PSU Library Logo
 
 

Engineering & Technology Management

   
This guide covers Library resources in Engineering & Technology Management.
   

Sections of this guide:
Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings   
Call Numbers
 
| Important Journals  | Web Resources

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web
Business Source Premier. EBSCO, 1984-present.
Provides full-text access to 970 journals in business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and other business topics. Offers indexing and abstracts for over 1,650 journals. Full-text articles go as far back as 1990, with citations and abstracts to 1984.
psu-only access via the web
Compendex. Engineering Information, 1970-present.
This index provides comprehensive coverage of the engineering literature (primarily English language), both journals and conference proceedings. It covers all areas of engineering. Over 5,000 journals are indexed, and the database currently has 3,000,000 entries.
book
Engineering Index. Engineering Information, 1913-26, 1955-Feb. 1994.
This index provides comprehensive coverage of the engineering literature (primarily English language), both journals and conference proceedings. It covers all areas of engineering. Over 5,000 journals are indexed.
psu-only access via the web
Academic Search Premier . EBSCO, 1980-present.
Academic Search Premier covers a broad range of academic journals. Both indexes provide the full text of many articles covered.
psu-only access via the web
Mergent Online .
U.S. Company Data
Current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document.
International Company Data
Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats.
psu-only access via the web
Investext Plus. Gale, 1995-present.
Database providing access to reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
psu-only access via the web
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe. Lexis-Nexis.
This database provides full-text access to business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals and wire transcripts, as well as company information, SEC filings, and industry news. Other full-text sources include government information and legal resources.
book
Quality Control and Applied Statistics. Executive Sciences Institute, 1975-present. TS156 .A1 Q29
This index covers topics in industrial management.

Go to top of page

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in engineering and technology management. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
Decision-making (T57.95, HD30.23, QA279.4-QA279.7)
Engineering economy (TA177.4-TA178)
Engineering management (TA190)
Industrial product management
New products (HF5415 .I53)
Operations research
Organizational sociology
Product management (HF5415 .I5)
Production management (TS155)
Research industrial management (T175-T178)
Simulation methods
Systems engineering (TA168)
Technological forescasting (T174)
Technological innovation
Technology management
Technology marketing

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
T57.6-T57.97 Operations research
T173.2-T174.5 Technological change
T175.5 R&D management
TA168 Systems engineering
TA177.4-TA185 Engineering economy
TA190 Engineering management
TS155-TS194 Production & operations management

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Important Journals

These journals are important for the discipline.

book Harvard Business Review (HF5001 .H3)
book IEEE Engineering Management Review (HD28 .I448)
book IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management (T56 .I2)
book International Journal of Technology Management (T1 .I595)
book Journal of Engineering & Technology Management (TA190 .J67)
book Journal of High Technology Management Research (HD62.37 .J68)
book Journal of Management in Engineering (TA190 .J64)
book Journal of Product Innovation Management (HF5415.153 .J68)
book Journal of Productivity Analysis (HD56 .J68)
book Management Review (T58 .A2 M37)
book Management Science (HD28 .I453)
book Research Policy (Q180 .A1 R448)
book Research•Technology Management (T175.5 .R4)
book Technology Review (T171 .M47)

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

psu-only access via the web Industrial Management electronic journals
psu-only access via the web Management electronic journals
www resource
Business Research at PSU Library.
The source for business-related information at PSU.
www resource
Burton, Wayne. Selected Engineering Management Resources on the Internet.
A guide from Old Dominion University of a variety of Internet resources.
www resource
Hoovers Online.
A good site for company or industry information.

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 
Page developed by:
Michael Bowman, Elizabeth Howell
Please send comments to:
Michael Bowman

 

Last updated: