Oregon School Directory
(http://www.ode.state.or.us/pubs/directory/index.htm)

Patterson's American Education
Comprehensive directory of U.S. secondary schools and school districts (L 901 .P3)

Patterson's Elementary Education
Comprehensive directory of U.S. elementary schools and school districts (L 901 .P33)
College Blue Book (LA226 .C685)
Directory of Overseas Schools (L 900 .I2 1999/00)
Educational Associations and Organizations
http://bcol02.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/index.cfm
Handbook of Private Schools (L901 .H3)
National Faculty Directory (L901 .N353 )
State Education Agencies
(http://bcol02.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/org_list.cfm?
category_ID=SEA)
Peterson's Directory of College & University Administrators (L 901 .P465)
Yahoo's Directory of K12 Education
(http://dir.yahoo.com/Education/K_12/By_Region/)
Yahoo's Directory of Colleges and Universities
http://dir.yahoo.com/Education/Higher_Education/
Colleges_and_Universities/

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.

Oregon Education Association
(http://www.oregoned.org/)

U.S. Department of Education's list of Educational Associations and Organizations
http://bcol02.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/index.cfm

NCATE Constituent Organizations listing
(http://www.ncate.org/ncate/conslist.htm)
Provides listing grouped by focus of professional education organizations which participate in NCATE accreditation.

Go to top of page

 

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.

Dissertation Abstracts
(http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/search)
Abstracts to Ph. D. dissertations from most U.S. universities and some foreign institutions. Citations to masters theses from selected U.S. universities.

Educators Reference Desk
An education research portal linking to materials developed under the former AskERIC service. Links to free version of ERIC database as well as lesson plan sites and resource guides.

ERIC Digests
(http://ericdigests.org)

Short reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics of prime current interest in education. Targeted specifically for teachers, administrators, policymakers, and other practitioners, but generally useful to the broad educational community. Designed to provide an overview of information on a given topic, plus references to items providing more detailed information.
U.S. Department of Education Web Site (http://www.ed.gov)
Oregon Department of Education Web Site (http://www.ode.state.or.us/)
Oregon Public Education Network
(http://www.openc.k12.or.us/)
Searchable database of Oregon Content Standards and Benchmarks
Web Searching Resources
Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial
(http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/
Guides/Internet/FindInfo.html)
An excellent comprehensive site on web searching. Includes a great section on evaluating web information sources.
Evaluating Web Resources
(http://www.widener.edu/Tools_Resources/Libraries/Wolfgram_Memorial_Library/
Evaluate_Web_Pages/659)
APA Citation Format

Bibliography Styles Handbook -- APA format
(http://www.english.uiuc.edu/cws/wworkshop/writer_resources/citation_styles/apa/apa.htm) A cheat sheet on APA citation styles published by the UIUC Writers Workshop. Select the link to 'Bibliography Styles' from the list in the left margin.

Using APA Format
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
(http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/
research/r_apa.html)

APA Style -- Electronic Resources
(http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html)
APA style for web resources.

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Guides page

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:
Sarah Beasley
 
Last updated: